What is the most controversial event in AFL history?

Although this wouldn’t rate as the most controversial thing to happen in Victoria or any other state than South Australia it had a profound affect on the AFL.

Port Adelaide bids and is successful in entering the newly formed AFL in 1990. Although the SANFL wasn’t yet ready to enter a team they take the PAFC to court and threaten to kick them out the league. The SANFL win the court battle and the AFL spot is unfairly taken away from Port and the SANFL forms their new franchise team the Adelaide Crows.

So I guess you should thank us Adelaide fans because there would be no Adelaide Crows as you know it today if it wasn’t for the PAFC.

Port went on to win the SANFL premiership in 1990, 92, 94, 95 and 96 before finally entering the AFL.

jourgo said:
How is that controversial?
Notorious? Yeah, maybe.
Momentous? Certainly!
But controversial?

Controversy = A dispute, especially a public one, between sides holding opposing views (dictionary.com)

The certainly was a public dispute with opposing views.

skipper kelly said:
Controversy = A dispute, especially a public one, between sides holding opposing views (dictionary.com)

The certainly was a public dispute with opposing views.

Ok. That definition is a little narrow, but fair enough.

Out of interest, what was the opposing view, who held it, & how hard was it pushed? From what I remember & understand, the opposition to the move to Sydney wasn't all that strong. But I'm happy to be correct on this if you'll do me the service...

jourgo said:

Out of interest, what was the opposing view, who held it, & how hard was it pushed? From what I remember & understand, the opposition to the move to Sydney wasn't all that strong. But I'm happy to be correct on this if you'll do me the service...

Not that strong?

Keep South at South actually managed to spill the board. Bob Hawke was called in to act as mediator between the two sides. It ripped the club in two!

jourgo said:

There was a movement called 'Keep South At South'. I was 15 at the time, and many of the exact details have faded.

Probably half and half from the members. I was part of it but just a number really. I cant really remember if Aylett put up a figure that had to be raised to keep South in Melbourne, but I believe the decision was made anyway irrespective of the finances. The old man knows a lot more details. I will ask him on the weekend and get back to you.

Personally though I was devastated, but I loved footy so I stuck with them. It was either that or stop watching.

sherb said:
In Tassie, the State Final in 1967 where the fans ripped out the goal posts so that the TFL (I think) player couldn't take his shot after the final siren to win the game. :D
Several thousand Wynyard supporters stormed the field late in the last quarter of the State Grand Final at West Park, ripping the posts out and carting them away to stop North Hobart's D|ckie Collins kicking the winning goal.
Umpires walked off the field, showered, changed and left leaving Collins sitting with ball stuck up his jumper waiting for the crowd to leave before taking his kick.
Finally took that kick 25 years later for a WWOS TV documentary - Goal :p

Couple of other biggies from Tassie would've been the formation of the Statewide League in 1986, which had the six former TANFL sides plus two from the NTFA, and the following year another two from the NWFU.
Was not popular in football circles at the time - especially in the North - the Launceston people voted with their feet and stayed away in droves, and the Southern fans also stayed away initially, especially matches against Northern sides.
Eventually it became very well supported until the recession of 1991 started to cripple the clubs financially. It all went down the toilet from there.

Biggest of the lot though here IMO was the death of the TFL in 2000 after 121 years of existence.
The culmination of abysmal administration over a number of years which had begun to see clubs almost going to the wall.
Arrogance, bickering, greed, stupidity and a dreadful economic outlook in the state at the time all playing their part.
It spelt the end of Tasmanian football on the radio after nearly 70 years, the end of televised state football after nearly 40 years, and most poignantly, it signalled the end of top flight club football in the state after over a century.

In many ways it destroyed football in Hobart especially. :(

skipper kelly said:
There was a movement called 'Keep South At South'. I was 15 at the time, and many of the exact details have faded.

Probably half and half from the members. I was part of it but just a number really. I cant really remember if Aylett put up a figure that had to be raised to keep South in Melbourne, but I believe the decision was made anyway irrespective of the finances. The old man knows a lot more details. I will ask him on the weekend and get back to you.

Personally though I was devastated, but I loved footy so I stuck with them. It was either that or stop watching.
I've read bits and pieces about the South move over the years, I remember reading about the South cheer-squad putting up an all black banner, with black streamers at South's last ever match at the Lake Oval in 1981, with most pro-Sydney move players declining to run through the banner.
KSAS trying to garner a promised "million dollar sponsorship" which failed to materialise and their bid to stay in Melbourne was over.
From personal experience I can imagine how heartbreaking it would've been for a South fan at the time.

Roccas goal being called a point in the 2002 GF. Just going on what I ave been told as I wasnt down the ponsford end but my old school teacher
(A Dees Man) sat right behind that kick and told me it was a goal. Went down the other end and the Lions got a goal and there went the momentum.

Lidge said:
Banning of BYO grog at footy venues

Geez I must be young! :eek: Imagine if that weren't the case (pardon the pun for NSWelshman) now?!

Anyway not so much as controversial :
  • Auroragate
  • Duck cheatin on his missus and announcement on immed. retirement
  • Jimmy Stynes walk over the mark
  • Norm Smith sacking
  • Sth Melb relocationg
  • Brisbane/Fitzroy merger

Good thread :thumbsu:

John Greening getting hit behind the play by Jim O'Dea in 1972. Greening was the Brownlow favourite at the time and the incident was so serious that he didn't play for the rest of the season. It took weeks before they got O'Dea and was huge news at the time.

Lots of controversy over different eras

The Sacking of Norm Smith
Barrassi going to Carlton
The 10 Year rule whereby NMFC used their smarts and recruited top players
Leigh Matthews v Neville Bruns and subsequent court case
The demise of South Melbourne and Fitzroy
The Footscray/Fitzroy & Melbourne/Hawthorn proposed merge

and on a lighter note

The Collingwood Reserves player - John Byrne (?) - who got rubbed out for 10 years for thumping an umpire then trying to take on players, jumping the fence and aiming for spectators. From my lounge chair it was a giggle. Nobody got hurt.

Gabbie said:
The Collingwood Reserves player - John Byrne (?) - who got rubbed out for 10 years for thumping an umpire then trying to take on players, jumping the fence and aiming for spectators. From my lounge chair it was a giggle. Nobody got hurt.
Bourke? And he ankle tapped him and pushed him I thought?

And didnt Jason Love ex Sydney ,Port Magpie do something similar?

I don't think it is the most controversial, but anything that brings down a long standing tribunal system and sees it completely revamped has to get a mention: J Brown getting off his charge in the 2004 finals series because it was deemed 'outside play'.

The Pies Are In Front said:
Roccas goal being called a point in the 2002 GF. Just going on what I ave been told as I wasnt down the ponsford end but my old school teacher
(A Dees Man) sat right behind that kick and told me it was a goal. Went down the other end and the Lions got a goal and there went the momentum.
100,000 at the ground and 97,000 of them sat behind thhat kick.

The one causing the most disagreement, bad blood and controversy was the Killing of Fitzroy. That still hurts a lot of people. Before anyone criticises Brisbane for their part, they do more to keep Fitzroy's memory alive than anyone else.

Next is the kidnapping of South Melbourne. Lots of bad blood and disagreement at the time, its settled down now though.

Barrassi leaving Melbourne was a sea change in footy, and was controversial at the time. Now its just seen as a career move, but it gutted Melbourne and they've been useless since.

Greening getting decked by O'Dea was a very hot topic at the time.

finders said:
For all the people that think the AFL is the VFL get a life!

First Victorian Rules/Australian Football game near MCG 1858

VFA 1877 - 1996

VFL 1897 - 1990 then 1997 - 2006

AFL 1990 - 2006
When talking about the AFL it is assumed it's the same as the VFL as the AFL is just the VFL rebadged. That's why all the records still stand in the AFL from the VFL.

No go get yourself that life.

The Pies Are In Front said:
97,000 in the Ponsford Stand? Thats a pretty stupid call dude!!!:confused:
it is an old saying like malcolm blights 80 metre kick at princess park after the siren. their were 30,000 at the ground and he says he has met 40,000 of them. harmes at the 79 g/f. 50,000 people reckon they were on the fence in that pocket and got a good view.
do you get my drift?

Fitzroy folding.

Agreed that Brisbane do quite well in looking after ex-Fitzroy fans (as far as I can tell) and seemed to do OK in terms of the jumper and theme song, etc.

However, maybe Fitzroy supporters might elaborate for us - does it bother you now the level of financial support afforded to some clubs by the CBF (and no, this is not a dig at those clubs - I support the idea of the CBF as compensation for draw inequities, etc). I imagine we would still have Fitzroy if they had been supported to the same extent the AFL support clubs now.

I understand the whole idea of 16 teams and that Victoria is struggling to maintain 10 clubs as it is, but it surely must irk the ex-Fitzroy faithful?

What is the most controversial event in AFL history?