What should the 2020 Fixture look like?

Oct 22, 2015
Port Adelaide, SA
Port Adelaide
So we are already halfway through October and right at the end of the month, the fixtures should release. Some of the games have been confirmed:

ROUND 1: The Season Opener between Richmond and Carlton (most likely).
ROUND 1: A possible North Melbourne vs St Kilda at Marvel Stadium
ROUND 1: Essendon might play a match at Marvel to celebrate 20 years since the first game at the stadium.
ROUND 5 or 6: Anzac Eve between Richmond and Melbourne and Anzac Day game between Collingwood and Essendon.
ROUND 11: Port Adelaide and St Kilda to play in Shanghai again.
ROUND 16-19: Port Adelaide to play a birthday match celebrating their 150 year anniversary.
ROUND 18: The fixtures for this round would be interesting since that’s also when the opening ceremony is for the 2020 Tokyo Games.

What games would you like to see in the 2020 AFL Fixture, and what should Round 1 look like?

Everyone to play all 17 other clubs once before they play anyone twice.
Random draw for the final five rounds.
The year after, random draw for the final five rounds with the draw excluding the five teams you doubled up against the year before.

Less home games for richmond. Double away games against interstate clubs and then only 5 home games at the mcg. Most importantly must NOT be in a row at the end of the season.

Weagles fans would sook about their tough draw due to needing to play the premiers twice. (even with both games in Perth). They'd also probably suddenly notice (and complain about, of course) that teams playing more games at the away ground lessens the home ground advantage of the local team (a detail they willfully ignore with Melbourne & the MCG).

Sounds like the table is tilted......
Screenshot_20191015-205750_Chrome.jpg

ROUND 18: The fixtures for this round would be interesting since that’s also when the opening ceremony is for the 2020 Tokyo Games.

The Opening Ceremony is scheduled to begin at 9:00pm AEST on Friday 24th July, which puts a dent in Friday night footy that week.

Given Channel 7 is the host broadcaster for the Olympics, my guess for that day would be a Fox-exclusive game, or no match at all on the Friday night, which would be the first time there was a round without a Friday night match in the H&A season since at least the mid-1990's

You have your fixtures the AFL deem necessary each year like Pies-Bombers Anzac day, Queen's birthday game, and so on. Everyone plays each other once in first 17 rounds. Start season a week earlier. Two byes, one after round 9, one after round 17.

Make round 18 a rival round, and the last four games can be between teams from last year's tier 1-6/7-12/13-18. Make sure in the first 17 rounds that overdue games are provided i.e. Pies vs. Swans at MCG.

The Opening Ceremony is scheduled to begin at 9:00pm AEST on Friday 24th July, which puts a dent in Friday night footy that week.

Given Channel 7 is the host broadcaster for the Olympics, my guess for that day would be a Fox-exclusive game, or no match at all on the Friday night, which would be the first time there was a round without a Friday night match in the H&A season since at least the mid-1990's
Or a very early start, shown in Vic/SA/Tas (WA because of time difference might not get the game) while NSW/Qld take Olympic preview?
They have 7 and Mate. Opening ceremony will probably be on both, but they don't need to have the preview interviews, and montages of hope and boredom, on both.

All clubs should have played each other by round 18 - save the double-up games for the last few rounds.

Agree.

R1 = R18.
R2 = R19.
R3 = R20.

So on and so forth.

A guy named Fred dies and goes to heaven. But God tells him he hasnt fulfilled his life duty so he has to go back.

God tells him "i need you to go back and empty port phillip bay with this bucket".

Fred says, "thats impossible, it will take over 300 years. i wont do it. It cant be done".

God says "well, there is one other thing you could do. The guys says "Anything, ill do anything else."

God says "You have to go back and sucessfully coach any afl team other than Richmond to a flag"

Fred looks at god knowingly, and says "just give me the damn bucket!"

One thing is for certain, nobody will be really happy about it.

No team should play more than two games in a row at home.

No two clubs should play at the same venue twice in one season. (Will never happen, but it should)

Marvel stadium?

17 game season is the only fair fixture... (Again, it will never happen)

A guy named Fred dies and goes to heaven. But God tells him he hasnt fulfilled his life duty so he has to go back.

God tells him "i need you to go back and empty port phillip bay with this bucket".

Fred says, "thats impossible, it will take over 300 years. i wont do it. It cant be done".

God says "well, there is one other thing you could do. The guys says "Anything, ill do anything else."

God says "You have to go back and sucessfully coach any afl team other than Richmond to a flag"

Fred looks at god knowingly, and says "just give me the damn bucket!"

Maybe Fred doesn't know anything about coaching. Has he completed his Cert IV?

New rule implemented along the lines of ... can only be a tenant of nominated stadium if clubs own members can fill it.
A club size to fit stadium size sort of set up. Need to cut down on wastage.. the planet is suffering.

One thing is for certain, nobody will be really happy about it.

No team should play more than two games in a row at home.

No two clubs should play at the same venue twice in one season. (Will never happen, but it should)

Marvel stadium?

17 game season is the only fair fixture... (Again, it will never happen)
Its been uneven for 30 years.

Some use it as an excuse. Others get on with things.

What should the 2020 Fixture look like?