What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? Part 2

I am enjoying the thought of ANZAC day without Collingwood v Essendon which is the most over hyped sporting event in the country. Seeing how the players have bahaved at times during this pandemic the talk of footballers going to war for a game annoys me as well.

Also Sheedy didn't invent the idea, it was a huge game in the SANFL (in relative terms) for years before he claimed it which to his credit he has acknowledged in his own sly way.

Thats an interesting claim, how so?

Vic still support 10 teams. We can't have a competition without them, but we are just one state. We are carrying too much of the weight.

The booming support the Lions had during the 3peat stagnated. Why? Because they have been unsuccessful? It can't be that simple. In a one-team town.

The Auskick numbers in Qland and NSW are grossly exaggerated. Any kid who gets their parent to sign a permission slip for Auskick is counted as an Auskick participant - that is normally everyone in the class. The school get the money for getting the forms signed. But only a fraction actually attend Auskick with their parents on the Sat Morn. (that stat is never quoted).

With the amount of money and resources over the last 15 years, the AFL should have made the Lions and Swans both overflowing with fans.

Close to 30 years as a national competition. How have the AFL not done a better job conquering the north?

Average crowds in the NRL are about 15k. It's really only the Broncos who put up AFL numbers. Roosters, Souths, Manly - whoever, they all got under 20k per game. The Swans getting 30k+ per game in Sydney is remarkable. Even Brisbane' crowds while they were shit were good for an NRL team. For whatever reason rugby league people watch on TV rather than going to games in huge numbers.

Sydney and Brisbane were never going to be like WC. We get 50k per game now that we have a big stadium and are a powerhouse in a two team town that cares about football. Expecting Sydney to be an off field powerhouse is like expecting the same of Melbourne Storm.

Average crowds in the NRL are about 15k. It's really only the Broncos who put up AFL numbers. Roosters, Souths, Manly - whoever, they all got under 20k per game. The Swans getting 30k+ per game in Sydney is remarkable. Even Brisbane' crowds while they were shit were good for an NRL team. For whatever reason rugby league people watch on TV rather than going to games in huge numbers.

Sydney and Brisbane were never going to be like WC. We get 50k per game now that we have a big stadium and are a powerhouse in a two team town that cares about football. Expecting Sydney to be an off field powerhouse is like expecting the same of Melbourne Storm.

WA was once a rugby sate and Aussie Rules nearly failed on many occasions in the early years. Seeing teams come in and out of the WAFL such as:
- north freo
-freo Mk1
- freo Mk2
- union
- centrals
- east perth mk 1
- high school
- imperials
- midland junction
rovers
- west australian

even Freo (AFL) nearly failed

The state is and has been a powerhouse, generating some of the games best players for generations plus a lifestyle and weather that is kind to watching winter sports.

It surprises me that some people think what WA has created over 100 years can be replicated in a generation or two without similar hurdles WA faced.

(Regarding AFL in QLD & NSW)

Rugby league is still king.

Broncos games are often on prime time Thursday or Friday nights, major channel.
Lions games are usually on Saturday or Sunday afternoons, 7mate.

AFL gets barely any news coverage up here, and then it’d be only about the Lions (or Suns).

For example, all that hoo-hah about that drunk Bulldogs player got no mention whatsoever on the 6pm News.

European Soccer and American NFL and the NBA have made gains in foreign countries that the AFL can't make in their own northern domestic states.

The Storm are a powerhouse in the NRL. Their crowds are comparable to the Pies re/NRL crowds.

European Soccer and American NFL and the NBA have made gains in foreign countries that the AFL can't make in their own northern domestic states.

If you think the Storm and the Lions are comparable then (i) you don't rate the game of AFL as highly as i do, and (b) you don't know how little encouragement and backing the Storm have been given by the NRL and NRL supporters.

Those sports and competitions have global reach.

AFL isn't a game, it's a competition. Australian rules football has been around in Qld and NSW for a long time and people don't care about it.

(Regarding AFL in QLD & NSW)

Rugby league is still king.

Broncos games are often on prime time Thursday or Friday nights, major channel.
Lions games are usually on Saturday or Sunday afternoons, 7mate.

AFL gets barely any news coverage up here, and then it’d be only about the Lions (or Suns).

For example, all that hoo-hah about that drunk Bulldogs player got no mention whatsoever on the 6pm News.

I think the supporting base was there in 2001-2003.

But the AFL got complacent, hoping for organic growth. It didn't come.

Those sports and competitions have global reach.

AFL isn't a game, it's a competition. Australian rules football has been around in Qld and NSW for a long time and people don't care about it.

lol.... hands in the air lets not bother too hard!

Can't stand the AFL bankrolling women's football, whilst doing nothing for grassroots football and at the expense of the AFL Development League, SANFL and WAFL.
Clearly you are one of these people who believe a woman's place is to support the men playing footy.
Women's footy has saved AFL by getting 50% of the population actively interested in the game and has generated a resurgence at grassroots level. The amount of girls now kicking a footy is incredible. Throwing money at competitions which already have a salary cap of 200-300K is a waste of money. Clubs pay mercenaries $1-$2K per game, who then pack up and move to the next highest bidder. These clubs and competitions have more money than VFL clubs!

The AFL needs to spend money in the schools and get their brand back into primary and High Schools. Once a upon time a many AFL players were teachers and they basically ensured AFL was the main game. Nowadays soccer and basketball have made huge in roads into the schools. Soccer is huge a junior level but will never succeed in Australia b/c Aussies will not watch a third rate competition like the A League. There is no pathway for kids who play soccer unless they move overseas.

Hyperbole.

AFL was in no danger and women have supported football for a time.
No hyperbole, only have to see the interest and participants it has generated. But you don't want them involved in the game. Look forward to the day that a female coach is in charge of an AFL club.

Do you always tell people what they think?

Great that girls want to play footy and participation rates are up. Financial benefit to the AFL will be negligible. AFLW doesn't make money, and crowds/TV audiences aren't suddenly twice what they used to be.

Vic still support 10 teams. We can't have a competition without them, but we are just one state. We are carrying too much of the weight.

The booming support the Lions had during the 3peat stagnated. Why? Because they have been unsuccessful? It can't be that simple. In a one-team town.

The Auskick numbers in Qland and NSW are grossly exaggerated. Any kid who gets their parent to sign a permission slip for Auskick is counted as an Auskick participant - that is normally everyone in the class. The school get the money for getting the forms signed. But only a fraction actually attend Auskick with their parents on the Sat Morn. (that stat is never quoted).

With the amount of money and resources over the last 15 years, the AFL should have made the Lions and Swans both overflowing with fans.

Close to 30 years as a national competition. How have the AFL not done a better job conquering the north?

Development is a tough gig, of course it could have been done better, the same applies to the national competition.

I dont take anything from Auskick numbers, I've seen how relevant participation numbers have been in basdketball & soccer.

You mentioned the success of the Eagles as a benchmark, it hasnt been done anywhere else & ignores the strength of footy in WA. It certainly would be wise to have a good look at their business model.

Being average in two positions isn't better than being elite at one.
Fair point, and I do agree however I reckon Tippett was much better than average in both roles. It was only really in 2017 where he struggled and that seemed to rewrite his legacy upon retirement.

I recall his ruck work being very efficient, like Paddy Ryder; neither were as physically intimidating as the absolute best rucks but they were very good at putting the ball in the right positions for the ball to be won. Tippett then had the mobility and tank to do more around the ground than a lot of his competitors.

Meanwhile as a forward he was a towering prospect who kicked over 2 goals a game (when he wasn’t rucking, that is) and was one of the best pack marks in the game.

Do you always tell people what they think?

Great that girls want to play footy and participation rates are up. Financial benefit to the AFL will be negligible. AFLW doesn't make money, and crowds/TV audiences aren't suddenly twice what they used to be.
It's the local participation increase they are after, not more TV viewers.

Participants pay fees to local clubs, by club gear. Have family that volunteers and help out.

Put money through the canteen and bar.

They keep local numbers up and keep pressure in local council's for facilities.

The flow on affect if booming female participation are huge.

On moto g(6) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app

Fair point, and I do agree however I reckon Tippett was much better than average in both roles. It was only really in 2017 where he struggled and that seemed to rewrite his legacy upon retirement.

I recall his ruck work being very efficient, like Paddy Ryder; neither were as physically intimidating as the absolute best rucks but they were very good at putting the ball in the right positions for the ball to be won. Tippett then had the mobility and tank to do more around the ground than a lot of his competitors.

Meanwhile as a forward he was a towering prospect who kicked over 2 goals a game (when he wasn’t rucking, that is) and was one of the best pack marks in the game.
Fair- maybe my recollection of Tippett's career was a little off. I feel like his peak career was in his last 2 years at Adelaide, then injuries/suspension hit while he was at Sydney. Paddy Ryder (I saw more of him at Essendon than at Port) is a decent comparison
Tippett had his moments as a forward. I don't think he was at Ottens level- but Ottens was in a better team I suppose so maybe that evens it up a bit

What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? Part 2