spring6

As Freo supporters we have suffered through some dud seasons, this year I think even the most pessimistic of us are expecting big things. How far down the ladder would we have to finish for you to consider it a cruel disappointment?

Ladder position dosen't worry me excessively but I will be dissapointed if we dont win 11 games this year with at least 2 away from subi.

Ideally a top 8 finish would be nice but for Freo I feel the number of wins is more important.

With our cattle we should definately make the 8. But I said that last year, and footy's an odd beast so we could go either way. That said, I think any lower than 10th would be a pretty bitter pill. Devastating would also be not winning an away game again.

Predicted finish 8th.

I agree with Balip... Anything less than 2 away (from Subi) wins I would consider unacceptable.

At least this year we get a decent run at the MCG.

I'm working along the same lines as Balip, number of wins rather than ladder position.

To get 9 wins out of 11 games at home has been done, plus at least 2 wins away. An extra 2 other wins is obtainable.

In reality we must make the 8 to gain credability and I reckon we need to start burying sides, rather than being buried as we have in the past.

We have some good cattle, so no excuses should be accepted.

They will suprise this year (i hope), im tipping top four....... this is not a send up, players will mature and history teaches us that teams do step up quickly at times.

Originally posted by S.J Rollin
I agree with Balip... Anything less than 2 away (from Subi) wins I would consider unacceptable.

At least this year we get a decent run at the MCG.

Have you seen our record at the MCG? I'll give you a clue....IT'S ****ING SH*TE!!!!!!

IMO, we're better off playing at Colonial, Manuka, North West Siberia, anywhere but the MCG.

I haven't seen it actually but with a signature like that mate, I am willing to believe anything you say

Without doubt missing out on the eight.It is an absolute MUST to finish in the eight and play finals.To do this we MUST win games outside our own state.

Maybe our record at the Gee is not good Rob but neither was Brisbanes until just recently.We must play as much football there as we can.It is no good playing all over Australia if we don't get results at the GEE.I would be glad to play all our Vic games there.

Two Derby wins would be great and there is no reason why we can't win both.If we do then we may only have to win one game away from home.

But I would sooner see us lose a couple here if we can more than compensate for it with wins away.
The away wins will give the players self belief and confidence when it comes to finals footy.Our players must not be frightened of playing away from home.They have to get to the stage where they enjoy going away and playing.

Roll on opening fixture.

Originally posted by Rob
Have you seen our record at the MCG? I'll give you a clue....IT'S ****ING SH*TE!!!!!!

IMO, we're better off playing at Colonial, Manuka, North West Siberia, anywhere but the MCG.

Have you seen our record at all venues against all teams. Its not to flash either. Freo are in it to win the premiership, grand final day is at the 'G so we need all the exposure we can get.

btw, 11 wins AND no lower than 9th and I'll be happy.

Originally posted by funky_monk
Have you seen our record at all venues against all teams. Its not to flash either. Freo are in it to win the premiership, grand final day is at the 'G so we need all the exposure we can get.

btw, 11 wins AND no lower than 9th and I'll be happy.

Gotta be better than the G, we've won a few games at Colonial, and the best away performances last year were in Canberra and Launceston (and arguably the 3rd in Brisbane).

Put it this way, 4 games at the MCG ain't going to increase our finals chances.

get real Rob

I really don't care about our past record at the G but prefer to look to the future and be positive about the number of games we can win there.If we are going to be a force in the comp the number one game of the year is played there and we would have to win it to be premiers.
What are we going to do if we make the finals?throw our arms in the air and say"WE CAN'T WIN PLAYING HERE".
Or go to the VFLoops AFL and ask for the game to be shifted to another venue.

C'mon get real Rob.Our team has to learn to play at all grounds and in particular the MCG.
As I said before I would be happy if we played all our games at the MCG.Sooner the boys learn to play there the better off we are.

Re: get real Rob

Originally posted by anchor man
I really don't care about our past record at the G but prefer to look to the future and be positive about the number of games we can win there.If we are going to be a force in the comp the number one game of the year is played there and we would have to win it to be premiers.
What are we going to do if we make the finals?throw our arms in the air and say"WE CAN'T WIN PLAYING HERE".
Or go to the VFLoops AFL and ask for the game to be shifted to another venue.

C'mon get real Rob.Our team has to learn to play at all grounds and in particular the MCG.
As I said before I would be happy if we played all our games at the MCG.Sooner the boys learn to play there the better off we are.

Yeah I agree. We have to start learning to play at the MCG if we ever want to win a premiership; may as well start now.

You bet your sweet bippy we have to.
Can we take up a petition to take to the AFL to have all our away games transferred to the MCG?

I would be disapointed if we dont have a winning season or at least get 11 wins and hopefully that will bring finals.

Originally posted by ok.crows

How do you people think you might go in the opening round away game ?

As the first game is against the Crows in Adelaide, on paper the Crows would be favourites, but I'm hoping that Dockers show they have improved and the result is by only a couple of goals.

Hopefully the "spa king" will line up on Pav, and that would make a great contest.

Bickley on Cook might be fun.