What would you do if

Punt Road Feral

In may be some years away but im interested to know what you supporters would do if you missed out on tickets in our next grand final appearence?
There is only 12,500 tickets avaliable for members in the leagues biggest day and we will be close to 50,000 members maybe even more when we rise up the ladder. Almost 80% of you won't be able to go despite many of you being members for years and sticking with the club through our worst years on field.
How would you react knowing that you have spent so much money over the years to take your family out to watch the tiges play, flying interstate to support your love and generally forking out thousands of dollars in memberships to not being able to go to what will be the clubs biggest day in recent history when it happens.

Personally i'd probably give up on it all. Whilst i love the club, love the passion the fans have and love the direction the club is finally taking i couldn't bare to think that the AFL's corporate scalping would let some w***er who's probably been to less than half a dozen games in a season take a seat ahead of someone who truly deserves it (not talking just about me but about our members who generally deserve it).
As i said before i love the club but i dont love the league. I loath it, the direction the game itself is taking is for the worse by changing far too many rules, give me 90's footy anyday to what we have now.
Gone a bit of topic but id love to hear what everyone would personally do if they missed out.

I honestly reckon when we are a top 4 side that 10,000 fans would probably buy the GF guareentee. Would that mean 2,500 members tickets would be left or still the 12,500?

Im not having a dig or anything because everyone is different but would you still be bitter if you missed out on tickets?

Given I'm a social club member, I don't think I'll have a problem with getting a GF, however if I did end up missing out for some reason I'd be informing the club in no uncertain terms that they can stick it.

I bought the guarantee a couple of years ago. Copped a bit of stick for it amongst my mates but I've never been to a grand final and don't plan on missing the ones we make. Just wouldn't feel the same watching it on TV i think.

that's why ya get the GF guarantee, alternately I would watch at Punt Rd on the Big screen amongst the faithful, seriously would there be any other way
This.:thumbsu:
Other than that I would probably fork $1500 in a corporate package even it meant flying up to Sydney and then flying to Melbourne for the game. If we lost I would pissed off.

AFL house would be burnt down for giving tickets to corporate ****wits over fans who rock up each and every week

Other than that I would probably fork $1500 in a corporate package even it meant flying up to Sydney and then flying to Melbourne for the game. If we lost I would pissed off.
yes ... those of us gen-X'ers who have seen capital in our properties grow enormously over the last few years , could see us in a position to lash ..

i would have no problem throwing 4 figures plus to insure my attendance if it came down to that .

This risk of a loss is out-weighed ten-fold with the potential glory of being there .

What i want to know is ... should we get that far .. our membership would be 50-60-70k ... what would happen if the GF ticket guarentee was taken up by 25 30k of us ????

From memory the Hawks have a ballot which is just f..ked

yes ... those of us gen-X'ers who have seen capital in our properties grow enormously over the last few years , could see us in a position to lash ..

i would have no problem throwing 4 figures plus to insure my attendance if it came down to that .

This risk of a loss is out-weighed ten-fold with the potential glory of being there .

What i want to know is ... should we get that far .. our membership would be 50-60-70k ... what would happen if the GF ticket guarentee was taken up by 25 30k of us ????

From memory the Hawks have a ballot which is just f..ked
They cap the GF guarantee at 8000 or something like that Iddy. That way all that sign, get in.
I too would have no problem throwing $1500 to be there. I would pay a scalper that much so I have no problem getting a three-course lunch and free booze thrown in as well.
The other option I thought of was to go to Punt Rd and then try and get in with 10 mins to go if we were winning comfortable. Would be worth a try.

Exaclty what I would do. My mate who is a Saints supporter did this last year (think he ended up getting a ticket for $800 from Port or something) but with the lunch thrown in etc.. definitely think of worse things to blow your money on! Especially as it could well be a once in a lifetime experience (lets hope it isn't! But given our last GF was 1982...) :o

i just become a full member in the mcc so id be camping out the night before just to get in lol

mmm 12,000 tickets to members? doesn't sound fair. don't they give like 50k to people who aren't even interested in footy

ruins the occasion

saying that, i will never attend a grand final

...12,000 tickets...would mean i am still a chance!!!...:D...

mmm 12,000 tickets to members? doesn't sound fair. don't they give like 50k to people who aren't even interested in footy

ruins the occasion

Andrew Dimwittio again.
Rather get bags of money from the corporates to fill his fat Greeek arse cheeks.:D

ruins the occasion

Though ive never been to one before ive heard that the atmosphere and passion at Preliminary finals are far better than that in the Grand Final due to the amount of neutral supporters on grand final day.

Missing out would suck especially seeing as I was born 5 years after our last gf but seriously those saying they would tell the club to stick it it's not rfc's fault blame andy d.

Seriously though a packed out punt road oval 30-40k people would go nuts especially after we won

ruins the occasion

Probably isn't fair.. I would reduced the amount of tickets allocated to other teams but then you understand those teams wanting to make a bit of money from packages etc..

On the people not being interested in footy.. maybe correct but they are also the people putting big $$$ into AFL so we need them.

One good thing with the NRL (been to 4 GF's) is that if you want a ticket you are almost certain to get one at cost price. We just need to make the MCG bigger!

Probably isn't fair.. I would reduced the amount of tickets allocated to other teams but then you understand those teams wanting to make a bit of money from packages etc..

Easiest solution mate is for the AFL to compensate the clubs for those tickets they take away and put them back into the member allocation.

If the AFL actually gave a shit about the fans they would do this.

In response to the OP... I have the GF gaurentee via the package I buy each year, so I am lucky enough not to have to contemplate it. Could imagine how terrible it would be though.

Easiest solution mate is for the AFL to compensate the clubs for those tickets they take away and put them back into the member allocation.

If the AFL actually gave a shit about the fans they would do this.

In response to the OP... I have the GF gaurentee via the package I buy each year, so I am lucky enough not to have to contemplate it. Could imagine how terrible it would be though.
Interesting point you make.
And it further emphasises why I would pay big bucks to be there.
I have been to the past three NRL GFs and paid $800 in airfares, accommodation and beer money to be there, so money would be no obect for me.
Also, the clubs actually ask that the AFL do this. A LOT of coin is raised by the clubs with their annual allocation of GF tickets.