Whatever Happened to…

What about Brodie Atkinson? On debut for St. Kilda had 25 possessions and was awarded 2 Brownlow votes. Played the next week but that was it, until the Crows drafted him in 1998. Managed to play 5 games but wasn’t up to the standard.

Brodie busted his leg in that second game for the Saints.

The award to the guy with the coolest name goes to Balraj Singh. Should’ve kept him for his name alone, oh and he looks a little bit like Franklin. :p

I mentioned what he's up to now in the Past Players thread over in the locker room.

You probably wouldn’t know but did Eccles suffer a knee reconstruction in the game against Richmond in 1999? He was playing superb footy at the time and was even a chance for the Victorian SOO team. He may have recorded some of his best stats after the injury but it really held him back.[/QUOTE]

I don't think it was a full reco (though I could be wrong) - I thought it was one of those medial type things that keeps you out for 12 weeks or so that happened at the wrong time of the year. It was that horrible night against Richmond when half the lights went out. He had been named in the Victorian SOO squad before the injury.

Let me pose this question, who was better?

A. Matthew Golding
B. Lucas Herbert

What a blockbuster battle! Both guys played in 1999 because Rehn and Marsh went down. Marsh was about to make a name for himself and step up and become our #1 ruckman but that injury ruined his career.

Anyway didn't Herbert have a tidy start to his career? 10 possessions, 14 hit-outs, 5 marks and a goal. Sadly it was all downhill from there. :p

Atkinson, Herbert, Burton and Gallagher all debuted in the game (well, Atkinson made his AFC debut).

From memory, Blight's post match summary was something like "one was pretty good, one was good, one was OK and one was poor".

Seeing as the others stats were:

Burton 7 kicks, 4 marks
Atkinson 3 kicks, 3 hb, 1 mark, 1 goal, 1 tackle
Gallagher 3 kicks, 1 mark, 1 tackle

It was probably the only match Blight praised Herbert for!

Brodie busted his leg in that second game for the Saints.
That makes sense. Delisted the next year?

I don't think it was a full reco (though I could be wrong) - I thought it was one of those medial type things that keeps you out for 12 weeks or so that happened at the wrong time of the year. It was that horrible night against Richmond when half the lights went out. He had been named in the Victorian SOO squad before the injury.
Yeah he was my favourite player and I didn’t think it was a knee reconstruction either. However in the Crows 2000 yearbook it said he did suffer a knee reconstruction but it occurred in Round 9 and he made it back by Round 1 so I’m not sure what to believe. That Richmond game was a shocker, Kane Johnson was also playing a ripper and he was knocked out. So he did make the squad; I knew he was around the mark.

in response to earlier in this thread in 05 kym koster did play in div 6, he was the captain coach of Colonel Light Gardens, he now just plays at shocs after coaching them in 06

You probably wouldn’t know but did Eccles suffer a knee reconstruction in the game against Richmond in 1999? He was playing superb footy at the time and was even a chance to make the Victorian SOO team. He may have recorded some of his best stats after the injury but it really held him back.

Not sure he had a reco?

However I did find the following stuff re his Carlton career

Career: 2002-2003
Debut: Round 6, 2002 vs Western Bulldogs
1054th Carlton Player
Games: 13
Goals: 2
Guernsey No. 20
Last Game: Round 16, 2003 vs Sydney
Height: 187cm
Weight: 84kg
DOB: 1 June, 1979

Andrew Eccles was a right footed midfielder, who came across from the Adelaide Crows in a direct trade for Kris Massie. Both Massie and Eccles were young players with a reputation of sorts: Massie, a very early draft pick who had suffered a broken leg, causing him to miss the second half of 2001; Eccles, a young Victorian who in his debut year, 1998, became a premiership player at the Crows but had been increasingly troubled by hamstring problems and managed just 5 games in 2001. Ironically he played his final game for the Crows against Carlton in the 2001 Elimination Final.

In Eccles' first year at the Blues, the number 20 would struggle for consistency, at times managing some serviceable games and with all Carlton's injuries, he ended up playing 11 games, mostly named as an interchange player. But in 2003, he could only eke out a further 2 games (of minimal impact), before being delisted by the Blues, while Massie would remain at the Crows. In this respect the trade failed, but Eccles was one of a large number of players recruited between 2000-2005 who were very good at VFL level.

Eccles would dominate for the Northern Bullants, but just couldn't make the step up to AFL level consistently. It remains an open issue as to how much leg injuries 'hamstrung' Eccles' career. He had definitely lost some pace from his sparkling first season with the Crows, but perhaps this is one we'll never know.

Famous for his 'goose step' kicking action, where he appeared to hold the ball a little differently to others, Eccles moved from the Bullants to North Ballarat in 2004 and continued to perform at VFL level

Career Highlights
2002 4th Reserves Best & Fairest

http://www.blueseum.org/tiki-index.php?page=Andrew+Eccles

I also found his total AFL stats

Looking at the games he played, & their frequency, I doubt he needed a full reco, but a mid term strain looks likely

http://www.finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=413

How about Stuart Wigney? or Randall Bone?

I remember being behind the goals in 1994 against Fitzroy I think and in the goal square was Randall, Stuart and Josh Mail.

A low ebb for the club.

John Klug : love watching him back on the old '1991: Something To Crow About' VHS he was delisted at the end of '92 (due to injuries) and was picked up in the PSD by the Bears with their last pick, but didn't play a game for them & then moved back to Tassie i think?.

Randall Bone: His debut against Melbourne in '92 showed he had talent but could not stop eating after that, Was traded to the Hawks in '94 & stayed on their list for a few years playing a handful of matches before getting delisted, stayed in Victoria.

Stuart Wigney: was recruited at the start of '93 as we were light on KPP's and were in that endless search for a CHF (same reason we got Tony Hall in '94 even though he was aged 94 :p), he had already suffered terrible injuries with Sydney and the Dogs and ended up playing a handful of H&A matches + Elimination Final & Qualifying Final in '93 before being dropped in favour of Scott Hodges for the prelim, only played a few in '94 then was subsequently delisted, then was picked up by Richmond in the PSD where he played in '95 but then retired due to injury, Stayed in Victoria.

their's a few of them

John Klug : Stuart Wigney:

His brother Brad played for the Redbacks. Of course the Advo always got the names the wrong way around when writing articles about either.

What saddens me is that John Hinge only played one game and now has taken away Clayton Lamb's only claim to fame as the only crow to have played only once.

Whatever Happened to…