When did Collingwood last land a big fish

I believe Geelong landed Ottens.....Collingwood have been chasing success longer than Carlton. Last flag was 1990 wasn't it?? Maybe a big fish would have been the difference.

How is Ottens anymore of a big fish than Jolly :confused:

Maybe, and maybe if you guys hadn't drafted Angwin, Walker, Russell and traded about blokes like Kennedy you would be featuring in finals next year, alas you will be back where you are seemingly most comfortable.

Fact is, snaring the big fish has done nothing for you guys as of yet.

You went after Judd big time.

But he baulked when you did not describe the proposed deal ... smart man. He knew the history of Pies' trading an did not want to be left hanging like Luke Ball ... that's got to be the headline in tomorrow's paper ... "Pies leave Ball hanging".

Close, but unfortunately you missed the mark. You're right, we chased Judd initially and won him over, he even stated we were his first choice. Unfortunately for us our success in getting to a prelim the year before ultimately ruled us out of the race, your failure and willingness to accept mediocrity meant you had once again finished bottom 4 (I think you finished last that year right?) and had far more leverage.

But what since then? You traded away your soul for Judd (I wouldn't give Kennedy in a straight swap for Judd now), he has effectively caused the downfall and dumping of one of your best FF's ever and all for what? You are still finishing below us and will undoubtedly finish well below us again... Your six top goal scorers average about 5 goals between them.

We can't help that all these blokes want to nominate Collingwood like Fevola and Ball did, unfortunately we just can't fit them all in and there is no freebies at Collingwood sorry boys.

Good to see you carrying on the obsession too. In all honesty, go back through your posts and see how often you post about Collingwood, is it love or just an infatuation?

big fish arent always worth it.

glad we kept our kids , glad we got jolly for our first pick and adressed our needs. No need to go out and get a star player in a position that is already well equipped. oops brisbane

But he baulked when you did not describe the proposed deal ... smart man. He knew the history of Pies' trading an did not want to be left hanging like Luke Ball ... that's got to be the headline in tomorrow's paper ... "Pies leave Ball hanging".

as did essendon and melbourne

the difference between pies/dons/dees and carlton?

no criminal billionaire available to pay judd squillions on the side. dream on if you reckon judd went because of your 'culture' or history or even your prospects.

flogger

mate.. its obvious dicky paid him another million on the side.. the guy was a billionaire..he even probaly gave judd half of the ownership of the carlton football club in his will. and you think cos of collingwoods history he didnt come to us? the guy just said to the club its either me or fev. some leader you got there.

After Dick Pratt died, JUdd said "if it wasn't for him he wouldn't have come here"

Also draft picks 1 & 3 are a little easier to land a trade with then 14.:rolleyes:

Based on the benchmark: Geelong.

Big Fish- Brad Ottens about 5 years ago.

Cam Mooney but wasn't a big fish at the time. Actually traded out a big fish in Leigh Colbert.

Developing your own is the way to go.

Jolly is a great pick up for the pies..........what were the swans thinking???

Unlike StKilda, Sydney did the right thing by a player who had served them well, and made a trade to the requested club of Jolly's choice.

Jolly explained that he and his wife have 2 young children, and that they wanted to be closer to them, and that spending 3 weeks in Melbourne after the season made up his mind.

Sydney acted like a professional football club, but with a little bit of heart.:thumbsu:

Who would want to go to a club that has won 1 premiership in over 50 years?

Nathan Buckley...
Everybody was after him
Was illegally signed with north and we still managed to get him.

Also as an Assistant Coach.. Had several clubs after him offering him $$$ as a senior coach yet we got that one across the line.

Medhurst got dropped for the prelim and i think it's fair to say that Cloke and Anthony have struggled to hold down key positions.
What is it with all the J.Anthony bashing??

How many guys in their first season at FF kick 50 goals??? This year he kicked more goals than Kosi, Mooney and plenty of other supposed quality forwards.

His first full season and he was spent at the end, and in big finals games when Collingwood struggled in the middle (think we had something like an average of 100 less disposals in our finals) he struggled to get a kick against Scarlett and Rutten.

Wait til Anthony is physically ready to play a full season of AFL footy!!

Cloke is quality, he just had a poor year due, which may be explained by off-field issues, broken jaw and shooting at house incident

Does nobody remember a handy midfielder by the name of Shane Woewodin? Was a pretty big signing back in the day.

Who would want to go to a club that has won 1 premiership in over 50 years? :eek:

Well according to Paul Connors no one at all wants to go to Port. No one at all. gee even your best player couldn't wait to get out of that cesspit.

Gotta feel sorry for the kids you draft this year, at least on the brightside they only have to do a two year sentence before they can escape.

How is Ottens anymore of a big fish than Jolly :confused:

Maybe, and maybe if you guys hadn't drafted Angwin, Walker, Russell and traded about blokes like Kennedy you would be featuring in finals next year, alas you will be back where you are seemingly most comfortable.

Fact is, snaring the big fish has done nothing for you guys as of yet.

We drafted Angwin in the rookie draft, no loss there.

One of your fellow Collingwood supporters points to some Collingwood players getting a decent pre-season & therefore being better in 2010. The same could be said for Walker ,who has missed much of the last 2 pre-seasons & home & away seasons due to injury, but after having major surgery on his troublesome shoulder should be able to enjoy a full pre-season & approach the home & away season with for more confidence in his body.

FWIW, snaring Judd took us to our first finals series in 8 years, but like Collingwood we didn't win the premiership this season, so I guess, like Collingwood, we have achieved nothing (there is only one winner each season).

So we are in agreement Freo has never landed a big fish then?

Who was the last big fish Geelong got before their premierships? Big fish that Brisbane snagged before their run?

If only we could land someone like Judd and have the success Carlton have had.
Hey..You got that succes when you landed Buckley. Left the lions cos he wanted a premiership..Never happened..But great training for a player who never had success to a coach who never will as well..lol

or "pies manage jolly with no ball"

We drafted Angwin in the rookie draft, no loss there.

One of your fellow Collingwood supporters points to some Collingwood players getting a decent pre-season & therefore being better in 2010. The same could be said for Walker ,who has missed much of the last 2 pre-seasons & home & away seasons due to injury, but after having major surgery on his troublesome shoulder should be able to enjoy a full pre-season & approach the home & away season with for more confidence in his body.

FWIW, snaring Judd took us to our first finals series in 8 years, but like Collingwood we didn't win the premiership this season, so I guess, like Collingwood, we have achieved nothing (there is only one winner each season).

Yeah my bad, I was thinking of Livingston. And I agree with you, my reply was only there to rebut a cheap troll comment about us not snagging big enough names to get a premiership, don't read in to it too much.

Hey..You got that succes when you landed Buckley. Left the lions cos he wanted a premiership..Never happened..But great training for a player who never had success to a coach who never will as well..lol

You realise in saying this you are agreeing with me? You're right, we didn't get success when we landed a big fish, so what does that tell you about the real importance of landing a big fish?
There is a big chance you guys won't have won a premiership by the end of Judd's stint at the club, I'm sure you won't consider it to have been all for nothing though.

The fact is a 'big fish' counts for **** all if you haven't got the personal around them.

Well according to Paul Connors no one at all wants to go to Port. No one at all. gee even your best player couldn't wait to get out of that cesspit.

Gotta feel sorry for the kids you draft this year, at least on the brightside they only have to do a two year sentence before they can escape.

Didn't mean to upset you, just pointing out that the vast majority of players say they play for one reason and that is to win a flag - and a club with 1 in over 50 years is not exactly attractive. As for Paul Connors - who is that? His opinion (whoever he is) carries about as much weight as yours and mine - zero!! By the way, Choco only declared Peter Burgoynes brother as our best player once he knew he wanted out - oldest trick in the book to boost his value come trade week. Good to see Hawthorn weren't the only ones to fall for it. With his knee he'll be lucky to see out 2010 let alone his whole contract. Thanks for coming Hawks. Oh, and good luck Collingwood in 2010 - always enjoy seeing the less successful clubs do well.