When does the future ever get here?

• Thread starter Thread starter Curto

I apologise for sooking and upsetting you because I didn't sit through anything terrible the club had to face. We all have parents to Opti, most of us have parents who support the same club and have gone through the same thing.

Even though I have brought up the 1 in 50 in this thread, I agree with you mostly about its relevence. It has been 18 years since our last flag, a stat while not great is better than a large portion of the competition.

Hawthorn did a great job with there drafting, i'm envious of their great list, it just annoys me that the club couldn't do what they did with the drafting, yes I am aware that they had better picks than us while we were up the top, but some of our trading decisions that you brought up should be looked at as odd from the club. The club has every resource it could need, is it really that terrible of me to expect a premiership?

I see Collingwood winning one soon thanks to our great young tallent, hopefully for all of our sakes, and all of our parents sakes, as we are all equal supporters (hence no number 1 ticket holder) of the Collingwood Football Club, it is sooner rather than later.

Yeah we made some **** ups, eddie has reall only made one mistake and that is keeping judkins so long even then he had good intentions he got the recruiter that built the baby bomebers too bad he couldnt build a thing at collingwood.

We've turned everyhting around none the less and we'll get there soonbut the one flag in fifty years nah thats just pandering to pessimists

Yeah we made some **** ups, eddie has reall only made one mistake and that is keeping judkins so long even then he had good intentions he got the recruiter that built the baby bomebers too bad he couldnt build a thing at collingwood.

We've turned everyhting around none the less and we'll get there soonbut the one flag in fifty years nah thats just pandering to pessimists
I have never at any point called for a change in the club at board level. Just making that clear.

i know that mate.

i also knew that the board change calls were/are going to come from other posters

I reckon this draft is the end of Hine's replacement cycle. Like it or not, we've had to replace a midfield, a spine and some horrific recruiting from 2001-2003.

A couple of decent hits in this draft plus some internal improvement and we won't be far off the mark.

Me too.

We have the young KP forwards. Just have to develop them further.

We have a young solid back 6 who have been together 2+ years now.

We have the dynamic players who can win matches.

If we can add another 2 hits from this draft to our midfield our time will come.

Young midfielders that have shown something:

Wellingham
McCarthy
Pendles

Then you have Swan-only 24. Didak, Thomas & Leon (who will be around in 3 years) who can pinch hit through the middle.

If we can add 2 quality players to that and hope a Stanley, Cook or similar can turn into a serviceable player, we have the makings of a very good team.

On the subject of arbitrary numbers Collingwood has only won 14 flags in 5000 years of civilisation since the agricultural revolution.. evidently we got off to a slow start in Mesopotamia but hit our straps when the industrial revolution kicked in.

Don't you get sick of being banned .......

The future is all that 14 clubs have to look forward to....cos as of September, we clearly saw that only two teams are living in the present.

I guess it is somwhere between : "we are a good young club, a draft or two away from genuine contender" (translated: we gotta wait until Buddy blows out a knee, Hawthorn is on the wrong end of a drug scandal or Geelong simply get old ala Brisbane) and rebuilding.

Then we have to hope we get no injuries and that somehow we are better than the other 14 teams that are so-called building for the future. If someone else should pop up and be better, then we are still a draft away.
I just love this answer!

It's called realism. :thumbsu:

Hmm your lack of them hasnt stopped you being a w***er, actually it could possibly have made you worse
If you are going to act like a troll yourself then at least have the decency to learn the English language first and accept your own hypocrisy.. I haven't said a word to you and you started slinging mud :rolleyes:

Here is the future: 23yr and under in 2009

B: O'Brien Brown Anthony
HB: Shaw Reid Goldsack
C: Barham McCarthy Wellingham
HF: Thomas Cloke Dick
F: Rusling Dawes Macaffer

FOLL: Wood Pendlebury Clarke

INT: Cook Stanley Toovey Cox

Rookies: Dyas Reed Keefe

As optimistic as i am. I seen us being ready to have a crack at the flag when , Blues, Tigers, Hawks,Bombers and ????? a few others are.
No one see's us as a gun side, just one who has a go. I like us having a go, but we cant win a flag until we have 3 years on the bottom, and build a gr8 list. History tells us all that being competitive = f... all in the way of premierships. Unless uyou have Carltons 20 mil a year salary cap. And with the new teams coming we will not be able to do what Carlton etc have and built a super team, that will be a serious chance in the next 3 or 4 years. Carlton, Richmond and Essendon will all win flags before us. Playing a few finals does not excite me anymore, when the chance of winning the big one is f.. all.
We dont need to land a star from another club. just need to be better than all the other clubs in finding and teaching the talented ones out there. Not going to happen.

oh, i neglected to say that the two new sides, will both win a flag before we do
Just being a realist