Sausage roll

Suspended
Not Fremantle
How does a super dominant side who wins a flag by over 120 points get to play the side that was 0-9 twice the next year(again!)?

What a free hit for them and a disaster for us. At least we are not going to skilled for the first time in years. Why don't we stand up and say as a starting point for the draw the very best side shouldn't get clearly the worst side twice?
If it was Collingwood McGuire would call a national strike untill they got what they wanted. IT is two guaranteed losses and we should be more vocal in protesting about it. We just roll over and cop it. Similairly with hawthorn.

I like the way Carlton, Essendon and Collingwood( fair enough) have been exempt from going to skilled for 5 years , whilst we have be pretty constant fixtures down there. Surely if Carlton get an exemption we should?

We have no chance of making an 8 with this draw and we never potest!

How does a super dominant side who wins a flag by over 120 points get to play the side that was 0-9 twice the next year(again!)?

What a free hit for them and a disaster for us. At least we are not going to skilled for the first time in years. Why don't we stand up and say as a starting point for the draw the very best side shouldn't get clearly the worst side twice?
If it was Collingwood McGuire would call a national strike untill they got what they wanted. IT is two guaranteed losses and we should be more vocal in protesting about it. We just roll over and cop it. Similairly with hawthorn.

I like the way Carlton, Essendon and Collingwood( fair enough) have been exempt from going to skilled for 5 years , whilst we have be pretty constant fixtures down there. Surely if Carlton get an exemption we should?

Depends which way you look at it, if your in the mix for finals and percentage is important then of course you don't wanna play the best team twice. But if your a rebuilding team developing kids and the finals would very nice, but not the end of the world , then comparing yourself to the best aint that bad.

I know which way I look at it...

Depends which way you look at it, if your in the mix for finals and percentage is important then of course you don't wanna play the best team twice. But if your a rebuilding team developing kids and the finals would very nice, but not the end of the world , then comparing yourself to the best aint that bad.

I know which way I look at it...

How long are we going to be rebuilding for?

So by your "logic" we should protest about it in what 2011?

I don't know how 157 point losses help the club?

How long are we going to be rebuilding for?

So by your "logic" we should protest about it in what 2011?

I don't know how 157 point losses help the club?
With list we have got we will be rebuilding for another 2 - 3 years as we only started in 2005. It took Geelong 7 years. Thats just how long it takes unfortunatley. We should start playing regular finals next year , and push for a Flag when all the planets line up. Could be 2010 ,2011 ,2012, or 2013

As the great Robert Duval said in Days Of Thunder " Rubbin is racing Harry, Rubbin is racing!" unfortunatley thats just how it is, we need to get games into these young talented players.

If you possessed any form of wisdom or intellect you would know that the only way to learn is by playing the best ;)...

I would rather play teams like Geelong twice a year right now because the youth in our side will gain enormously from the experience ...

Whats to gain more from .... solid performances like we had yesterday or playing say a melbourne ?

I realise your point but we gain a lot more from playing the best rather than getting more games against teams in similar positions than ourselves . In 06 we suffered long term from playing the likes of Hawthorn twice who we limped over the top of twice by a goal or so ... ending up with 9-10 wins that gave us an inflated position on the ladder when you realistically considered where we were at in terms of our development .

You gain f..k all from beating teams like Melb etc ...

The last four games we have played 3 undefeated teams and have been more than admirable . We outplayed the Aints and didn`t get the bikkies ... stiff shit . We have played the benchmarks and are under no illusions to where we need to go .

Wallace has gone head to head with the top sides without resorting to negative , fruitless tactics to eek out a couple of meaningless wins in the grand scheme of things .

So yeah ... stiff shit if we have to play geelong twice ... personally i am very happy with that :thumbsu: I am sure the board is very happy with this outcome as well , aside from the fact that there would have been 20,000 bums on seats had we been playing Melbourne;)

Geelong almost have a DREAM fixture this year.. In the first 18 rounds they play us (Tigers) twice, yet Hawthorn once!

4 out of their last 8 games are at Skilled Stadium also, one of the biggest advantages in modern day AFL. At least 6 out of our last 7 games are in Melbourne at either the MCG or Telstra Dome.

Still, I have to agree. I think it's good to play better teams more often, it helps teams like the Tigers in many areas but what good does it do Geelong except to provide an almost gift of 4 points and a percentage boost? Oh yeah, I answered my own question :p

I'm glad to see that the Tigers are playing positive football but due to the weather yesterday our skills, which clearly aren't up to the last 3 teams we've played, looked even worse than they may have in the dry.

I'm not too upset where the Tigers are, and how they're going. They've played plenty of top teams so far and haven't been embarrased, far from it. They should have finished off the Bulldogs but against Hawthorn, sure they got in front but it was only a small lead and it was no surprise that they came back to snatch that one as they're a class side. Probably even better than the cats.

Which again, is why it's ridiculous that Hawthorn haven't played Geelong already this season. Aren't the boards of each clubs pissed off also? Surely to Cats vs. Hawks games would bring in a shit load of money through the gate.. loads more than playing us twice anyway...

Like IDGAF saud, rather play Geelong and the playrs can see how a great team plays first hand, then play all the horrible teams twice just miss out on the finals and think we are better then we really are

Why should the bottom teams get even more reward for coming last than they already do? It's apparantly not enough to get two of the top 5 or so players in the draft each year for being shit for a while, but now we should also get to play all the shit teams twice? And all the good teams should have to play the good teams twice?

:)The draw is clearly farcical and discriminates, but for every Geelong there is a Fremantle or West Coast that quickly loses form. Pre-season, seeing that you were playing either of those teams you would be cursing.....eight rounds later you'd gladly play them twice (or every round). It's never going to be fair....move on!

We have had a tough draw already this season. Carlton have had a piss easy one and are only half a game ahead of us.

Don't understand how people are bagging the team, we're doing fine.

PS - If we lose to Essendon then I'll start worrying about the team...

To IDGAF....in the words of MEATLOAF ...you took the words right out of my mouth! Well said:thumbsu:

If you possessed any form of wisdom or intellect you would know that the only way to learn is by playing the best ;)...

I would rather play teams like Geelong twice a year right now because the youth in our side will gain enormously from the experience ...

Whats to gain more from .... solid performances like we had yesterday or playing say a melbourne ?

I realise your point but we gain a lot more from playing the best rather than getting more games against teams in similar positions than ourselves . In 06 we suffered long term from playing the likes of Hawthorn twice who we limped over the top of twice by a goal or so ... ending up with 9-10 wins that gave us an inflated position on the ladder when you realistically considered where we were at in terms of our development .

You gain f..k all from beating teams like Melb etc ...

The last four games we have played 3 undefeated teams and have been more than admirable . We outplayed the Aints and didn`t get the bikkies ... stiff shit . We have played the benchmarks and are under no illusions to where we need to go .

Wallace has gone head to head with the top sides without resorting to negative , fruitless tactics to eek out a couple of meaningless wins in the grand scheme of things .

So yeah ... stiff shit if we have to play geelong twice ... personally i am very happy with that :thumbsu: I am sure the board is very happy with this outcome as well , aside from the fact that there would have been 20,000 bums on seats had we been playing Melbourne;)

Good point there.
You don't learn anything from shit sides.

Two points

1 Whether it helps our development is bye the bye Don't tell me the AFL are doing it to help our development? also, what happens when it costs us a finals spot in say two years? The 8th side mightn't be good enough to beat Geeelong yet we could miss because a number of you guys are suggesting it is good for us to always play them twice. there is also an argument that winning hepls the group and that getting smashed by Geelong can harm the group.

2 What about the free hit they are getting? Why should they get the bottom side( 0-9 remember) twice? That is surely just plain wrong.

what ever. Beat essendon and were like 1/2 a game out were every chance to make it. We have matched it with dogs hawks and now the cats. You might as well say our season is over. If they club did protest it would be a waste of time cause they dont listen.

People here don't understand that it's no use having your kids get their confidence smashed every week by the top teams especially when the AFL's socialism is meant to work in favour of the bottom teams when the draw is announced.

Sausage Roll is right. Our board and admin is gutless. A bogan who sits in the Collingwood cheer squad has a higher media profile than our president. Now that's saying something.

Playing against the top 4 best team is probably the best measure that we have in terms of where we are.
It may be true that by beating the minnows we will go up the ladder, however, it will prove nothing when September comes when we get pummelled by the big guns due to lack of real game experience.

Playing against the top 4 best team is probably the best measure that we have in terms of where we are.
It may be true that by beating the minnows we will go up the ladder, however, it will prove nothing when September comes when we get pummelled by the big guns due to lack of real game experience.
Look no further then 2006, we got to play the crap teams more often then the good teams and beat them only to get belted by the good teams and finish ninth, and didn't really help us one bit in the slightest only made us think we were a lot better then we actually were

Exactly.

People here don't understand that it's no use having your kids get their confidence smashed every week by the top teams especially when the AFL's socialism is meant to work in favour of the bottom teams when the draw is announced.
LMAO.

Great point :thumbsu:

Smashed by the top sides ..... LMAO .

Yeah ... we`ve been absolutely pulverised by three undefeated teams the last month ....

Problem with our club is whilst eveyone else realised around the mid eighties that this competion was evolving to new levels of professinalism and a new , modern modus operandi had to be undertaken to remain competetive ... We continued on as if we were still run by Graeme Richmond and that a boot full of suits and televisions could solve our recruiting problems and the ol`"F..k you" attitude would carry us through ....

Fast forward to "now" and i ask you ... what runs the game ? ... what runs all professional sports around the world ? ...Where does the money come from ? ......... T.E.L.E.V.I.S.I.O.N ....

780 mill for 5 years to be exact ...

The right to get the cream in television coverage has to be earned ... the right to play the blockbusters has to be earned . The right to Friday night footy has to be earned ... we have gone from probably at 5-6 Friday nighters a year to blot this year ... do i need to explain why .... Are we numero uno on the ratings tree .... "Let me hear heeeeelllll No" ...

Do we have anyone else to blame but ourselves ....."Heeeeeelllll NO "

So suck it the f..k up and stop complaining ....FFS .

Don`t get up on a friggin soap box and bleat ..."WE WANT RESPECT" ... Because the minute you do that you are a friggin laughing stock ...

WHY?

Because there is only one way in this world to gain respect ... and that is by earning it .... and until we do that ... "Earn it" ... then we shall maintain our ranking in the scheme of things .

and FWIW ... i reckon we have done more in the last 5 weeks as regards to "Earning" respect than we have done in 7 years ....;)