• 5-6 Years (2032-33)

Votes: 3 2.8%
  • 7 Years +

Votes: 4 3.7%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 5 4.6%

This is so true. I remember ages ago (Worsfold era, but no idea if it was pre-or-post meltdown) we beat Port away early in the season and having had a poor finish to the previous season, you could feel the confidence everyone got from that win.

Turned out Port went on to have a really poor year and we just got lucky, but the effect it had on the season was significant.

Our draw this year was really tough for the first two months, so by the time we hit some winnable games, we were mentally out of it. Hopefully next year they don't treat the raining wooden spooners quite so harshly...
Not thinking of 2015 under Simmo? Port were a kick away from the grand final the season before and then we beat them in Adelaide which seemed to kickstart our 2015 run from memory, but they went on to miss finals.

This is so true. I remember ages ago (Worsfold era, but no idea if it was pre-or-post meltdown) we beat Port away early in the season and having had a poor finish to the previous season, you could feel the confidence everyone got from that win.

Turned out Port went on to have a really poor year and we just got lucky, but the effect it had on the season was significant.

Our draw this year was really tough for the first two months, so by the time we hit some winnable games, we were mentally out of it. Hopefully next year they don't treat the raining wooden spooners quite so harshly...
Pretty sure this was 2009. I remember the buzz of the crowd after that game, walking out of Subi some Jolly fellow strutted up to me, said "How about them Eagles!" and high fived me. I now say that after every good win 🤣

I think he means rd2 2011.

we had just won the spoon and had a good win v Port at Footy Park which set us up for a good year.

saying that, looking at the 2011 season we were 2-0 then lost to syd and haw to be 2-2 so its not like we were flying
We lost to Sydney after they kicked the last 4 goals of the game in 6 minutes but we're right in it till the end.

The Hawks game was in Tassie, we led at 3/4 time, got blown out, then almost mounted a comeback but ran out of time unfortunately.

All was a vast improvement and very encouraging considering we were reigning wooden spooners.

Pretty sure this was 2009. I remember the buzz of the crowd after that game, walking out of Subi some Jolly fellow strutted up to me, said "How about them Eagles!" and high fived me. I now say that after every good win 🤣
We beat the Bulldogs twice in 2009. Quite an anomaly considering they finished 3rd or 4th.

i think given that tasmania are in the frame we will need to absolutely nail this and next years draft

Not to mention to get some quality rfa/ufa trades across

otheriwse i dont see any finals until the end of the decade

2028 - Dont see us doing **** all next year.

And already hoping Pyke sells the story to pre-list our NGA Kids and hope for Pick 11 in assistance. Also, is it too early to create a Welcome Dougie Cochrane (Pick 1, 2026 National Draft)?

I'm pretty excited about next year, we're going to find out a lot more about our list...particularly the kids.

Anyway, here's who I'm excited to see next year;

Waterman - Hoping to see him back to his best and injury free. What a massive leg-up that would be for us

Hewett - Will we see him take that next step forward? I'd like to see him cleaner in the stoppages, he has the burst but often fumbles or overruns the ball. If he can tidy that up he will be a weapon for us. We saw it in glimpses in his first year.

Brockman - A make or break year for him. I liked the look of him through the midfield and I hope we persist with that. He's got that Shai Bolton about him.

Long - Ma boy Noah. Love this kid. I'll give him a pass this year off the back of a serious knee injury. I'd like to see him bulk up a little and tried in the midfield, has super clean and creative hands and could be an effective in and under mid with some more size added. Contract year, nothing to lose seeing what he's got. Really want to see him succeed.

Archer - Like everyone else on this board, I want to see him rucking next year. He does a few impressive things every game, but he's raw so he fades in and out. Just play him, he will build consistency. No more B Will, team him up with Flynn.

Maric - Took a huge step forwards in the back end of the year, he's got game breaking kicking skills. Do we find out where his best position is? Wing? Attacking defender? I want to see him lock down a spot.

Bo Allan - Possibly the player I'm most excited to see iin 2026. He needs to play in the midfield, and I think that's where we'll see him. Very bullish on Bo, I think he'll be fine.

Gross - Ideally needs to build though the WAFL and there's absolutely nothing wrong with that despite what some here think. He's raw, needs to build size and a tank. I expect to see big steps forward towards cracking the 22 permanently next year, and he'll dominate the WAFL

J Will - I love this kid, really just want to see him succeed as I think he has the tools. Unfortunately that may end up being at another club the way the list is shaping.

Jobe - Need I say more? 40 goals next year.

Hamish Davis - He's just got it. Makes very good decisions with the ball, good things usually happen. Needs to put on some size but I think he makes it on the wing or HFF

Brock - He's going to have to fight his way back into the side, and I think he can. Unless Harry gets injured.

Hutch - Put him back up forward, think he'll be great with his speed and tackling pressure.

Newton - He's probably in direct competition with Long and I will be watching closely to see who comes out on top.

At the very least we will have a strong and competitive WAFL next year due extra rookie spots, influx of high end talent through the draft this year, and another year into our 2024 draftees.

We’ll be bottom four next year guaranteed due to our deficiencies in the midfield and ruck.

Hopefully Hewett, Hall, Grego, Gross take a step forward, we can get a decent mid in 2026 trade period and be heading up the ladder in 2027.

Was looking at our results over recent years, then thought it might be something for this thread. Obviously we have losing streaks against everyone at the moment (well, except St Kilda, hehe), but we also have a few that are starting to get pretty lengthy. Here that is in graph form:

1761667850368.png

So was wondering if we can see us ending any of those bigger spikes next year? I reckon Carlton and Essendon won't be much good (not saying we can win...but hopefully we'll be a shout). Can't see us getting anywhere near the others.

Also, what's not on here is just how bad we've been against Sydney for nearly twenty years at this point. Since 2007, we've won just 3, yes, 3 games against the swans. That's 3 wins and 17 (!) losses. Yes, we suck at the SCG, but just 5 of those Ls were there - that list also include 5 losses at Subi and 3 at Optus. Gee it'd be nice to beat them. Won't happen though. Also we've avoided the SCG the last two years, so good chance we'll end up there this year, which would be the first time since...that...game...

On the surface 2025 seemed to be the bottom with 1 win.
Personally I think it was a better year than both 2023-24.
Missing Yeo, Sheed all year and missing big chunks from Waterman, McGovern, Allen.
FF, CHF, Centre and CHB out for most of the season was always going to be tough add to that the furore around Allen.
We got games into a lot of the young guys that will likely benefit the team for 2026 and not a single 100 point loss!

Was looking at our results over recent years, then thought it might be something for this thread. Obviously we have losing streaks against everyone at the moment (well, except St Kilda, hehe), but we also have a few that are starting to get pretty lengthy. Here that is in graph form:

View attachment 2466540

So was wondering if we can see us ending any of those bigger spikes next year? I reckon Carlton and Essendon won't be much good (not saying we can win...but hopefully we'll be a shout). Can't see us getting anywhere near the others.

Also, what's not on here is just how bad we've been against Sydney for nearly twenty years at this point. Since 2007, we've won just 3, yes, 3 games against the swans. That's 3 wins and 17 (!) losses. Yes, we suck at the SCG, but just 5 of those Ls were there - that list also include 5 losses at Subi and 3 at Optus. Gee it'd be nice to beat them. Won't happen though. Also we've avoided the SCG the last two years, so good chance we'll end up there this year, which would be the first time since...that...game...
Not to mention they have big Charlie now who loves kicking bags against us.

It’ll be a sweet day when we can break our SCG and GHMBA stadium hoodoos

Not to mention they have big Charlie now who loves kicking bags against us.

The next time either Sydney or Geelong are bottom 10/bottom 4 and we're top 4 will be when we're likely to break the hoodoo. I reckon somewhere around 2030.

I can categorically say the survey results puts to bed shadowy claims on WC boards that we are a miserable bunch of bed wetting kents.

Whohooo, we're now officially back!

Happy Positivity GIF by Mixer

At this point feels like we're more likely to win a flag again before we notch a win at either of those venues. I know there are reasons that teams are bad, but at this point the length of time we've been awful at those two venues (worse than EVERY other team despite a good period of success) suggests there's more than just bad luck involved. FWIW my own personal "conspiracy" theory is that it was a Nisbett thing (ignore trying to win there, because we play them so infrequently) that got out of control, so am slightly hopeful the new regime might less willing to accept the guaranteed L.

Well question is, what is the makeup of this so called finals side we would have? How many do we already have? For me its 3 years away with a bare cupboard. Those id consider best 22 for a future top 8 Eagles team is

FB: Hough, H.Edwards, Ginbey
HB: McCarthy, ???, Starcevich
C: ??? Reid Allan
HF: Hewett, Waterman, Davis
FF: ??? Shanahan ????
R: ??? ??? ???
I/C: Maric, A.Reid, Baker, ???

Feels like thats about it. Need another 3 more drafts for sure + a Chad Warner type free agent win

What I'd give for a repeat of the 2011 season. New draftees Gaff and Darling having an instant impact, breakthrough seasons from slightly older heads like Kennedy, Nic Nat a year off his maiden AA, older players like Nicoski reinventing themselves in new positions after being injury-wrecked, and the premiership guns like Cox, Embley etc gelling with the yoof.

Still my favourite non-premiership year.

What I'd give for a repeat of the 2011 season. New draftees Gaff and Darling having an instant impact, breakthrough seasons from slightly older heads like Kennedy, Nic Nat a year off his maiden AA, older players like Nicoski reinventing themselves in new positions after being injury-wrecked, and the premiership guns like Cox, Embley etc gelling with the yoof.

Still my favourite non-premiership year.
Shuey's breakout year, Scott Selwood suddenly one of the best taggers in the league, EMac's breakout year, Schofield's breakout year. Beau Waters actually stayed on the park. Darren Glass came back from almost a year off and slotted in like nothing changed.

When will we turn it around?