slickrick

Rookie
geelong
With most of Geelongs side made up of youngsters there are only a few blokes that can step up when King hangs up the boots. What are your thoughts? Ling would be right up there.

give it a few years and i reckon ottens will have something
the boys seem like they are in awe of him lots of the time and there is alot of respect there - he also seems like a natural leader.

Captain The Big ugly Red headed hard man of the Middle
VC Scarlo
DVC Josh Hunt/Ottons

The top 2 pick themselves. They would die for the club and nothing would stop them playing for the Blue and White.

THe DVC is a toss Up

worthogs said:
DVC Josh Hunt/Ottons

THe DVC is a toss Up

I'd be surprised if Hunt got selected to the leadership group. Quite frankly, he doesn't come across as a leader at all. I can name at least half a dozen other players who have shown better leadership qualities than Josh to this stage.

slickrick said:
With most of Geelongs side made up of youngsters there are only a few blokes that can step up when King hangs up the boots.
Geelong usually don't wait for the boots to be hung up before they change captains.
When we are looking for the next captain we also need to ask how long will King remain captain? If King is going to be captain for another two seasons after this year, then names such as Callen are not so far fetched as by then he would have been at the club for five years and will have 60+ games to his name. If his footy career does progress that far he would be under consideration for a DVC role.

NineLives said:
If King is going to be captain for another two seasons after this year, then names such as Callen are not so far fetched as by then he would have been at the club for five years and will have 60+ games to his name.

I would think King is going to be around, form permitting, for a while yet. He's only what - 25, 26??? I'd expect him to remain captain for another 4 or 5 years at least.

As for the next captain, Cameron Ling and Matthew Scarlett. Top 2 in the best and fairest the last 2 seasons, and probably our 2 best players. After them, I'd pick Milburn ahead of anyone else.

Cameron Ling would seem like a perfect choice for next captain - I've got the feeling he'd respond well and grow into the role too. Matthew Scarlett would be unlucky, but I don't think too many fullbacks end up as captain - probably VC.

When was the last fullback to captain an afl/vfl side? I don't think there's one at the moment...

This question answers itself. Everyone knows it'll be the Ling-thing.

As for the rest, I have a crazy idea that H will one day be a leader at the GFC . . . [Prepares to cop abuse from all and sundry].

Cameron Ling will make an ideal Captain eventually. Matthew Scarlett would be a good Vice-Captain, in fact should have been promoted to the leadership group this season ahead of Sanderson.

Future leadership canditates would be Jimmy Bartel and James Kelly.

Ablett just looks to have what it takes to be a captain one day. I wouldn't even think about mentioning the word captain to him for another few years...in 3 years, when he's 24 could be about right.
Callan...well he has only played a handful of games, and has a fair bit to prove. Can't make any calls on him yet, although I did say afte his first game, that he will be a legend for us (Might end up in the "most embarrasing calls" thread :)

Linga Ding Ding will be the next captain...I was going to say that he would need to be hit by a truck for this not to happen, but I'm not sure if that would stop him anyway :)

finrod said:
I agree with Ling, but what have Ablett and Callan done that is so special?

Tim Callan exudes leadership potential, both on the field and off it.

Is enormously respected by his peers already.

dharma bum said:
As for the rest, I have a crazy idea that H will one day be a leader at the GFC . . . [Prepares to cop abuse from all and sundry].

Not crazy at all mate.

H has a long history of captaincy at junior levels, including captaining NSW-ACT Rams at one point.

Definite chance.

Ling-Skipper
Corey-Vice
Moons!-DV (Who knows maybe a leadership role would be just the thing to settle his on field antics ;) ) I seriously think though that Moons would make a great captain! He is such a lovely person!

Partridge said:
I would think King is going to be around, form permitting, for a while yet. He's only what - 25, 26??? I'd expect him to remain captain for another 4 or 5 years at least.

As for the next captain, Cameron Ling and Matthew Scarlett. Top 2 in the best and fairest the last 2 seasons, and probably our 2 best players. After them, I'd pick Milburn ahead of anyone else.
You have got King as captain for another five years and then you have Ling and Scarlett as our next captain. By then they will be 30 years old or over. No way will Geelong be selecting a new captain who is 30+.