Prediction Who will be St.Kildas next captain?

Who will Be our next captain?

• Newnes

Votes: 20 12.0%
  • Ross

Votes: 46 27.5%
  • Armo

Votes: 3 1.8%
  • Billings

Votes: 3 1.8%
  • Roberton

Votes: 6 3.6%
  • Bruce

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Coffield

Votes: 4 2.4%
  • Clarke

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Dunstan

Votes: 67 40.1%
  • McCartin

Votes: 7 4.2%
  • Membrey

Votes: 1 0.6%
  • Carlisle

Votes: 10 6.0%

thats a perception thing ... one person has a negative interaction with another person then they base their opinion on that persons character on that one interaction they then spread this opinion on a forum and over time it becomes a "popular opinion" then over time a "known fact"...
from my experiance most players have a level of floggness to them, its all part of the territory of being a profesional sportsman to an extent you have to be confident in your own ability and have that desire to be better than everyone else to be successful, that said most players are genuinely nice people although some are more cautious than others to show that much to people they dont know..
ive know of a current listed player who in my last meeting with him came accross as a complete flog the way he interacted with the fans , this said player is pretty well known to be really good with the fans but on this day he was moody and arrogant. most likely he was just having a bad day but to the people who have only that interaction to base their opinion on they would say he is a flog....

funny enough one of the nicest most genuine and engaging players i have ever met is the player i think gets labled a flog more than any other in the history of the AFL.. Adam Goodes ive met the bloke twice and he was a fantastic fella..

Goodsey an unbelievable footballer and an even better bloke. One of the worst days of my footballing life was hearing our fans boo a champion player and somebody who was courageous enough to stand up to racism in sport.
Another sportsman who gets grief from Aussies is Kevin Pietersen. I’ve been lucky enough to spend a couple of evenings with KP and a better bloke im yet to meet.
Just goes to show that you can’t really judge someone until you’ve met them.

Even assuming we get Sloane, I want someone who's a "homegrown" Saint to captain the club. By the time Gears' stint is up I'm hopeful we've got a couple of young guys who have grown with the team who would be able to put their hands up. Not a guy (as good as he may be) who is joining us for his last couple of years. Wouldn't say much about our leadership development.

The story would be so good. Star boyhood Saints fan comes home to lead a promising team in its rise up the ladder. His face would be everywhere. Every bit of St Kilda media would feature him.

Might be good for the quieter lads to take some spotlight off them.

Sloane is highly respected around the league so it wouldn’t be like we are bringing a Figjam in to skipper.

The story would be so good. Star boyhood Saints fan comes home to lead a promising team in its rise up the ladder. His face would be everywhere. Every bit of St Kilda media would feature him.

Might be good for the quieter lads to take some spotlight off them.

Sloane is highly respected around the league so it wouldn’t be like we are bringing a Figjam in to skipper.

Nothing against Sloane, (would certainly be happy to get him) and sure it's got a bit of a romantic feel to it, but I think it's a bit of a slap in the face to our players to bring in someone from another club and immediately make him captain.

I want someone who has grown with the club during its rebuild stage and I don't think we'll have a problem with candidates judging by the calibre of a few of our young men.

In Carlton's case, with Judd, I don't believe there was anyone else coming through at the time, but I think we'll have a few to choose from by the time Geary is done.

Goodsey an unbelievable footballer and an even better bloke. One of the worst days of my footballing life was hearing our fans boo a champion player and somebody who was courageous enough to stand up to racism in sport.
Another sportsman who gets grief from Aussies is Kevin Pietersen. I’ve been lucky enough to spend a couple of evenings with KP and a better bloke im yet to meet.
Just goes to show that you can’t really judge someone until you’ve met them.

Aussies seem to like KP 'cos he takes the piss out of us and himself
Aussies don't seem to like Goodes 'cos he comes across as a sanctimonious flog

That’s just not true. We have had our fair share of huge egos over the years but Seb couldn’t be any more down to earth.
You won’t see a harder worker or a better young role model at our club.

Awesome!! then we can put that negative speculation to rest and put Another tick in the box for Seb!

I’ve always been of the opinion that Jack Newnes would be a shoe in,
but going by the new body shape and expected break out season of Jack Billings, I think he could be the one.
The kids not a kid anymore. :)

I’ve always been of the opinion that Jack Newnes would be a shoe in,
but going by the new body shape and expected break out season of Jack Billings, I think he could be the one.
The kids not a kid anymore. :)
Newnes has hit his ceiling tough gop thats it.

Aussies seem to like KP 'cos he takes the piss out of us and himself
Aussies don't seem to like Goodes 'cos he comes across as a sanctimonious flog

I disagree with the goodes comment ... people don’t like him because he holds a mirror to white Australia that makes people feel uncomfortable, Goodes copped it because he was not backwards in coming forward about what was wrong in society .. interestingly enough I had this conversation a while back with David Wirrpanda when the booing saga was at its peak he said to me at the time that he felt in order to be an accepted aboriginal player in the eyes of society you need to be the "happy black fella" you gotta smile and nod be thankful of the opportunity and then everyone is happy but with goodes he didn’t want to play that game and he stood up for himself and his brothers and said no it’s not good enough to turn a blind eye to the inequality to his people... Goodes stand against the Collingwood girl is every bit as powerful message as Nicky’s jumper lift and the fact it was a younger girl doing the taunts made it all the more important but again we don’t like that mirror being held up to ourselves so when we are made to feel uncomfortable we lash out and make a villain out of the person making us uncomfortable ... then the pack mentality kicks in so when a hawthorn crowd upset with an incident DURING the game start booing goodes it creates a snowball effect to the point where the WCE supporters on no provocation boo Goodes from warm up to siren

i know this is well off topic so sorry for that :)

I disagree with the goodes comment ... people don’t like him because he holds a mirror to white Australia that makes people feel uncomfortable, Goodes copped it because he was not backwards in coming forward about what was wrong in society .. interestingly enough I had this conversation a while back with David Wirrpanda when the booing saga was at its peak he said to me at the time that he felt in order to be an accepted aboriginal player in the eyes of society you need to be the "happy black fella" you gotta smile and nod be thankful of the opportunity and then everyone is happy but with goodes he didn’t want to play that game and he stood up for himself and his brothers and said no it’s not good enough to turn a blind eye to the inequality to his people... Goodes stand against the Collingwood girl is every bit as powerful message as Nicky’s jumper lift and the fact it was a younger girl doing the taunts made it all the more important but again we don’t like that mirror being held up to ourselves so when we are made to feel uncomfortable we lash out and make a villain out of the person making us uncomfortable ... then the pack mentality kicks in so when a hawthorn crowd upset with an incident DURING the game start booing goodes it creates a snowball effect to the point where the WCE supporters on no provocation boo Goodes from warm up to siren

i know this is well off topic so sorry for that :)
I tend to agree on why people started booing him but I don't think you can generalise safely as to why all people were doing it.

I do think holding a mirror up to people never works. It's the whole white guilt thing. It will never results in progress to where everyone can move forward together and improve the wrongs of yesterday or even today. It just creates more division.

Reckon Lukey-D is the most likely. Was always very highly regarded for his leadership in the juniors and of course captained SA to their first win at the Champs in from memory quite a few years. Is probably the right age, being born in 1995, like so many on our list and the one who probably leads that bunch and the younger group below.

Saw great on-field leading-by-his-actions in our game against Brisbane early last season, when Brisbane kicked a bunch of goals in a row and were getting right back into the game. I thought Luke was the one who just cracked in super-hard for us during that part of the game, to keep us in the contest and inspire his teammates to get back into it. It was Lenny Hayes type stuff the way he was cracking in.

Seb or Newnes the others I considered. Steele perhaps another.

I reckon Newness just has the right amount of hard %$#@, no nonsense, but still one of the boys thing. Newnes will look you in the eye and not break gaze no matter who he's meeting. Has a good ability to talk to anyone including media etc too. Luke's the kind of guy that would make jokes at training and **** around with the lads I reckon. Might mature into the role though.

I tend to agree on why people started booing him but I don't think you can generalise safely as to why all people were doing it.

I do think holding a mirror up to people never works. It's the whole white guilt thing. It will never results in progress to where everyone can move forward together and improve the wrongs of yesterday or even today. It just creates more division.

If you were at work and crowds harassed you on issues you find upsetting you'd probably fight back too. Standing up for yourself is sanctimonious in Australia apparently. I remember being in Thailand when I was about 20 and getting picked on by some English guys who were making fun of me being an Aussie, being a pretty boy with long hair, calling me a a girl and gay and just trying to get under my skin. I'm not violent but the ring leader I ended up wrestling because it just built up over days until it was doing my head in. I was on the verge of punching the crap out of him. That wasn't even that bad compared to what Goodes has probably copped in his lifetime that actually has some real resonant issues involved. Aboriginals probably can't move forward until people do move forward to a point where they feel part of society. Taking abuse and shutting up doesn't do anything but repress the rage.

thats a perception thing ... one person has a negative interaction with another person then they base their opinion on that persons character on that one interaction they then spread this opinion on a forum and over time it becomes a "popular opinion" then over time a "known fact"...
from my experiance most players have a level of floggness to them, its all part of the territory of being a profesional sportsman to an extent you have to be confident in your own ability and have that desire to be better than everyone else to be successful, that said most players are genuinely nice people although some are more cautious than others to show that much to people they dont know..
ive know of a current listed player who in my last meeting with him came accross as a complete flog the way he interacted with the fans , this said player is pretty well known to be really good with the fans but on this day he was moody and arrogant. most likely he was just having a bad day but to the people who have only that interaction to base their opinion on they would say he is a flog....

funny enough one of the nicest most genuine and engaging players i have ever met is the player i think gets labled a flog more than any other in the history of the AFL.. Adam Goodes ive met the bloke twice and he was a fantastic fella..
Well said. Everyone has a bad day now and again. I was once had a conversation with someone who had worked at the club , and I told him who I thought was the biggest flog at St.Kilda , and who I thought would be the nicest bloke. He said I had the names right , but the wrong way around. (Apologies to Jason Gram who I thought was the flog). Better not to guess.

If you were at work and crowds harassed you on issues you find upsetting you'd probably fight back too. Standing up for yourself is sanctimonious in Australia apparently. I remember being in Thailand when I was about 20 and getting picked on by some English guys who were making fun of me being an Aussie, being a pretty boy with long hair, calling me a a girl and gay and just trying to get under my skin. I'm not violent but the ring leader I ended up wrestling because it just built up over days until it was doing my head in. I was on the verge of punching the crap out of him. That wasn't even that bad compared to what Goodes has probably copped in his lifetime that actually has some real resonant issues involved. Aboriginals probably can't move forward until people do move forward to a point where they feel part of society. Taking abuse and shutting up doesn't do anything but repress the rage.
i was reading the otherday on facebook (i know the breeding ground/ soapbox for flogs to be floggish) a person post a message questioning "how is it ok for Goodes to throw a pretend spear to the crowd but throwing a banana at Betts is racist" its mentality like that (and i get its most likely a troll to get a reaction) that is the reason that we do need to have that mirror turned on ourselves... i think for the most part most people think they are not racist and for the most part they are right but it does rear its head to the best of us recognising when it rears its head and accepting that "hang on thats not right" is how we get closer to eradicating it...

so your example here is something that had no resolution and instead had the situation amplified to the point of violence. in fact the only thing that happened here is you separated, which isnt an option, unless we are talking about a minority becoming "out of sight out of mind" which is the last thing we want

i'd argue thats what has happened to goodes due to the escalating nature of the issue. there was no resolution. there was no highlighting of the issues. there was no improvement. instead goodes was eventually whisked away out of the game without the recognition he deserved and now he's barely in the media anymore and we've lost the opportunity for a respected member of the game who would have had the ability to cut through a number of different demographics to enforce change

in other words we all lost but more importantly improving the plight of indigineous people took a hit

so basically the only resolution that occurred in the goodes situation is like always "out of sight out of mind". at the time i noticed that Goodes was heavily influenced by the documentary Utopia. if you havent already watched it, i would recommend it. having said that i disagree with the approach it used to highlight these issues. its extremely combative and i know on the WA issues it tried to highlight it was extremely hypocritical given one of the elders they used to commentate on the issue

the approach needs to be more inclusive and promoting individual ownership of the issue across all Australians

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-01-16/ross-the-boss-top-saint-in-no-hurry

Ross the boss? Top Saint in no hurry

3-4 minutes
530398-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

St Kilda's Seb Ross emerged as a genuine star last season

ST KILDA'S reigning club champion Seb Ross remains uncomfortable with his new status as arguably the Saints' best footballer – and a possible future captain.

The 24-year-old made the transition from good player to star last year, averaging almost 30 disposals and dropping below 20 just once in a consistent campaign.

Ross' rise coincided with triple best and fairest winner Jack Steven, typically the first man tagged at St Kilda, struggling on multiple occasions to shake the extra attention.

So, is that attention headed his way more often in 2018?

"I haven't really thought about that, to be honest," Ross told reporters.

"Jack Steven's still won three best and fairests in four years, so the opposition generally tend to target him.

"He's dealt with it for three or four years now (and) it's something he works really closely on with (assistant coach) Adam Kingsley.

"As a group, we can probably still get better with helping him out, because he's our best player and we want him playing well."

Ross also deflected a question about where he wants to improve, suggesting Jack Billings, Jade Gresham, Jack Steele, Blake Acres, Luke Dunstan and top-10 picks Hunter Clark and Nick Coffield would help determine his form.

Pushed further, he said he wanted to work on becoming more of a burst player away from stoppages – rather than just a handball-first footballer – and kicking more goals.

As for the captaincy, Ross is happy to bide his time behind veteran defender Jarryn Geary, who is likely to be in charge for the second straight season.

"Gears did it for the first year last year and did a great job. I'd expect him to probably do it again," he said.

"We haven't had those meetings yet, but the way he leads and prepares sets a great example for the younger guys and he's got great relationships with everyone.

"If I get voted into a role like that by the boys, obviously I'd be very humbled and probably willing to take it on board, but I won't think about it until the time comes."

Ross was part of an exclusive group of Saints who headed to Darwin for a camp in late November designed to analyse their leadership skills and agree upon pre-season standards.

St Kilda lost significant experience in the past two off-seasons, with Sam Fisher retiring at the end of 2016 and Nick Riewoldt, Leigh Montagna and Sean Dempster following suit last year.

"Those guys stepped out of the leadership group last year and really let us younger guys flourish in that role, and we were still able to pick their brains," Ross said.

"They were still able to add a lot of experience to the leadership group, so having those guys around last year was great.

"I remember when I first got to the club, having guys like Stephen Milne and Lenny Hayes, and you're thinking, 'What's the club going to be like when these guys leave?'.

"But you rock in day one, there are fresh faces, the younger guys are excited and it's sort of just time to move on."

so your example here is something that had no resolution and instead had the situation amplified to the point of violence. in fact the only thing that happened here is you separated, which isnt an option, unless we are talking about a minority becoming "out of sight out of mind" which is the last thing we want

i'd argue thats what has happened to goodes due to the escalating nature of the issue. there was no resolution. there was no highlighting of the issues. there was no improvement. instead goodes was eventually whisked away out of the game without the recognition he deserved and now he's barely in the media anymore and we've lost the opportunity for a respected member of the game who would have had the ability to cut through a number of different demographics to enforce change

in other words we all lost but more importantly improving the plight of indigineous people took a hit

so basically the only resolution that occurred in the goodes situation is like always "out of sight out of mind". at the time i noticed that Goodes was heavily influenced by the documentary Utopia. if you havent already watched it, i would recommend it. having said that i disagree with the approach it used to highlight these issues. its extremely combative and i know on the WA issues it tried to highlight it was extremely hypocritical given one of the elders they used to commentate on the issue

the approach needs to be more inclusive and promoting individual ownership of the issue across all Australians

I reckon it won't resolve until it's forced to a head. The Australia day debate has kept coming up and is a big issue for a lot of indigenous Aussies but is something most white Australians won't even enter into their debate about. The african american have only got the limited respect they have by fighting for it and pushing it forward. If it's not resolved out will end up with violence IMO. Winmar and Goodes are at least put their heads on the line with out having to take it to the next level.

i think the answer in is in focussing on the next generation and setting that up right with the creation of becoming a republic

the standard of living should be the big focus

Talking about racism, I've faced a lot. I'm not Australian, I'm Sri Lankan. I'm not a refugee, I moved to Australia legally. Yet I would be called an "boat guy" sometimes "Muslim/isis" despite being Christan/hindu. Whenever I tried out for sports like Footy, Soccer others around me would tell me to go play cricket. I mean I do play cricket but like consistently telling me that I'm only born to play cricket not other sports really irritated me and bothered me. From year 7 - 10, I made the footy team, cricket team, soccer team, basketball team (despite being 5'7) and like other teams. What I'm trying to say is that racism can motivate someone or kill someone but it's not encouraged or supported.

Funny story ( this guy mocked me for being a saints supporter, and nicknamed me 'Curry' this was during Year 9 footy match in my school. I kicked 5 goals on him, got a hanger as well and bragged about taking his gf. And I told him "your lucky, I'm not a Lenny Hayes fans otherwise I would've broken your back with my tackles"

Sorry for the long rant/paragraph.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I actually like Gears as a as a team captain, he has all the attributes - but one thing he doesn't have, and probably will never have, is star power. So I think eventually we'll need a captain who has all of those attributes, plus is king of the kids like Riewoldt was - or we'll need to have two captains; a team captain for the players and a club captain for the fans. If that were the case I would imagine Paddy might be a good club captain.

Talking about racism, I've faced a lot. I'm not Australian, I'm Sri Lankan. I'm not a refugee, I moved to Australia legally. Yet I would be called an "boat guy" sometimes "Muslim/isis" despite being Christan/hindu. Whenever I tried out for sports like Footy, Soccer others around me would tell me to go play cricket. I mean I do play cricket but like consistently telling me that I'm only born to play cricket not other sports really irritated me and bothered me. From year 7 - 10, I made the footy team, cricket team, soccer team, basketball team (despite being 5'7) and like other teams. What I'm trying to say is that racism can motivate someone or kill someone but it's not encouraged or supported.

Funny story ( this guy mocked me for being a saints supporter, and nicknamed me 'Curry' this was during Year 9 footy match in my school. I kicked 5 goals on him, got a hanger as well and bragged about taking his gf. And I told him "your lucky, I'm not a Lenny Hayes fans otherwise I would've broken your back with my tackles"

Sorry for the long rant/paragraph.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
been there as well Sab22 being of indian decent and going to school in the late 80's early 90's i know exactly what you are saying except i got the Apu jokes and the wheres your taxi jibes