Who's heading to a match this weekend?!

• Thread starter Thread starter Philhawk

Whether it be the Storm match on Friday, the Titans match up in Queensland or even another game during this weekend, who'll be heading out to watch a match this weekend?

After making plans to head down to Melbourne, unfortunately I wont be able to go. But still, I should be heading to the Roosters vs Souths grudge match on Monday which should still be a great spectacle!

Go Kidwell! Go Storm!

It's great that the NRL is back. :)

Bulldogs V Newcastle in Newcastle on sunday:thumbsu:

Thinking about skipping Uni for the South's game on monday night... Footy or Uni mmmmm:confused:

If my son's Storm membership comes through in time, we'll go.
I'll be at the Graveyard on fri night standing on the hill enjoying a few cold ones.
My membership hasn't come through yet but I was assured by the membership dept on Friday that it was in the post and would be here by tomorrow.

Good news.

I'll be the bloke with the blond haired 10 year old then. :)

I'm off to Manly on saturday to watch the green machine embarass the Sea Eagles.

Any of you Storm supporters coming to Canberra next week by any chance? Technically it is kind of a local derby.

I'm off to Manly on saturday to watch the green machine embarass the Sea Eagles.

Any of you Storm supporters coming to Canberra next week by any chance? Technically it is kind of a local derby.
My interstate trip this year is the Cowboys game at Dairy Farmers.
Might get to Sydney to see another game though.

I love a bit of history and I'll be making my way to the Titans match.

I should warn, I attended both PSG's and Gateshead Thunder's SL debuts...hopefully the GC breaks my trend of killing clubs!

I'll be there.

I was a bit slack with renewing my membership this year so I have to collect it before the game.
Apparently the Storm have been a bit poor on getting the memberships out to their members. Don't ask Tugga about the memberships! :D

Benji Marshall -v- Greg Inglis!!!! I'm excited.

I'm off to Newtown vs St George-Illawarra in the NSW Premier (aka VFL) at 4:30pm tomorrow.

I saw hope it wasn't as hot as it was tonight at the Swans trial at Homebush. :eek: :thumbsd:

JF

Great stuff! Let us know the result.:thumbsu:

It was an incredible 32 all draw mate. Soward put through a kick after the siren to tie things up. The thing is, Newtown were losing 28-12 midway through the 2nd half. :eek: :confused:

I'll watch rugby league. I still hate the muppets who run the NRL. But I have nothing against the code of rugby league as a whole these days. I can support the local community I live in (& love) by getting behind the Jets, where NONE of my money goes to Murdoch or News Limited.

JF
Ps:- LF, my mates in the Chook Pen (also Jets fans who don't even wear Chooks stuff to Henson any more:cool:) are mega bummed after being told their game away to Canberra is on a Monday night. Now none of them can go at all. The NRL probably couldn't care less about people like this, who want to actively support their teams around the place but aren't told when their games will be until 4 weeks in advance. :thumbsd:

It was an incredible 32 all draw mate. Soward put through a kick after the siren to tie things up. The thing is, Newtown were losing 28-12 midway through the 2nd half. :eek: :confused:

I'll watch rugby league. I still hate the muppets who run the NRL. But I have nothing against the code of rugby league as a whole these days. I can support the local community I live in (& love) by getting behind the Jets, where NONE of my money goes to Murdoch or News Limited.

JF
Ps:- LF, my mates in the Chook Pen (also Jets fans who don't even wear Chooks stuff to Henson any more:cool:) are mega bummed after being told their game away to Canberra is on a Monday night. Now none of them can go at all. The NRL probably couldn't care less about people like this, who want to actively support their teams around the place but aren't told when their games will be until 4 weeks in advance. :thumbsd:

Sounds like it was a great game:thumbsu:

I still can't believe the NRL changed the draw because one team (Rabbitohs) had a cry. Deadset idiots!

I got a ticket come my way today for the Roosters v Souths game, so I went out to the SFS tonight.

I think the NRL's on a winner with Monday night games. The timeslot's mainly done for TV, and I'm sure it would have done well on Fox Sports. But to get a crowd of nearly 25,000 on a wet night between two teams who were nowhere near the finals last year and are unlikely to get anywhere near the finals this year, is a sensational achievement.
Can't say I was particularly impressed with the game. The conditions certainly didn't help, but it turned into a scrap between two struggling teams and I thought it never reached any great heights. Souths managed to eke out 3 tries without ever looking convincing, while the Roosters were very ordinary.
I was near the tunnel on the western side, and plenty of fans had gone before the final siren - and quite a few of the Roosters fans that remained gave their team a serve as they went off. Not surprising after a performance like that - it doesn't get much more humiliating than losing to Souths.

I don't watch that much rugby league, mainly because the games are on at the same time as AFL games. But Monday nights will make it easier to catch some action, so because of that I'm all in favour of it. And if crowds like tonight continue to come, Monday nights will be here to stay.

I don't really understand people who boo or bag their own team. It seems to happen at every Victorian AFL game I've been to (not that many) and a few sydney NRL games.

I understand that they're supposed to be being passionate and whatever, but having a go at your own team, especially when they've just copped a flogging, is a low act. Its something I can't imagine someone who actually likes their team would ever do.
I've never seen it happen with the Raiders, but I have with the Brumbies, so I suspect maybe those kind of fans are mostly fairweather ********s who only get 'passionate' about a team they expect to win.

woops, got a bit ranty and off topic there

I got a ticket come my way today for the Roosters v Souths game, so I went out to the SFS tonight.
I don't watch that much rugby league, mainly because the games are on at the same time as AFL games. But Monday nights will make it easier to catch some action, so because of that I'm all in favour of it. And if crowds like tonight continue to come, Monday nights will be here to stay.

Monday football is all & well, but I still think that they should have some sort of limit distance-wise so that the fans who go each week are not penalised. Maybe make the Monday-night clash between Sydney clubs only or something?

As said before, my Roosters mates are spewing that they have had to cancel accommodation etc etc for a weekend in Canberra because the game was changed to a Monday night.

I know they had a similar scenario in the German Bundesliga with the Sunday night TV game. Fans would be travelling up to 1000 km on a Sunday night & then be expected to front for work the next day. Lots of people ended up just not going at all, which I guess will be the same scenario with the NRL Monday night games.

It is great that they are giving Fox viewers something to watch on a Monday night. But they should NEVER forget the people who follow their teams around the place. TV viewers & the advertising revenue is important, but to be the fans who go week-in week-out are the lifeblood of the game, regardless of the code you watch.

If they put the Swans & AFL on a Monday night, I'd be spitting chips to be honest. I hate the Friday night finals we play as it is. Luckily this season I have taken EVERY Friday in September off work so that I don't have any unwanted logistical stress.

JF

I don't really understand people who boo or bag their own team. It seems to happen at every Victorian AFL game I've been to (not that many) and a few sydney NRL games.

I understand that they're supposed to be being passionate and whatever, but having a go at your own team, especially when they've just copped a flogging, is a low act. Its something I can't imagine someone who actually likes their team would ever do.
I've never seen it happen with the Raiders, but I have with the Brumbies, so I suspect maybe those kind of fans are mostly fairweather ********s who only get 'passionate' about a team they expect to win.

So what do you think is worse? Shrugging your shoulders & getting up and passively leaving when your team is getting beaten. And not turning up the next week. :o

Or what the white collar executive types do at Swans games, clap them off when they have played atrociously. :eek: :confused:

People are club members. They invest a lot of time & energy into their teams. I know some of those Roosters fans. They see the derby with Souths as one of the 'must win' matches of the season. They will be copping **** for weeks over this result.

As far as I'm concerned people are well within their rights to have a go at their team when they feel they have been let down. As it shows that you are there for the long hall & actually give too hoots. Which in a fickle surface-level place like Sydney is quite unusual. :o

JF