Who's the better acquisition, McLean or Ball?

I'm stoked we sacked Brock McClanger.
Looks like our kicking efficiency % will increase significantly next year.
I didn't think it was possible; but your post just get dumber and dumber.

You never sacked McLean - you offered him a contract in which HE walked out on.

Ball is better value at pick 30, however Mclean will be more valuable to Carlton. He recently won the 3k time trial, can't imagine ball doing that

As nice as that sounds, you can't be certain that it will actually occur.

It's like me saying that Collingwood have great facilities, so Luke Ball wil be 100% within a matter of weeks and back to his best.

It all sounds great, but will the actuality match the desire?

Collingwood no longer have the best facilities, there advantage in that area will become nonexitistant as other teams catch up....or in Carlton case overtake

Carlton have decent facilities and staff to take care of Brock, we will have him fitter than he's ever been.
Yes......we've all seen how Carlton "takes care" of their new players now.

Collingwood no longer have the best facilities, there advantage in that area will become nonexitistant as other teams catch up....or in Carlton case overtake
The quality of a club's facilities matter a lot less than the willingness of said club's players to utilise them. I'd prefer to have facilities which are 1% behind what Carlton will have, and players using them who are professional in their approach and preparation for the season.

Still have the best facilities in the business.

Rival clubs may be "catching up", however, we will always continue to do things better, improve and remain the benchmark.

Carlton would have drafted Mclean if both were available at pick 11 or 12.

Mclean is younger, fitter and a better leader than Ball.

St Kilda threw Ball out for Ray and Lovett.

The fact Ball slid to pick 30 is a testament to the former Saint's character.

OT, Collingwood would have been wiser to chase a player like Lovett than another one paced midfielder with average skills.

And The General scores again

McLean by a long way.
Balls pathetic sook ups about not being in the saints 1st 22 for most of last year were indicative of his lack of application.
When Lyon gave the Saint boys an ultimatum the nite after the Grandfinal and stated if you dont want to put in the hard yards at the saints, let him know and he will move you on, I knew Ball would be all over that option. Obviously realising an easier option would be hanging out with a bunch of flog knobblers at Lexus.
Brock has been working his coight off with the Blues and its really paying off as he is in the best shape of his carreer.
He knew if he stayed with the Range Rover driving, Falls Creek Chalet owning, chardonnay drinking, tea sipping MCC members he would never get the best out of his footy.:D

I completely agree, he is much more at home with the hard drinking culture of the Carlton Football Club :thumbsu:
Just give him the keg now!!

McLean is utter arse piss.

I motion anyone who has watched more than 20 minutes of his footage to disagree.

Ball simply because he knows how to win and has cleaner disposal.
McLean hasnt been in a winning system
You think he will be at Carlton?

Melbourne will win about 4 games all year so are you happy for the coming season Melbourne supporters?

Yes. I particularly look forward to the Queen's Birthday round.

McLean is utter arse piss.

I motion anyone who has watched more than 20 minutes of his footage to disagree.

Charming assessment.

I'd say that you are probably going a touch overboard, but Brock is a limited player, in that his skills are quite poor, he's slow and he has no versatility.

Having said that, he can do a good job on the inside which will give the Carlton midfield something they lacked last season.

I'm excited about the coming season, perhaps more so than any other season I can remember.

We, as Melbourne fans, have the ability to watch our young list grow together, before they set about dominating the competition in the next few years.

Collingwood fans, on the other hand, have another year of watching their side make up the numbers in a finals series.