Why do you all hate pev?

koc#41

May 1, 2006
Why is everyone saying pev should be dropped, and that his form is ordinary, and that this year should be his last at essendon?

He has been farily good for us this season i think, Statistically it has been his best, and in the past month i think he has been fantastic in the middle of the ground, with his hardness and winning clearances...his run has also been great.

2006 16games, 11.2kicks, 8.6h/b, 19.8disp
2005 21 10.4 8.8 19.2
2004 24 10.0 7.9 17.9
2003 23 8.0 8.8 16.8
2002 21 9.1 10.2 19.4
2001 9 10.4 7.0 17.4

It is not that we hate Pev. To make an honest judgement he has been great in the last 6 weeks but he was average last year and early this year. Maybe we all see younger options filling his place.

fair point, but at this stage there isn't anyone screaming out to take his spot, at the minute its potential.

Stanton has got his spot in there, Dyson isnt consistent enough, Winderlich looked good before his injury and maybe he was the player who could have taken pev's spot.
But at the minute i cant see anyone who has shown consistent enough form in either the VFL or in their AFL time.

Getting lots of disposals is one thing. Being damaging with them is another.

I don't think Pev's disposal is as effective as it should/could be.

Sheedy seems to be trying to make him into a mid-fielder whereas I would like to see him go back to the tagging role.

The bottom line is for some one young to come in some one has to go out.
Most prolly think that it's best to leave out an older player, for a short term loss, for the long term gain.

Pevs form has been really good last 2 months, but he did have a very ordinary start to the year and last year, as was already mentioned

Pev is one of the hardest players in the AFL in terms of putting his body on the line and winning the hard ball. Unfortunately kicking is not one of his strengths. What we don't need is Pev having that final kick to find a target inside 50, too often the kick is either to low or to high. Never to the advantage of the leading forward. Gets a bit frustrating after a while.............
:mad:

I don't hate Pev. I don't hate any player who has worked their butt off on the rookie list to make it to the senior list. ie. Lovett, Lovett Murray, M. Johnson, Rioli, Johns and Pev. They cost us hardly anything and are or will become good servants of the club. What I don't like is wasting top 5 draft picks on players who are supposed to be good but just to live up to the investment that EFC puts into them, i.e Bolton, McAllister, Heffernan.

Give Pev a break, he'll never be a superstar, but at least he works hard, and puts that ugly head over the ball, which is more than I can say for a lot of other players- i.e Nathan Buckley

Merv Neagle said:
Pevs form has been really good last 2 months, but he did have a very ordinary start to the year and last year, as was already mentioned
He had shin splints at the start of the year, and like JJ, was playing injured. funny how we give JJ slack for being underdone, but not the same for Peverill.

I have a beef with this young player crap. If they are good enough, won't they force him out if he is so bad as everyone says?

Hmmm - perhaps some on here put too much faith on that dirty word potential.

Winderdud and Dyson seem to be prime examples.

Pevers-Legend said:
He had shin splints at the start of the year, and like JJ, was playing injured. funny how we give JJ slack for being underdone, but not the same for Peverill.

I have a beef with this young player crap. If they are good enough, won't they force him out if he is so bad as everyone says?

Hmmm - perhaps some on here put too much faith on that dirty word potential.

Winderdud and Dyson seem to be prime examples.

Pev is that you mate?
:D:D

koc#41 said:
thankgod someone else said it....POTENTIAL is nothin

Potential is something, as with out it you won't get anywhere.
Converting that potential into actual form is another thing and what sorts out the good from the average

Don't hate him, but I don't see him as much more than being a good depth player in a team that's hoping to climb the ladder again. If he was still tagging to the same effectiveness he was in his early seasons things might be a little different but he seems to play as an unaccountable outside receiver who lacks for outright pace and skill. His excellent efforts in the past few weeks have probably saved his career after a couple of seasons of not much.

I like Pev....Ill go on the record as saying that I dont think anyone dislikes him...nevertheless, I think theres a spot on the team for him for another year at least whilst we're trying to find the right formula. His output is still there and Id rather have an avgerage experienced player keep possession for any length of time than to see the opposition use theirs against us.
I would imagine this time next year, as the kids mature...my opinion will change, but right now...I agree that he has a spot in 07

I don't believe you can play Heffernan, Jason Johnson, Jobe Watson, Pev and Lonergan (when he develops) in the same side.

For me, Pev offers the least of that lot, he's played four really good games in the last six weeks but his kicking skills have still been poor and his decision making isn't great either. The amount of times he fails to handball to the bloke running past really frustrates me.

I don't hate Pev, infact I have a great deal of respect for him. But I do think he's a limited footballer and in a year where we need to clear some players in order to maximise our picks in a strong draft, Pev is one we should strongly look at moving on.

Pev's greatest ability was always shutting blokes down, he can't or doesn't do that anymore.

Longy413 said:
I don't believe you can play Heffernan, Jason Johnson, Jobe Watson, Pev and Lonergan (when he develops) in the same side.

For me, Pev offers the least of that lot, he's played four really good games in the last six weeks but his kicking skills have still been poor and his decision making isn't great either. The amount of times he fails to handball to the bloke running past really frustrates me.

I don't hate Pev, infact I have a great deal of respect for him. But I do think he's a limited footballer and in a year where we need to clear some players in order to maximise our picks in a strong draft, Pev is one we should strongly look at moving on.

Pev's greatest ability was always shutting blokes down, he can't or doesn't do that anymore.

You'd have to agree that there are some who are more deserving to be delisted.

Longy413 said:
Absolutely, and hopefully they'll go too.

I do see where you;re coming from though...with so many draft picks this season...as much as Id hate to see him go...you know the rest ;)

Longy413 said:
Putting Lonergan in that list is silly. He is a long way off - we are talking a bout next year are we not? JJ has injury concerns, Heff has done the opposite of Pev - started well and faded - what will he do next season.

And Jobe is a totally different player to the rest - yes he lacks pace, but he has what noen of the others have - a highly intelligent football brain.

When you consider that if JJ were to struggle next year, who would do the bullocking work? Not MJ as he doesn;t or can't play long enough on the ball, hird, will play more forward, Heff has always been a good tackler, perhaps he could do the role, perhaps Pev could. Wouldn't put all my eggs in one basket though.

My beef is give a player like winderlich two years on potential only (has had no results apart from a few serviceable games) and dump someone who (yes can have poor disposal and can lack vision) but will give 100% and not be brushed aside like a twig. And I would love to see Pev in a race with our current midfiled crop, reckon he would be one of the fastest.

Pevers-Legend said:
Putting Lonergan in that list is silly. He is a long way off - we are talking a bout next year are we not?

Hence why I put the when he develops in brackets.
We are trying to develop a side to win a flag are we not?

And I don't reckon he is a long way off, he has a mature body (heavier than Pev) and we saw what Stanton did in his second year or Monfries this year. No reason Lonergan can't step up next season and play more games.

Pevers-Legend said:
JJ has injury concerns

So does Pev.

Pevers-Legend said:
When you consider that if JJ were to struggle next year, who would do the bullocking work? Not MJ as he doesn;t or can't play long enough on the ball

Surely you don't manage your list based on potential injuries. If JJ goes down, we do what we did when Lloyd went down. Play a kid in that position. Give Longergan an opportunity like we have for Johns. If we are keeping Pev just incase JJ breaks down we are making a mistake.

Mark McVeigh?

Pevers-Legend said:
My beef is give a player like winderlich two years on potential only (has had no results apart from a few serviceable games) and dump someone who (yes can have poor disposal and can lack vision) but will give 100% and not be brushed aside like a twig.

But that's what happens with young players, you have to give them a contract based on potential. It's a calculated guess, just like drafting. We offer a kid with potential a one year deal and he walks to a club that will give him two.

Winderlich will also give 100% and can actually make us a better side. Pev is a trier but does he actually do anything these days that makes us a better side? Will keeping Pev help us get back into the finals?

Pevers-Legend said:
And I would love to see Pev in a race with our current midfiled crop, reckon he would be one of the fastest.

Pev looks quick at times, because we only ever see him run in space, by himself. He's basically a cheat these days, pays no respect to his opponent and runs to space if we win the ball.

A lot of blokes look quick running in space.

Longy413 said:
Hence why I put the when he develops in brackets.
We are trying to develop a side to win a flag are we not?
No doubt, but which way are we going - down the Hathron track. We are booting out many mid-aged players each year and replacing with kids. How many defended the drafting of Campo and Heff on the grounds of not exposing the kids?
Longy413 said:
And I don't reckon he is a long way off, he has a mature body (heavier than Pev) and we saw what Stanton did in his second year or Monfries this year. No reason Lonergan can't step up next season and play more games.
Stants and Gus showed a lot more in their first year. In a year when getting into the team was at its easiest, he managed 1 game. To me thats syas he is still a season off being a 15 game player. Next year 5-10 games will be a good return.

Longy413 said:
So does Pev.
Agreed. And I think Sheedys insistence on playing both early on when underdone hampered both players seasons.

Longy413 said:
Surely you don't manage your list based on potential injuries. If JJ goes down, we do what we did when Lloyd went down. Play a kid in that position. Give Longergan an opportunity like we have for Johns. If we are keeping Pev just incase JJ breaks down we are making a mistake.

Mark McVeigh?
McVeigh should have been in the midfiled 2 years ago. He still isn't. Sheedy doesn;t want him there. Can;t see why either.

Longy413 said:
But that's what happens with young players, you have to give them a contract based on potential. It's a calculated guess, just like drafting. We offer a kid with potential a one year deal and he walks to a club that will give him two.

Winderlich will also give 100% and can actually make us a better side. Pev is a trier but does he actually do anything these days that makes us a better side? Will keeping Pev help us get back into the finals?
Winderlich is almost 22. 4 seasons of footy and zero return. He is fast becoming Reynolds. Reynolds has a bigger up side than Pev, but where has that got him. Talent and actually putting it out on the ground should never be confused.

Longy413 said:
Pev looks quick at times, because we only ever see him run in space, by himself. He's basically a cheat these days, pays no respect to his opponent and runs to space if we win the ball.

A lot of blokes look quick running in space.
I refer to him being fast as I have seen him chase supposed speedsters and keep up. that is how I measure speed.

In the end I can;t see what benefit we get from delisting him aside from getting an untried 18yr old at pick 60 who most likely will play no more than a handfull of games.

I like winning and to me - if everyone talks about playing finals, then getting rid of more of our mid tier will keep us at the bottom of the ladder. This batch of kids loks ok, but has taken far longer than any of the others to come on. This would equate to no finals for at least 2 years.

Pevers-Legend said:
Stants and Gus showed a lot more in their first year. In a year when getting into the team was at its easiest, he managed 1 game. To me thats syas he is still a season off being a 15 game player. Next year 5-10 games will be a good return.

Probably a fair enough call, although IMO he should have played more games than he did. Probably had a couple of injuries at a bad time as well.

Pevers-Legend said:
Agreed. And I think Sheedys insistence on playing both early on when underdone hampered both players seasons.

Would it be unfair to say this isn't Pev's first ordinary season?

Pevers-Legend said:
McVeigh should have been in the midfiled 2 years ago. He still isn't. Sheedy doesn;t want him there. Can;t see why either.

McVeigh should be rotating between the midfield and half forward. I think it might have more to do with the fact that he's now our best stopper, something Pev used to do.

Slattery is the other one not mentioned in this thread. It's only my opinion, but I really like the kid. Tough, strong, skillful and has that element of crazy about him that we are missing. Unfortunately he's body has let him down, but if fit, I think he's ahead of Pev.

Pevers-Legend said:
Winderlich is almost 22. 4 seasons of footy and zero return. He is fast becoming Reynolds. Reynolds has a bigger up side than Pev, but where has that got him. Talent and actually putting it out on the ground should never be confused.

And Winderlich started to put that talent onto the field when he go injured. I've got no doubt he turned the corner and we had to keep him. If we didn't offer him a two year deal, I also have no doubt he would have gone elsewhere. Winderlich has talent and he was starting to show results, we had no choice but to sign him on talent and potential because injury meant we couldn't sign him on results.

Pevers-Legend said:
I refer to him being fast as I have seen him chase supposed speedsters and keep up. that is how I measure speed.

I've seen David Hille and Dustin Fletcher do the same thing. It's always easier run quicker without the ball than with it. Regardless, Pev is slow with the ball in hand.

Pevers-Legend said:
In the end I can;t see what benefit we get from delisting him aside from getting an untried 18yr old at pick 60 who most likely will play no more than a handfull of games.

Or delisting Pev may give us a pick in the PSD and give us a crack at a 23 year old wanting a fresh start.

Pevers-Legend said:
I like winning and to me - if everyone talks about playing finals, then getting rid of more of our mid tier will keep us at the bottom of the ladder. This batch of kids loks ok, but has taken far longer than any of the others to come on. This would equate to no finals for at least 2 years.

But I don't think Pev is in our mid-tier. He is in terms of age, but in ability and results he's in that 25-30 group and they are the blokes you get rid of. The bottom six blokes on your list are the new kids into the club, the ones that have time to develop. Your top 22 are obviously safe, it's the rest that are taking you no-where.

I don't see Pev in our best 22. In reality he's played 5-6 above average games in the last two years and even then he's had short comings.

We need to clear at least 6 and for me that comes from Pev, Cartledge, Reynolds, Henneman, Bolton, Rioli and Rama.

Pevers-Legend said:

I don't believe that is the case at all. Comparing him to Reynolds is awful.

At one of the Essedonians functions in late 2004, I remember Harvs or Shaw saying that Winders was going to be given a fair bit of time to develop. There was an injury niggle hanging around him and they wanted him to develop his game. I don't think they ever expected him to burst out of the blocks.

I thought he was doing well this year until he got injured. Was running and creating a lot of space, was delivering the ball reasonably well into the forward line.

I look forward to seeing him playing next year.

Why do you all hate pev?