Chelsea, Black Caps, Sea Eagles, Subiaco
As a relatively new poster here I was interested to find out what made everyone else here support St Kilda?

I'm probably a bit of an odd case myself being a born and bred West Aussie following the mighty Red, White and Black but there are a few good reasons for it.

As you could probably tell from my username, the main reason I support the Saints is that I was a massive fan of Tony 'Plugger' Lockett growing up. When I first saw the big fella strutting his stuff on TV back in the late 80's/early 90's I was spellbound. The bloke was simply awesome. Forget Buddy Franklin, this guy had everything, the power, the skill, he could just completely dominate, intimidate and excite all at the same time. He was my footballing hero.

Apart from my hero worship of Plugger there were a few other reasons for me choosing the Saints. My school's colours were red, white and black and our school footy jumpers were the same style as the Saints jumpers. I also hated the Eagles when they came in to the AFL comp. so needed to find another AFL team to support and always had a bit of a soft spot for the Saints as the competition battlers.

Whilst Plugger was my original Saints player fixation, I also grew to love all the other Saints players over time such as Stewie Loewe, Nathan Burke, Robert Harvey, Aussie Jones, Spider Everitt, Maxy Hudghton, Lenny Hayes, The G-Train, Riewoldt etc. So even by the time my hero Plugger had left to go to the Swans I was well and truly hooked on the Saints regardless.

So those are my reasons or excuses for following this great footy club.

What's yours?

My story's nothing spesh. Like most i followed them cause my dad did. Couldn't give a stuff about footy, like a typical girl. But yeah in the 99/00/01/02 era i wasn't into it really. Might've checked the scores every 6 weeks. But i knew most weeks we would lose, was like Christmas when we won though. Best one though was Harvey's 250th, iirc we beat the tigers by 30 pts or so. That was huge in my eyes. Only knew of a few players like Spider Everitt, Barry Hall, Stewart Loewe they were my favourites. Ecspecially Loewe. Aussie, Max, Young (that fanta pants one), Peckett. Milney became another favourite too. Love that annoying little shit. :p

I remember going to my first flogging. Burkey's last game, when we flogged Richmond. Never had i felt that feeling of handing out the flogging rather than recieving it. Felt good. :)

Best year i'd say was 04. That game against the Lions was epic. Couldn't watch the last 3 minutes or so, so i walked out and just sat on the rails on the 3rd level. And let the crowd tell the story. Geez that's something i'm regretting. Didn't find out what happened till the next day, the whole Aussie Jones point debarcle. Schwartz kicking the winning goal just clearing Brennan by a finger nail. Damn, good times. I remember after the game, everyone was buzzing. Those young Saints just beat the Premiers. Good times.

Sorry, i'm straying from the topic. So i haven't been supporting long, only 5 years or so. And it's fair to say i've never fully experienced the years anchored to the bottom.

Good thread btw.

Sorry, i'm straying from the topic. So i haven't been supporting long, only 5 years or so. And it's fair to say i've never fully experienced the years anchored to the bottom.

Good thread btw.

Well I have been supporting the Saints now for almost 20 years and even I feel like a bit of a latecomer. I also missed all the really bad years of the late 70s and 80s when the club was anchored to the bottom and collecting all those wooden spoons. I didn't really become a full blown Saints supporter until around the early 90s when the Saints made a revival with Plugger, Stewie Leowe, Harves, Burkey and Spud Frawley leading the way.

Whilst we haven't won a premiership in my time there have been plenty of highlights. Seeing our first final in almost 20 years against Geelong in 1991, we lost but it was a brilliant game with Plugger on fire kicking 9 goals and Billy Brownless kicking a bag for the Cats. Then the next year winning our first final in ages by beating Collingwood with a young Robert Harvey leading the way. Winning the 1996 Ansett Cup against Carlton with a brilliant Nicky Winmar tearing it up. The glorious 1997 winning run and making the Grand Final. Also the last five years of finals and making three prelims with some memorable finals wins along the way.

It's funny how everyone always goes on about winning premierships as being the be all and end all of supporting a club. Sure premierships are important but the journey along the way is also important. In the 20 or so years I have been following the Saints I have never once felt short changed. I have seen some fantastic Saints players and have experienced the amazing roller coaster ride of highs and lows of being a St Kilda supporter. There has never really been a dull moment and there has always been something around the corner to keep me excited, ie. getting Blight as coach or recruiting Cousins.

I know a lot of other clubs have won premierships in the last 20 years but I honestly wouldn't trade my time supporting St Kilda for anything. A premiership next year wouldn't go astray though.

I started supporting them when i was sixish, found a beanie in my old mans cupboard, no idea why he had it as he is a collingwood supporter. I have followed them since then. He also had a Tigers one and thats why my brother goes for the tiges which he isnt to happy about, always tried to persuade us to go for the woods.

Dad took me to a pre-season match at North Hobart against Richmond, expecting me to barrack for his old team before the Crows, Richmond. Day before the match asked my next door neighbour who I should go for out of them and he said St Kilda, so I took his word and went for the Saints. Dad wasn't too happy. I don't remember anything about that game, but when I started watching footy was around 97/98 when Harves was at his absolute best and absolutely loved watching him play. Used to sneak into the loungeroom and hide behind the couch when I was little just to watch him play when it was past my bedtime and shit like that. Followed footy religiously ever since :thumbsu:

Both my parents are Kiwis and weren't really into AFL so I didn't really have any family pressure to support any particular club.

Naturally most of my mates at school supported the Eagles when they came into the AFL and a few now are Freo supporters. None of them could understand why I supported St Kilda and have always tried to talk me into following one of the WA clubs but I have stayed loyal.

Not easy being a Saints fan in WA and being constantly outnumbered by Eagles and Dockers fans but I'm always amazed at how many Saints fans turn out for the Saints games in Perth. I know there is always a group of hardcore St Kilda cheer squad members that fly over from Melbourne but the majority are local WA Saints fans. They actually have a pretty big following here.

Like a lot of others, I was born a saint. Dad would take me to Moorabbin just about every home game and I used to get bored by half time and want to go home. As I got older I got into more and even though we were the wooden spooners, couldn't ever imagine changing teams. I was always jealous of the kids at school barracking for successful teams and celebrating premierships but I was a saint for life and have never looked back :thumbsu:

Have been on the wagon for 26 years now my brothers and sisters (straight out of the womb). When I first appeared I was told I was free to choose my religion, sexual preference, lifestyle, etc but I had to support St.Kilda. I wouldn't trade it for the world. Have followed them everywhere. Being in Sydney in 1998 when we destroyed the Swans by 101 points was a real ripper. When we salute for that second premiership, it will be the best celebration that the football world will ever see. Saints fans are truly unique and I can certainly tell you I'll be disappearing from work for at least a week to celebrate long and hard!

GO YOU MIGHTY SAINTERS!

my dad is mad stkilda so i just followed him to the footy since i can remember.. which was when i was about 5ish.

I can still remember getting my membership card snipped at moorabin..

Migrated here 30 years ago and was told I couldn't live in this town (Melbourne) without supporting a footy team. Happened to be living in St Kilda at the time so without knowing a thing about AFL decided to pick the Saints. No regrets even though there's been a few ups and downs over the years. I love the team and never miss a game played in Melbourne.

Both my parents are Kiwis and weren't really into AFL so I didn't really have any family pressure to support any particular club.
</p>Same as me, except my old man came over and was a Roys supporter, i was born in 1993 when the roys were pretty poor so my dad didn't pressure me because i think he knew the end was nie and my brother was a saints boy due to his best mate being one so my dad bought me a membership a couple of months after i was born and went a to Victoria Park with my dad to see my first game at the tender age of 3 months. I have been a member ever since.</p>

Born and bred in SA i have been a saints fan since i was 8 (1963) I didnt even know we were red , black and white then cos colour tv wasnt around. My first live game was 1990 v the crows at AAMI. We won. I was at AAMI when Plugger kicked his 100th goal (not sure of the year). I love it when I see another person over here wearing a saints cap or shirt. We have travelled millions of miles since i was married(1981) I converted my wife(non footballing family) to the saints and my 21 and 19 year old sons are sainters as well. We are all 11 game Social club members. We even went to Port Augusta (800 k return trip) to see Saints beat crows in a preseason trial game :)I love my saints with a passion. Anyone who represents the mighty saints is fine by me and i never bag any of my players. PS we went to 1st game last year v sydney, round 21 v crows and semi final v collingwood. We also went to the GF of the NAB cup here at AAMI. The only game I saw us lose last year "live" was v port :(. Next season will be seeing them in round 2 and round 5 here and a few more times at TD. Go the MIGHTY SAINTS

Fact Fail. Crows didn't enter the comp until 1991.

Oh a thousand apologies 1991.:rolleyes: But who really cares when they came in. ;)

Hahaha, they'll always be known as the team that made Robert Harvey Appreciation Day so special.

Naturally most of my mates at school supported the Eagles when they came into the AFL and a few now are Freo supporters. None of them could understand why I supported St Kilda and have always tried to talk me into following one of the WA clubs but I have stayed loyal.

Not easy being a Saints fan in WA and being constantly outnumbered by Eagles and Dockers fans but I'm always amazed at how many Saints fans turn out for the Saints games in Perth. I know there is always a group of hardcore St Kilda cheer squad members that fly over from Melbourne but the majority are local WA Saints fans. They actually have a pretty big following here.

Not easy in FOAdelaide sometimes either. However it is satisfying on so many levels. It's fun not being a sheep and also abusing crowbots and tealsters.
I find they're quite incredulous like: "how can you live in adelaide and not be a crow/port fan"? is it the same in wa?

Ox's parents lived down the road, met him a few times, impressionable young lad meets "superstar" AFL player who eggs him on to barrack for the Demons, impressionable lad being impressionable has no clue wtf he is on about, finds a map "oo purdy beach" and Sainted.

Would have beena round the '88 mark.

Not easy in FOAdelaide sometimes either. However it is satisfying on so many levels. It's fun not being a sheep and also abusing crowbots and tealsters.
I find they're quite incredulous like: "how can you live in adelaide and not be a crow/port fan"? is it the same in wa?

Pretty much the same here. If you are from Perth everyone automatically assumes you must be an Eagles or Dockers supporter. When I tell them I am a St Kilda supporter they are usually quite surprised and assume I'm either Victorian or some sort of wierd trouble maker. There has actually been a number of times at Saints matches here when I have been either abusing Eagles or Dockers players or abusing some of their idiot supporters and they have told me to 'piss off back to Melbourne'. Little do they know that I am as West Australian as they are.

I do enjoy the fact that supporting the Saints here makes you a bit different though. Part of the reason I never followed the Eagles originally is that I didn't want to be just another sheep that followed the same team as everyone else. Besides West Coast as a club just never appealled to me, like Adelaide they are more a corporation than a club without any real tradition or history.

St Kilda on the other hand just seemed more like my kind of club. I always tended to support the battlers and the underdogs and St Kilda certainly fitted that description back in the late 80's/early 90's when I started to support them. I honestly couldn't imagine supporting any other club now, I'll always be a Saint for life.

Thanks for this, Plugger. It's a nice distraction from the Cousins saga.

When my older bro was about four, he had his tonsils out in hospital. Dad, who is a Saints fan, came in to see him and said 'boy do you look miserable. I tell you what, I'll buy you a footy jumper. Any team you like.' My bro thought about it and then said 'I'd like an Essendon jumper.'
'no problem' said dad. 'Essendon it is'.

The next day, dad came in and said 'they were all out of Essendon jumpers, so I got you this St Kilda jumper instead'. And that was that. There was no democracy in our house.

i like the saints because when i first watched them play i seen them play with heart even though they were getting belted by the bombers they kept chasing kept tackling and they forced the score down from what it was

they also have the best colours in the after :P

and when you see the likes of stuart lowe nicky winmar jason heatly robert harvey etc you just know theres some magicabout the team

Like a lot of others, I was born a saint. Dad would take me to Moorabbin just about every home game and I used to get bored by half time and want to go home. As I got older I got into more and even though we were the wooden spooners, couldn't ever imagine changing teams. I was always jealous of the kids at school barracking for successful teams and celebrating premierships but I was a saint for life and have never looked back :thumbsu:

Similar Joffa. Born into in it, as was my dad. It was my grandfather who was first aboard. I remember being at the footy as early as I can recall. I didn't particularly love standing in mud up to the ankles under the Moorabbin scoreboard, but there was always some mischief to get up to. I remember getting teased at primary school in the 80s pretty mercilessly, so just used to punch a kid in the nose Monday mornings to discourage others, but I never considered changing teams, although I was pretty taken with the Roys as a 2nd team as we represented them in little league & Brad Gotch played at my same junior club - a number of years ahead of me though. I still go just all Melbourne games with my dad. Now I take my 2 kids born into it too, both members when only a few months old. They love the ritual, the food, the train trip in to the ground & they can always find some mischief to get up to when they're interest wanes. The cycle continues ...

my dad brought me up to barracking for the saints around 8 or 9, but seriously started watching it when i was 13, loved them since, but gutted by the way Harvs went out (my hero)

Well i'm an Asian migrant and now love the game and my Sainters. Doesn't bother me that we've only won a single flag coz no one supports their team like Sainters do.