Why is Adelaide such a backwater?

If you can prise yourself out from between your sister's legs, then you could go to any number of boutique hotels, you could go to the Coopers Brewery, you could go down Rundle Street for a fine feed from any number of restaurants and cafes, you could go shopping in the mall, you could go to the central Market, go and watch district or state cricket, museums, art galleries etc, etc.... Same as most cities really, just on a smaller scale. :thumbsu:

So there really isn't a good reason to bother visiting?

I do not want to know what yuo do with your sister on weekends :rolleyes:. I am apparently going to some fine place called Ingle Farm to play pub Poker with mates and who knows what else I may get up to!????

Jeez your friends really don't like you do they. Couldn't they just have taken you to Mobilong Prison to play with the inmates?

To give you some idea, Ingle Farm is about as classy as Dandenong, not the worst area, but not far from it.:)

For you Jeff, you're right there's absolutely no reason to visit.:thumbsu:

Family members, friends and clients would probably disagree.

The odd visit to fill the tin never hurts either. :)

Jeez your friends really don't like you do they. Couldn't they just have taken you to Mobilong Prison to play with the inmates?

To give you some idea, Ingle Farm is about as classy as Dandenong, not the worst area, but not far from it.:)

Mostn of them live in Modbury North, Salissbury, Para Gardens etc so it doesn't really surprise me :(.

If you're travelling north in Adelaide and you reach Grand Junction Road, turn around, nothing good can come of it.

The South has as many bogans - probably more - and certainly more unemployed as there is no real industry south of Darlington (bar retail and McLaren Vale), but the beaches are worth it.

If you're travelling north in Adelaide and you reach Grand Junction Road, turn around, nothing good can come of it.

The South has as many bogans - probably more - and certainly more unemployed as there is no real industry south of Darlington (bar retail and McLaren Vale), but the beaches are worth it.

Now, that has merit...except if you keep going and hit the Barossa, then the risk is worth it.

Change of plans. We're now going to the Britannia in Norwood! Where is that from the city Hindley St Maccas and what's it like?

Now, that has merit...except if you keep going and hit the Barossa, then the risk is worth it.

I've always thought the Barossa is over-rated (McLaren Vale too).

Took a group of Yanks there and they loved it. So much so they stayed on longer and spent a few days in McLaren Vale too. Not my speed I guess.

As for South Australia in general, there's a ton of places worth visiting (and plenty like Port Augusta worth avoiding).

The Flinders, Yorks (under-rated), the best part of the Murray (all the way to it's mouth), KI, the SE coast . . . hell even the coast south of Adelaide has some of the best city beaches in the country. If you love water and coastlines then SA is a great state to visit.

Just avoid traveling too far north in Adelaide would be my advice. :)

Was just about to come in here and post that. Anywhere north of Grand Junction Road (hell, why don't we include Hanson road while were at it) should be treated with suspicion until you hit the Barossa.

Took a group of Yanks there and they loved it. So much so they stayed on longer and spent a few days in McLaren Vale too. Not my speed I guess.

As for South Australia in general, there's a ton of places worth visiting (and plenty like Port Augusta worth avoiding).

The Flinders, Yorks (under-rated), the best part of the Murray (all the way to it's mouth), KI, the SE coast . . . hell even the coast south of Adelaide has some of the best city beaches in the country. If you love water and coastlines then SA is a great state to visit.

That's a pretty fair summary JD, although I agree the Barossa is over rated, I think that McLaren Vale is under rated, especially around the Sea and Vines Festival time. If you can close your eyes after Gepps Cross for about 50km, then the North is fine and Kangaroo Island is brilliant as is the South east. Coonawarra is probably a better option than the Barossa.

love living in Adelaide, traffic isnt as bad as Melbourne, the city isnt invested with graffiti and rubbish like Melbourne, the girls are way more easy then in Melbourne.

Sure its not as fast paced as Melbourne and there is more to do and you have most of the big sport tournaments but its a 50min plane trip so no biggy.

Housing is way cheaper then Melbourne and did i mention the women are easier?

Ahem as a South Australian now living in Perth I would like to add that not all of us are easy

:):)

Also, as a Fleurieu local and after visitng the Margret River Region (Beautiful be DEFINITELY overrated, like Hahndorf but much more smaller and with less going on) I think McLaren Vale is very underrated. Its like our little piece of Tuscany

Adelaide have the most feral fans of anwhere. Seen jmore fights and cases of bad behaviour there than anywhere else. I guess you expect this when you are surrounded by 1 million inbred feral bogans in a city :rolleyes::eek:.

Well to be honest aside from the usual banter between supporters at any game Ive never seen any fights at games, but the game I mentioned at Geelong in 2009 got pretty heated and nasty.

Also, as a Fleurieu local and after visitng the Margret River Region (Beautiful be DEFINITELY overrated, like Hahndorf but much more smaller and with less going on) I think McLaren Vale is very underrated. Its like our little piece of Tuscany

Never been to Tuscany so I can't comment but you've just turned me off ever wanting to go. ;)

Not sure if the annual barn dance is still run since McLaren Flat merged, but I bet you don't find culture like that in Tuscany! :)

Never been to Tuscany so I can't comment but you've just turned me off ever wanting to go. ;)

Not sure if the annual barn dance is still run since McLaren Flat merged, but I bet you don't find culture like that in Tuscany! :)

No, no local barn dance anymore. But having spent a lot of my life in Lalor, and Thomastown (family there) all I can say is, you cant really talk!! ;)

But having spent a lot of my life in Lalor, and Thomastown (family there) all I can say is, you cant really talk!!

Not sure why that was directed at me. Never lived anywhere near that part of Melbourne. In Melbourne, I have similar Grand Junction rules. Just more of them.

Last placed I lived in Adelaide was on East Terrace overlooking the racecourse. Great place to live especially when the GP was still in Adelaide.

Pity about the Barn Dance. Was a sensational event.

Not sure why that was directed at me. Never lived anywhere near that part of Melbourne. In Melbourne, I have similar Grand Junction rules. Just more of them.

Last placed I lived in Adelaide was on East Terrace overlooking the racecourse. Great place to live especially when the GP was still in Adelaide.

Pity about the Barn Dance. Was a sensational event.

Sorry I just assumed that because you have been having a go at all the bad suburbs in Adelaide, I could do the same about Melbourne! (I actually like visiting those suburbs though, maybe because I have spent so much time over there??)

No, I reckon that would have been a cracker.....Myponga still have their annual cow race and rodeo though. Maybe that proved more popular??

I doubt the Compass Cup would have chicks in bikinis sliding around in mud snorting Bundy & speed.

Yes, I did say snorting Bundy. :eek:

One of my best mates lives in Mt Compass so I've been to plenty of Compass Cups. Not quite the same . . . more transcendental than your boozy football club show.

Why is Adelaide such a backwater?