Why the Irish are going nowhere in the next 5 years

Apr 18, 2005
The Irish team are a fantastic group of athletes, they are fit and they are fit. They are probably fitter than the aussies. Thats where it ends. Unfortuantley they are not physically conditioned in a strength sense. They do not push weights like aussie rules players. There bodies can not last a full game of physical battering and intimidation. Thats why we will win, we are harder and we are fit. Not fitter, some would be, but generally very very fit. Until those boys get some mongrel about them and start to push some serious iron in the gym, they will never match our lads. An AFL player is the ultimate ball game athlete; fit, strong, co-ordinated and skilled. I would suggest those Irish lads go back home, lay off the guiness, hit the gym and pack on some weight and come back next year with a few extra kilograms hanging off them, because there is no way they will stand up to blokes like Chris Johnson and the like if they dont have a body for it. The irish can talk there way out of a paper bag, but its time the green little paddy whackers got some mongrel in them and started to walk the walk rather the talk it. See ya next year

I would suggest those Irish lads go back home, lay off the guiness, hit the gym and pack on some weight and come back next year with a few extra kilograms hanging off them

Trust me, intercounty players don't know what a pint of guinness looks like. Even a lot of club players don't know what a drink looks like when the seasons on. Whe the season ends (October - December, depends when they get knocked out of the competitions.) Then they can have a few pints until the season starts (January).

I agree though that our players are nowhere near as physical enough, at least the ones we sent over were the absolute bottom of the pile for size and strength.

The problem is that whats necessary for IR and Aussie Rules (Strength and Size) is not too important for Gaelic Football. Speed is probably the most important factor in Gaelic Football, thats not saying we don't have our big men either. A lot of Gaelic Footballers would play rugby as well.

re the gym - We do hit the gym but emphasis wouldn't be on weights.

demondavey said:
my point is that aussie rules players are fit and are strong, a good combination of both. The irish boys are not big lads but fit, therefore the aussies have the advantage. They need to pump weights mate if they want to be competitive. Its like that with any fast contact sport.
you reckon the irish give a fat rats clacker about bulking up for two games a year?
they come over here, play as hard as they can for two weeks, then turn their minds straight back to their own game where strength will only help you so much.

Ok so the all powerful Aussies have found the secret to being the worlds best at a made up game with one opponent who have jobs to worry about. What the hell do you want demondavey? Maybe the Irish will come back, maybe we've seen the beginning of the end. Let's not make out this is something it isn not and just accpet ot for the exhibition of "football" that it is.

i wouldnt mind seeing the AA players play, i dont care bout winning that much I think itd be better to see the best stars from the afl play, win or loose. Anyway, we should give them some handicap because there not fulltime athletes are they, so we should make it more fair by not putting our most SUITABLE side on the field

MarkT said:
Ok so the all powerful Aussies have found the secret to being the worlds best at a made up game with one opponent who have jobs to worry about. What the hell do you want demondavey? Maybe the Irish will come back, maybe we've seen the beginning of the end. Let's not make out this is something it isn not and just accpet ot for the exhibition of "football" that it is.

Yeah but isnt it there game? LOL, i mean they play with a round ball we play with an oval one? Its there game mate, why are you so defensive? You Irish are you? Just thinks its funny that the irish are all so patriotic and 'ireland forever' that they would be pretty determined to stand up and try and win. They know its an aggressive game, yet not one of them laid an aussie player on his bum. i thought it would dent their famous irish pride to be swept aside so easily.

The irish were clearly ahead in size and speed until this game.

I hink they had adapted to new opponenets by late in the game.
I think fridays game will be quite close

Us3 said:
you reckon the irish give a fat rats clacker about bulking up for two games a year?
they come over here, play as hard as they can for two weeks, then turn their minds straight back to their own game where strength will only help you so much.
Exactly. They're not going to change they way they approach Gaelic footy just for the sake of 2 ad-hoc international games.

Pessimistic said:
The irish were clearly ahead in size and speed until this game.

I hink they had adapted to new opponenets by late in the game.
I think fridays game will be quite close
Dunno about ahead in the size! Speed maybe but the aussie rules players would have at least 5-10 kilos on their direct opponents.

demondavey said:
Yeah but isnt it there game? LOL, i mean they play with a round ball we play with an oval one? Its there game mate, why are you so defensive? You Irish are you? Just thinks its funny that the irish are all so patriotic and 'ireland forever' that they would be pretty determined to stand up and try and win. They know its an aggressive game, yet not one of them laid an aussie player on his bum. i thought it would dent their famous irish pride to be swept aside so easily.
Just how stupid do you think the Irish players are? Or maybe it's the whole Irish nation that you think are stupid? So if no Irish player was able to lay an Aussie player on his bum, you think it's because we're not aggressive enough?

No, it's because we know we cant match some of your players in the physical bulk stakes, but maybe we can more than match them in the brain-size stakes.

Ever notice how short-tempered many of the Aussie players are? They are never shy about laying heavy tackles (and that's fair enough when they are done according to the rules). But on the few occasions that an Irish player makes a good strong tackle, the Aussie will often react, like he needs to assert his manliness, to show he is not intimidated, to always get in the last thump or nudge, go looking for a fight that they know will not come.

I have noticed this almost every year and I have watched almost all of the InterRules games going back to the mid-80's. The Aussies always react or retaliate to any overt physical challenge. Do you view this as an affront to your ego? Is it impossible to consider that a big AFL player could even be matched by an Irish GAA player?

Pity !

The Knowledge said:
i wouldnt mind seeing the AA players play, i dont care bout winning that much I think itd be better to see the best stars from the afl play, win or loose. Anyway, we should give them some handicap because there not fulltime athletes are they, so we should make it more fair by not putting our most SUITABLE side on the field

I think people want to see a close contest . After last year I think a change was warranted , but it should have been more like 50-50 .
On the plus side some stars were made .

The Biff said:
Just how stupid do you think the Irish players are? Or maybe it's the whole Irish nation that you think are stupid? So if no Irish player was able to lay an Aussie player on his bum, you think it's because we're not aggressive enough?

No, it's because we know we cant match some of your players in the physical bulk stakes, but maybe we can more than match them in the brain-size stakes.

Ever notice how short-tempered many of the Aussie players are? They are never shy about laying heavy tackles (and that's fair enough when they are done according to the rules). But on the few occasions that an Irish player makes a good strong tackle, the Aussie will often react, like he needs to assert his manliness, to show he is not intimidated, to always get in the last thump or nudge, go looking for a fight that they know will not come.

I have noticed this almost every year and I have watched almost all of the InterRules games going back to the mid-80's. The Aussies always react or retaliate to any overt physical challenge. Do you view this as an affront to your ego? Is it impossible to consider that a big AFL player could even be matched by an Irish GAA player?

Pity !

Funny, I see teh exact opposite. Whever an Irishman has a legal tackle laid on him he gives some push & shove, or throws the ball away - then they whinge about 20m penalties

The Biff said:

Pity !

That argument is completely pointless and makes no sense at all. Your argument about 'physical size' and 'brain size' is completely off the track. You start to bring up the argument about aussie rules cracking the sads when they get tackled, ok yeah, but its not relevant to this argument is it? I am arguing that the irish are mediocre at there own game! there not strong enough and they dont like the rough stuff, hence get shoved around. Why do you think the aussies won on friday night? You tell me why

milnedog44 said:
1. AFL is a professional sport
2. Gaelic is like the VFL in terms of professionalism
3. They are better skilled than we either will be
4. If there was no tackling like in Gaelic they would smash us by 100 points.

I'm happy to have no tackling........if they use a Sherrin!.........who'd get smashed in that scenario?

Flawed concept, no matter how you look at it.

demondavey said:
That argument is completely pointless and makes no sense at all. Your argument about 'physical size' and 'brain size' is completely off the track. You start to bring up the argument about aussie rules cracking the sads when they get tackled, ok yeah, but its not relevant to this argument is it? I am arguing that the irish are mediocre at there own game! there not strong enough and they dont like the rough stuff, hence get shoved around. Why do you think the aussies won on friday night? You tell me why

What'll you say if you get turned over tomorrow night. Which is a good possibility.

milnedog44 said:
1. AFL is a professional sport
2. Gaelic is like the VFL in terms of professionalism
3. They are better skilled than we either will be
4. If there was no tackling like in Gaelic they would smash us by 100 points.

1. Agree there
2. Agree there
3. No. Our skills were awesome on friday night, hence one of the reasons we won. Better skills equal better coversion rate; points scored. more points equal a win
4. there is tackling, therefore that argument is invalid and pointless. deal with it

WTTF said:
I'm happy to have no tackling........if they use a Sherrin!.........who'd get smashed in that scenario?

Flawed concept, no matter how you look at it.

Use our tackle and the sherrin and ours guys will just start trainin earlier and we'll still give ye a good game.Guaranteed

talking in regards to last friday and from that i made a judgement based on the way australia won. Why do you think its a good possibility that they will win? The irish dont like the rough stuff, australia proved they are just as skilled and can match it. Unless they irish have a complete turnabout in attitude and there approach, they wont win

Let_it_long said:
Use our tackle and the sherrin and ours guys will just start trainin earlier and we'll still give ye a good game.Guaranteed

I seriously doubt it............the Irish wouldn't be able to get the ball (Sherrin)of us, especially if there in no tackling.

demondavey said:
talking in regards to last friday and from that i made a judgement based on the way australia won. Why do you think its a good possibility that they will win? The irish dont like the rough stuff, australia proved they are just as skilled and can match it. Unless they irish have a complete turnabout in attitude and there approach, they wont win

Don't get me wrong, Australia were great last friday but they were helped by what seemed an overconfident badly drilled irish team. Now that won't be the case tomorrow. You'll see something much closer to the way we played last year but with a very densely populated area around the irish goal. It'll be harder for the aussies to score this week and more then likely will be resticted to kicking from 40m under pressure.What we do up the other end remains to be seen but there is some array of talent in that forward line and they're embarassed after last week. All i'll say is our backs are to the wall, we either crawl up in a ball or we're in for a hum dinger on Friday.

Why the Irish are going nowhere in the next 5 years