You Richard Tambling!

Seems to be a walk up start every week.

Another weak effort again and I reckon the magoo's will beckon.

doubt that they have the guts to demote tambling even if he puts in another weak effort. he would need to have 15 bad ones in a row to warrant any sort of review.

imagine him as a pick 40 in the draft

Helps you to see that in our mediocre side he is well and truly within our best team.

Just dont watch Hawthorn games and you can get through it.

Maybe he needs another visit to the hypnotist?:eek:

Stick him in the half back line, it's where he played his best footy last year so why try him on the half forward flank?

If Picken walks towards Deledio before the first bounce then he'll be the one I'll be watching, got smashed by Picken twice last year so he needs to step and beat him head to head and in the process signal to the rest of the AFL that tagging Lids no longer works.

^^ I agree, this will show what Deledio is made of. Hopefully this time Deledio can stay in the middle and work his way around it rather than Wallace making him go forward or back.

If Picken walks towards Deledio before the first bounce then he'll be the one I'll be watching, got smashed by Picken twice last year so he needs to step and beat him head to head and in the process signal to the rest of the AFL that tagging Lids no longer works.

If Picken went to Deledio, my personal opinion would be to send Lids to the wing or HFF. This will open up heaps of space for him to burn him off with his pace, Picken is not a hope in hell of keeping up with him. He can also push forward and out mark him.

Until Lids can cop and beat a tag opposition sides will continue to target him. With that in mind if I was Hardwick, I would be telling Lids that he has 2 choices today, either he runs around for 2 hours accepts the tag and gets beaten or he steps up to the challenge works his arse off and beats the tag and stamps himself as an elite midfielder.

Last week in the first quarter Newman had an opportunity to run through McLean but hesitated and McLean ran away with the ball. First chance he has today he needs to go where angels fear to tread and set tone for the rest of the side, they see him second guess himself and then think it is ok if they do it. So he is another one that I'll be watching with interest.

Of course Picken is going to Deledio. Be realistic, Cotchin/Martin are not at the stage of being tagged. Feel sorry for Deledio. He will still get 20 possessions even if we get smashed.

HOW MANY OF YOU HAVE PLAYED FOOTBALL IN REAL LIFE? I personally did for 7 years and I was a tagger about 3 of those years. It makes it so much hard when you got a bloke hanging of you. Tambo will be loose running about, possibly playing unaccountable football, while gathering 10-15 possessions.

Why wouldn't Picken go to Deledio if he's comprehensively beaten him the last few times we've played them? Picken really gets to Deledio. If you watch him he's a different player for just this week, he gets so frustrated by him.

Ideally Deledio should try and just run Picken off his feet but that probably wont happen so I'd play him across half forward.

It's a pity Cuz is out - I really think if he got into Deledio's ear throughout the game with a bit of encouragement it'd help him out immensely.

What I would like to see is the other players helping Deledio out with Picken - I want to see him being roughed up when possible, knocked around, and having his job made as hard as possible.

Last week in the first quarter Newman had an opportunity to run through McLean but hesitated and McLean ran away with the ball. First chance he has today he needs to go where angels fear to tread and set tone for the rest of the side, they see him second guess himself and then think it is ok if they do it. So he is another one that I'll be watching with interest.

Ditto.

As for Tambling, it's the same story as for Lids. They both need space to work in to maximise their talents. Play them off the wing and we suddenly we will have a couple of guns that worries the bejesus out of the opposition.

Why wouldn't Picken go to Deledio if he's comprehensively beaten him the last few times we've played them? Picken really gets to Deledio. If you watch him he's a different player for just this week, he gets so frustrated by him.

Ideally Deledio should try and just run Picken off his feet but that probably wont happen so I'd play him across half forward.

That is by far the worst call I have read on this thread. Deledio was recruited and is a midfielder and because Picken has had his measure that last couple of games you are essentially going to give up the matchup before it starts. Deledio needs to be in at the centre bounces not on the wing and as someone said Hardwick needs to say to him this kind of tag will define what player he is.

As for Tambling he is not a wingman (where he played last week) he is a HBF. He destroyed doggies in the first half of the second game last year. I think he also plays well as a HF because he ends up playing up the ground a fair way as an extra midfielder with no opponent.

Big game for both of them.

Newman is our captain and needs to start acting like one instead of "urging us" all the time.

Tambling had a shocker last year against the Dogs also.

Cmon lads,please prove me wrong.

Tamblings first game against dogs last year was average his second game was awesome though from memory! Needs to just find the pill 25-30 times a game and he will be a gun!

That is by far the worst call I have read on this thread. Deledio was recruited and is a midfielder and because Picken has had his measure that last couple of games you are essentially going to give up the matchup before it starts.

Read? What? Surely you didn't.

Because if you did, amcre you would have noticed that I said Ideally Deledio should try and just run Picken off his feet but that probably wont happen so I'd play him across half forward. . So, what that means for someone like you (who needs things spelled out), is Deledio should keep running and attacking the football to run Picken off his feet. Is that in Deledio's nature? Is he trained to do that? No. But he is capable. As a result of it probably not happening for an entire match, he should probably have a role across half forward where he can at least expose Picken. Look at Harvey last night against the Saints. He was tagged out of the game. Who did that suit in the end? The Roos? He was played in the midfield, got 3 kicks 2 handballs and 1 out on the full. Who won that contest in the end amcre? Who won it? TELL ME.

Mate you need to back that Deledio a number 1 draft pick in his 6th season with all the ability in the world will beat Picken a guy who was plucked from the VFL and elevated off the rookie list...rather than hide him on the HF line...Deledio needs to learn to beat the tag, throwing him forward to protect him from it like you have suggested is not the solution. Even if he does have a bad day and Picken gets his scalp again in the midfield I would prefer that then chcuking him on the HFF all day.

Yeah Tambling - how dare you have one bad game last week.
very ordinary at the end of last yr. even more ordinary pre season and abysmal first game. are they all starting with a clean slate well if so pre season and that horror game last week must have him in the gun. if hes not then those in charge are not doing their jobs properly.