Mr T

Oct 22, 2007
Leeds United
If Joel does play against the doggys who will miss out. I think we should keep the teem as it is and see if we can beet the dogs.

Its a tough one. No one deserves to be dropped. I would say McGuane would make way if he comes back in. It would be the only change IMO if it does happen. Pettifer shouldnt come straight back into the side.
Edwards, Morton, Riewoldt all looked pretty dangerous in the forward line next to Polak.

Pettifer = Trade bait

in my opinion bowden should b selected. At the end of the day bowden is a quality player who is in your best 22....It doesnt matter if know one deserves to be dropped, tough decisions need to b made in football...Im sure bowden is really hurting watching such an impressive display by the tigers on the we! He'l be back and bring alot to the table.

dropping him for one week will not get the message across to the other players. joel must be used as an example to show if you want to play for the RFC.

Winning games of football doesn't happen by getting a message across...

It comes down who is best equipped to help us win on Sunday against the Bulldogs.

Personally, I think Bowden would prove to be more of a help against an up and running dogs outfit than McGuane.

Plus, if there is any question mark over McGuane's shoulder, then I think Joel is almost guaranteed to come back in.

He should be selected..he has the perfect match up in Brad Johnson - someone who isnt overly quick or big

dropping him for one week will not get the message across to the other players. joel must be used as an example to show if you want to play for the RFC.

The only criteria I want is, will he make us a better team against the Dogs.

Its not about sending a message but rather that he was of no use in recent weeks but If he can add to what the team was on Sunday then he should be brought back in.

Terry is an idiot, drops one of his best player and plays Deledio up forward?

Nice win on the weekend but you need your best team on the field against quality sides.

I agree also, definitely should be recalled is easily in our best 22. One of my mates made an excellent point that the year Joel won the B&F he was dropped for one game only to return and rip it up. I reckon McGuane will be the unlucky guy to be dropped along with Edwards for Pettifer. Would really like to see Connors in the seniors but apparently fitness is an issue. Does anyone no how Cotchin's going?

despite my username, pettifer doesn't heed recalling this week. straight swap hyde for bowden? does that work? hyde kicked three, but i still feel as if he's going nowhere and while he is in the 22 we aren't going anywhere either.

if they play bowden please dont put him on johnno, bowden must get the 3rd best fwd

He has a good record against BJ. Not sure who McGuane would match up on? They've got a very weird forward setup.

Minson - Moore
Murphy - ? King or Newman
Welsh - Thursfield
Hahn - ? King or Newman
Hill - McMahon
Johnson - Bowden

Terry is an idiot, drops one of his best player and plays Deledio up forward?

Nice win on the weekend but you need your best team on the field against quality sides.

what would you know???? ____en collingwood supporters on here telling us how things should be!!! go back to your own board!!!! he hasn't been one of our best since round 1

What one good game in the magoos and JB back in? sorry not for me let the kids play after all they're the ones that will benefit from these games and they are our future and as for Petifer he needs a couple of games in the magoos aswell...lifes tough earn your place in the seniors.

does anyone know how he went in the reserves on the weekend?
He had 30 disposals but they were hardly standout, most were in the typical standoffish cheap possies off Half Back, when the game was to be won by the Burgers he was nowhere to be seen, he looked lazy, uninterested and basically looked as if he thought he shouldn't be playing at that level, TBCH he shouldn't but the way he played, he deserves one more week for the Burgers.

He has a good record against BJ. Not sure who McGuane would match up on? They've got a very weird forward setup.

Minson - Moore
Murphy - ? King or Newman
Welsh - Thursfield
Hahn - ? King or Newman
Hill - McMahon
Johnson - Bowden

How about

Minson - McGuane
Welsh - Schultz
Murphy - Jackson
Johnson - Thursfield/newman - think Thursty is quick enough
Hahn - Newman/Thursfield
Hill - Moore
Acka - King

Jackson more valuable for his tagging ability in this game than what Bowden could bring to the table.

This is taken from the AFL site regarding Bowden playing this weekend:

RICHMOND coach Terry Wallace says veteran Joel Bowden is no certainty to return to the team that beat Fremantle by 64 points.

Wallace said the final decision would rest with the match committee but that Bowden was starting to regain confidence playing for Coburg in the VFL.

"He played very well at VFL level and needed to do that," Wallace said. "Joel was lacking in a bit of confidence. He wasn’t playing good football. Sometimes going back to a lower level gets your confidence up and you’re not second-guessing yourself.

"He wasn’t the only one, we omitted three players from the side last week. Of the four that didn’t play last weekend, all four had zero tackles in the game against Collingwood."

Wallace said Bowden’s form had been an issue since before the home and away season.

"You guys look at it after three weeks, we look at it from seven or eight weeks in the lead-up practice matches and NAB series along the way and Joel hadn’t been in good form," he said.

"If blokes want to compete and play at the levels we think they should, they will play senior footy. If they don’t want to compete, it doesn’t matter if it’s a first-gamer or a 200-gamer, we need that in our line-up.

"I don’t ever go public on what we’re doing in relation to selection. We’ll discuss who did what at senior level, [and Bowden] was certainly in the better players at VFL level."

The highlighted part is the bt I found most interesting, if Bowden's form has been a concern for the past 6-8 weeks then I don't think a 1 week stint in the VFL is enough to say 'Oh he got heaps of the ball so lets bring him back'. To me JB should have to force someone out of the side and given that we played so well on Sunday I don't see anyone deserving of being axed this week. Same applies to Pettifer, go play for Coburg and earn your way back into a winning line up.

what would you know???? ____en collingwood supporters on here telling us how things should be!!! go back to your own board!!!! he hasn't been one of our best since round 1

have a cry you tosser, just because Bowedin hasn't been playing great he is suddenly not one of your best players?

Jesus your club must have a new best player every week :rolleyes:

Will Bowden Play?