dees*gal

MELBOURNE DEMONS!!!
as most of you probs already know, big man Anthony Koutoufides is set to return in this weeks match against... US! with them coming off a win and therefor no doubt boosting their confidence, they'll already be pumped and coming out for a big match. but now with kouta coming back to play, how do you reckon the game will go?

*note this is footy talk ONLY, no crap wanted

Originally posted by dees*gal
as most of you probs already know, big man Anthony Koutoufides is set to return in this weeks match against... US! with them coming off a win and therefor no doubt boosting their confidence, they'll already be pumped and coming out for a big match. but now with kouta coming back to play, how do you reckon the game will go?

*note this is footy talk ONLY, no crap wanted

I heard he was only due back in three weeks time. I highly doubt he will return this week, but if he for some reason does then no, I don't think he will be much of a problem. He will be under done as all hell and will need alot of match practice to get back into it.

So no, no probs for us.

he was meant to have come back 3 weeks AGO but has recieved the all clear to come back this week...

"the club has announced that superstar Anthony Koutoufides will return to action against Melbourne next Sunday."

there's a few articals on the AFL site about it... it looks pretty clear that he'll be playing against us this coming sunday.

Yeah, i'm not too worried about the 'big man'. Will he boost the morale of the team? I'm not inclined to thinl so, but weirder things have happened. (oh, and its really hard to grab someone on the knees to 'test them' legally in football:D ). Who will be on him do you think?

i just heard about 5 mins ago on a news break about it, he doesn't bother me. Last year we still beat carlton and he was playing so theres no difference if he is playing or he isn't were still better than them:D

Originally posted by happy_in_hell
Yeah, i'm not too worried about the 'big man'. Will he boost the morale of the team? I'm not inclined to thinl so, but weirder things have happened. (oh, and its really hard to grab someone on the knees to 'test them' legally in football:D ). Who will be on him do you think?

Darren Jolly! :D :D

Seriously though, I wouldn't mind having someone like Bizzell on him. Someone like Lamb or Ellis will get Fat Lance and they don;t have much height after that.

After last week, I am confident we can beat them easily, Kouta or no Kouta!

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Seriously though, I wouldn't mind having someone like Bizzell on him. Someone like Lamb or Ellis will get Fat Lance and they don;t have much height after that.

After last week, I am confident we can beat them easily, Kouta or no Kouta!

Whitnall has been playing in defence but if Kouta returns (and I'm pretty sure he will) Whitnall could go up forward, with Kouta more likely to play at Centre Half back on Wheatley I reckon.

Kouta will be a problem I reckon, he's a great player, but we should win anyway.

We could have a let down after last week (I've seen it happen before) but really our win over Brisbane doesn't mean much unless we beat Carlton.

Originally posted by BT

Whitnall has been playing in defence but if Kouta returns (and I'm pretty sure he will) Whitnall could go up forward, with Kouta more likely to play at Centre Half back on Wheatley I reckon.

Kouta will be a problem I reckon, he's a great player, but we should win anyway.

We could have a let down after last week (I've seen it happen before) but really our win over Brisbane doesn't mean much unless we beat Carlton.

i agree with all that you said there...
once fatty goes back up forward, they've suddenly got someone who they can kick to and take stong marks... and with the form wheatly played with last week, i reckon he could outplay kouta seeing as it will be his first match back.

i think that kouta might give them an extra little boost that they've needed and maybe just add a bit more skill to the side. nothing too much, but might be enough...

and lastly with the let down... im worried that we'll go out over confident and expect too much to win. sometimes its a good thing, but im worried that they'll expect to be playing a side where not their full efforts need to be put into the game. i hope im proven very wrong on sunday!!

I'm glad to see that you are all on your toes. ;) Underestimating Carlton is dangerous, but we've seemed to have underestimated Melbourne in the last few years, and we paid for it (Round 15 last year and Qual final 2000). I just hope it's a good game, and most importantly, Kouta comes through!

Originally posted by Thrawn
I'm glad to see that you are all on your toes. ;) Underestimating Carlton is dangerous, but we've seemed to have underestimated Melbourne in the last few years, and we paid for it (Round 15 last year and Qual final 2000). I just hope it's a good game, and most importantly, Kouta comes through!

We nearly lost to St.Kilda and have lost to Richmond,Sydney so basically we are NEVER certainties. Carlton have some good kids but as long as we don't give yet another team half a games start, we should be able to finish strongly again & have good win.

Carlton have showed great spirit in the last month, if we're not up for it they'll belt us.

Originally posted by BT

We nearly lost to St.Kilda and have lost to Richmond,Sydney so basically we are NEVER certainties. Carlton have some good kids but as long as we don't give yet another team half a games start, we should be able to finish strongly again & have good win.

Carlton have showed great spirit in the last month, if we're not up for it they'll belt us.

I agree with the let down part, but for some reason I am really confident coming into next week, and that is nothing against Carlton at all, as they are a proud club who never say die!

I just liked the look of us last week, and we really seem like a tight knit team (if you saw, Biz was grabbing his jumper after the win as a salute to the red and blue, brought a BIG smile to my face! :D) so I think we can really boost our confidence and momentum with a win over Carlton. Will put us 9 and 6!

Then again, if we don't beat Carlton then look out - They are copping a spraying! :mad: ;)

Not too sure if this was mentioned, but not to worried about Kouta. WHat I wanted to mention is that it's at Colonial and we romp at Colonial ...

But we haven't had to much bad luck at Optus this year miond you, but yeah kinda glad we're playing at the Docks....

shane

Originally posted by Terry Aldermans Arm
Not too sure if this was mentioned, but not to worried about Kouta. WHat I wanted to mention is that it's at Colonial and we romp at Colonial ...

But we haven't had to much bad luck at Optus this year miond you, but yeah kinda glad we're playing at the Docks....

shane

Funny you should say that, because I'm not that unhappy we're playing at Colonial. We haven't played that well there, but we haven't had a shocker there either. But at Optus we've played some of the worst footy I've ever seen Carlton play, whilst the Dees have notched up two very good wins at Optus, and beat us there last year.

Be afraid Melbourne supporters!!

I think Kouta will have a huge influence on this game, at least 20+ possessions, and 3 or 4 goals!

He probably wont even get a touch...but we can always hope he does well.

We have a very good record at Colonial and we always seem to play well, so I that makes me more confident.

Originally posted by Stucey

He probably wont even get a touch...but we can always hope he does well.

i think all go with that... rather than what you had up the top... im not affraid on him kicking a bag of goals - someones bound to do it, but im worried on him having a big impact on the game. nothing too major, just being there to help him out of trouble when ever they need it.

but over all, i think we should be right!

Although he kicked 3 goals, he was not a problem. He lacked a bit of touch which you would expect. I am amazed he can run around with the knee brace. I was behind the goals so I got a good view of it and it was huge.

I have to say I wasn't that impressed... He took easy kicks, hanging at the back of the packs to get his three, and when he coughed it up, he was horribly slow in chasing...

this may all seem a bit harsh, but c'mon we gotta kick carlton when they're down ...

the perfect play was robertson's reply to koutas second...

Originally posted by Terry Aldermans Arm
I have to say I wasn't that impressed... He took easy kicks, hanging at the back of the packs to get his three, and when he coughed it up, he was horribly slow in chasing...

Do you mean he was hanging at the back of packs to get his 3rd goal, or all 3?

The other two were from contested marks (should have had another in the third quarter except the stupid umpire reversed it when Neitz had done the same thing to Livingston down the other end.)

Originally posted by The Spornstar

The other two were from contested marks (should have had another in the third quarter except the stupid umpire reversed it when Neitz had done the same thing to Livingston down the other end.)
Sure we had the better of the umpiring, but don't act as though Carlton never gets the betterof it. Remember a dark day at Princess Park 10 years ago where the free kick count was 44-10 in Carltons favour? :mad: ;) :D

Originally posted by The Spornstar

No mate 3 goals was about right, because although the first contest was wrongly paid against Kouta (happened right in front of us) His 2nd mark & subsequent goal came via a very blatant push in the back on Ellis. His 3rd goal was a little lucky but he did earn 2 of his goals with classy play, good luck to him.