Williamstown player!!

Saintsation23

saints
Jem Dukes seemed to have the goods this year around the footy, but i was told he is giving footy away. Love watching him in the VFL, can anyone confirm this?

Could seriously play for the pies i reckon.. got versatility and is a big body!

He's definitely interesting. 195/97, won the Williamstown B&F and made the VFL team of the year, and he's still only 23. However, I doubt we need anymore tall forwards.

Also, Jason Cloke was runner up in Williamstowns B&F despite playing 8 games for Collingwood during the year, which I feel is very impressive.

However, one guy I'd really like to look at for at least a rookie spot is Jackson Barling. He was apparently close to getting a spot last year, and went on to play for Williamstown and do a pretty good job. He's a big unit (192/91) and he won the VFL's equivalent of the Rising Star this year playing in defense.

Considering that we've had a close look at him, he's done so well, and we could use some extra tall defenders, I'd hope we give him a shot.

No offence pal, but Cloke could play 200 games of vfl footy !!

Cloke could also play 100 games at AFL Level. Jason Cloke had a great patch in the VFL, and the reason for this is because Mick dropped him (obvious reasons, and not because he had 5 goals kicked on him). Performed and Mick never gave him another chance. I thought when you perform in the seconds, and someone doesn't in the seniors, that player should be rewarded. J Cloke wasn't, despite being in the best every week, and IMO our best player in Round 6.

Good to see Dukes in the VFL Team of the Year.

I guess we see alot of this now, You have good VFL Players, who never made it at AFL Level, but were meant to play VFL (Ben Beams, Clinton Alleway, James Podsiadly, Justin Crow for example) Dukes is one of those VFL Players, and hopefully he doesn't give it up. Never will play AFL, nor should he.

i say we should have a good look at ian callinan (tassie devils) he's young quick and talented n should b rewarded with an afl contract + he won the vfl player of the year

vinnie_vegas69 said:
He's definitely interesting. 195/97, won the Williamstown B&F and made the VFL team of the year, and he's still only 23. However, I doubt we need anymore tall forwards.

Also, Jason Cloke was runner up in Williamstowns B&F despite playing 8 games for Collingwood during the year, which I feel is very impressive.

However, one guy I'd really like to look at for at least a rookie spot is Jackson Barling. He was apparently close to getting a spot last year, and went on to play for Williamstown and do a pretty good job. He's a big unit (192/91) and he won the VFL's equivalent of the Rising Star this year playing in defense.

Considering that we've had a close look at him, he's done so well, and we could use some extra tall defenders, I'd hope we give him a shot.

Defiantley agree on the Jackson barling issue. Kid has a physique for footy, needs to tighten up on his man but would definatley agree that he is worth at least a rookie spot to see how he goes. Have seen a few Willy games and he does seem likely....

Went to school with Dukes, massive unit who can move with a booming kick. I remember we had an assembly for the whole school when he got drafted to Carlton a while back. Never cut it, but has shown improvement in the last couple years, might be worth giving him a go.