Worst player to put on a Crows jumper?

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Remember that friday night game at the MCG in 2001 where we came out after 1/2 time and "sliced and diced" Richmond. We killed them all over the ground. All over the ground that is except for Full Forward where Adam Richardson was getting towelled by David Bourke. I mean FFS David Bourke???? That was the end of Richo.

Was living in Melbourne at the time and went to that game with all my Richmond mates. Absolutely sensational. I don't think any Richmond player came within about 20m of Andrew McLeod for the whole game.

How about that bloke at the London match on Saturday night... pulled on a Crows jumper but forgot his daks and went running across the field with his block and tackle bouncing every which way...

Surely he's get a guernsey in the Crows "Worst Ever".... ;)

Without a doubt Aaron Keating the the 'luckest' player in the history of the VFL/AFL..........................how many other players can say I was a dud and a hack I played three games and have a Premiership medallion????????:rolleyes:

It's just wrong:(

Gary Lyon envy's AK:eek:

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Without a doubt Aaron Keating the the 'luckest' player in the history of the VFL/AFL..........................how many other players can say I was a dud and a hack I played three games and have a Premiership medallion????????:rolleyes:

It's just wrong:(

Gary Lyon envy's AK:eek:

this has irked me since the GF! the turkey then went on to win a premiership with Norwood the next week! Golly it must have been his "lucky week"

k
xx

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
this has irked me since the GF! the turkey then went on to win a premiership with Norwood the next week! Golly it must have been his "lucky week"

k
xx

And acted like a complete tool at the Crows and Norwood premiership celebrations...the way he acted you'd think he kicked the winning goal...not sat on the bench for most of the game and hardly get a touch:mad:

Re: Re: David Gallagher

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
?? hardly the worst player going.

You're kidding aren't you...

Most crap players have one redeeming feature.

If they're not a strong mark they can usually find the footy...
If they're not quick and pacey they've got some strength and presence...
If they're no good with their hands they can usually kick it a long way and vice-versa...
If they're not skilled with hand or foot they're usually courageous...
If they're no good at ground level they're usually good in the air...
If they're all round crap and know it they usually try doubly hard to make an extra effort when they're on the field...

Long story short, David Gallagher had NO one redeeming feature:

*He couldn't kick long, direct or accurately...
*He couldn't take a contested grab...
*He couldn't find the ball - contested or uncontested...
*He didn't have decent hands...
*His presence, effort and courage non-existant - you'd never find him filling gaps in the back-50 or on the bottom of a pack...
*Had no defensive abilities... couldn't spoil, tackle or shepherd...

Basically of the other names that spring to mind...

*Eddie Hocking was quick...
*Aaron Keating and Lucas Herbert could make a contest with their presence and size...
*Alan Bartlett was strong and could fill space thus cutting off leads...
*Daniel Schell is tall and can take a grab...

Basically, David Gallagher was sh|thouse and was delisted from the only Carlton side to win the wooden spoon. Nuff said.

Re: Re: Re: David Gallagher

Originally posted by dyertribe

If they're no good with their hands they can usually kick it a long way and vice-versa...
If they're all round crap and know it they usually try doubly hard to make an extra effort when they're on the field...

*His presence, effort and courage non-existant - you'd never find him filling gaps in the back-50 or on the bottom of a pack...

*Aaron Keating and Lucas Herbert could make a contest with their presence and size...

Basically, David Gallagher was sh|thouse and was delisted from the only Carlton side to win the wooden spoon. Nuff said.

I have to say one thing about David Gallagher - I personally felt (and this is my opinion only) that he actually tried really hard. He just didn't have the skill level for AFL. This is the reason he isn't playing at AFL level anymore.

k
xx

Re: Re: Re: David Gallagher

Look that's utter bollocks. gallagher wasn't a bad lad at all, he could find the ball, which can't be said for everyone. Watched at the teal cup carnival where he was vic metro's vice captain. we earmarked him that day. we drafted him with one of the picks we got from freo for mod's.
he played a number of pretty good games for us early on, though not so much towards the end.

he had so little talent, we followed him for a year, drafted him high, played him consistently early on, and so little talent another team wanted to offer him a contract and trade for him.

so it didn't work out, many players don't make it, but this vitriol is senseless. If he's the worse player you ever saw at the AFC, gee I don't know what it says about your judgement.

Brendan Logan, andrew geddes, brent williams, romano negri, and my fav Allen Bartlett were awful players. though I am struggling to argue against Aaron Keating who is a good bloke but a poor footy player.

Though I have to say this reminds me just a little of liptak bashing.
In the early days when we wee getting caned at optus, windy hill, moorabin etc. no one was getting a kick, and liptak would touch the ball 20 - 25 times and clanger his way through plenty of them. You'd get the yob supporters who would scream he was the worst player ever, never mentioning 10 other players who hadn't touched the pill, because their attention span didn't stretch that far.

Re: Re: Re: Re: David Gallagher

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
Look that's utter bollocks. gallagher wasn't a bad lad at all, he could find the ball, which can't be said for everyone. Watched at the teal cup carnival where he was vic metro's vice captain. we earmarked him that day. we drafted him with one of the picks we got from freo for mod's.
he played a number of pretty good games for us early on, though not so much towards the end.

he had so little talent, we followed him for a year, drafted him high, played him consistently early on, and so little talent another team wanted to offer him a contract and trade for him.

so it didn't work out, many players don't make it, but this vitriol is senseless. If he's the worse player you ever saw at the AFC, gee I don't know what it says about your judgement.

One of the kindest posts I've seen re David Gallagher. He doesn't call you "Dad" does he?? ;)

Seriously, he was the most frustrating footballer I've seen for a long time. I'll give you a couple of points - he had a ton of courage, and could find the footy.. But whereas we applaud players with the footy smarts, Gallagher had the footy dumbs.

He would get the ball and stand there frozen like a rabbit in a spotlight wondering what the f*** to do with it. On the rare occasions he actually got rid of it, it would be a ridiculous option and result in a turnover.

He was a dumb dumb footballer - and that's unarguable. I was a very happy man when the club traded him.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: David Gallagher

Originally posted by macca23

Seriously, he was the most frustrating footballer I've seen for a long time. I'll give you a couple of points - he had a ton of courage, and could find the footy.. But whereas we applaud players with the footy smarts, Gallagher had the footy dumbs.

lol,
I agree with you. he seemed to be overawed at times, but he wasn't without ability.
Which is why he ain't the worst ever, far, far from it.

the dumbest footy players today are trent croad & matthew richardson, I don't think he was quite that dumb - was he?

Martin Mattner is pretty crap.

Ken McGregor used to be the player me and my mates would blame whenever the Crows lost because he was so pitifully awful before his newfound CHB form.

Originally posted by spindoctor

Ken McGregor used to be the player me and my mates would blame whenever the Crows lost because he was so pitifully awful before his newfound CHB form.

Spin doctor,
picking on kenny is out of line, I don't see what you want?

Malthouse said he was his pick for all australian CHB, and we collected him at pick 86 or something ridiculous. He was one of the most talented Juniors in the country, but sat out his final season with a knee reconstruction.

he's shown a real ability to compete since day 1, and given his age he's well on his way to being a VERY valuable player for us.

geez, what does a player have to do to get a little recognition...

Have to agree about Kenny. He shouldn't be mentioned in this thread along with the duds.

He'd have to be in the top 3 CHB's in the AFL, and he's still very young. Adelaide see him as their 10 year CHB.

I hope all our other young players develop as well as Kenny has.

Maybe because early in his career, particularly as a forward, he was so goddarn awful, and he will always have the stigma attached to him of being the pick we could have snared Pavlich with.

That's an unfair stigma.

16 clubs had the chance to take Pavlich that year as a 17 year old, not just Adelaide.

All of them, including Adelaide chose not to. How wrong they all were!!!

... yet you wan't to make Ben Marsh a protected species... :confused: :eek:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: David Gallagher

No it's not. Gallagher was, is and always will be garbage.
Agree 100%. Reckon he was the most fustrating player to watch. :eek:

Worst player to put on a Crows jumper?