carltonfan43

Miami Heat
personally i would not trade fisher he has very good hands in the best in the league and once he gets his kicking right this kid will be a superstar. i know there are many threads about this so i thought id make 1 with a poll

Realistically, everybody is tradeable for the right price but considering what other clubs would offer for him(2nd round pick?), I would say that we shouldn't trade him.

I would only trade him if he wanted to leave the Navy Blues.

We need to keep him. He'll be a valuable player for us in the future.

Fisher is rubbish. His had his chances and really has been dissapointing. I think his been at the club for 5 years and still doesnt know how to kick.

Id do everything to keep thornton and put fisher on the trade table.

He's a talented player, but I reckon we try to play him too deep. As a leading half forward I think he can be a lot like Chris Tarrant. He leads strong, his marking is unbelievable. He just keeps getting too close to the man on the mark when kicking for goal.

To answer the question: I think he's still a required player in our best 18. I know we're developing forward line depth, but his best footy is quality, and I don't want to strengthen another team for a speculative pick.

We need to keep the good players. Delist the crap ones. And use every decent draft pick we have available. Stick with that formula and we'll be fine.

chimpreo said:
Fisher is rubbish. His had his chances and really has been dissapointing. I think his been at the club for 5 years and still doesnt know how to kick.

Actually - he debuted in 2003 after being picked up at the end of 2002 in the national draft - by my arithmetic that is 3 years of playing at the Club. During this time he had an ACL reconstruction - and a shoulder reco. Give him a chance mate - he has had some shocking luck. He will prove a real asset in 2007!

WalkerTexasRanger said:
Actually - he debuted in 2003 after being picked up at the end of 2002 in the national draft - by my arithmetic that is 3 years of playing at the Club. During this time he had an ACL reconstruction - and a shoulder reco. Give him a chance mate - he has had some shocking luck. He will prove a real asset in 2007!
4 years :D

Jeremias said:
I would not be shopping him around. The only way he will leave is if he wants to, or if we are given an offer we cannot refuse.

Let other clubs bid for him.

I wouldn't trade him ordinarily, but if he wants to leave and we got an exceptionally good offer for him then we would have to take it.
Agree. Would hate to see him traded, because he does have talent - he has been injury ravaged but if he can get himself right he will be a very good player.

IMO, I think he'll be very valuable if we played him in a Ryan O'keefe role (which he did kinda play towards the end of the season). He looks suited to this and his field kicking isn't as bad as some make it out to be. Thoughts?

blues4flag said:
Agree. Would hate to see him traded, because he does have talent - he has been injury ravaged but if he can get himself right he will be a very good player.

IMO, I think he'll be very valuable if we played him in a Ryan O'keefe role (which he did kinda play towards the end of the season). He looks suited to this and his field kicking isn't as bad as some make it out to be. Thoughts?

yes that what i think we should do. we are all complaining how he is terrible for kicking for goal well if he is a lead up forward then he can still use his terrific hands and set up other players for goals. also he is 192cm i think and he is very fast for his height so his speed can be a worry for opposition teams as well

blues4flag said:

You read my mind on this one, if Fish can get fit and stay fit for an extended period Ryan O'Keefe is exactly the type of role he can play, has some of the best hands in the league and his kicking is just a matter of extended game time without interruption, he has great endurance when up and running and will run his guts out for the team, he is 192cm which most people don't realise, which is also the same with O'Keefe they look smaller than they are, definetely should not be trade bait. Our Forward half could be one of the most potent in the league in time, and with some luck with injury and the continued improvement of our midfield, players like Fish and Waite will be essential to our structure and will become superstars in there own right, to trade them now when we are just starting to improve would be a major step in the wrong direction. The one part of our team that we already have in place is our forward line, which is ready to fire as soon as we complete the rest of the puzzle further up the ground.:thumbsu:

Go Blues:thumbsu: