lacrow

Dodgers, Lakers
Hi all, I've finally recovered from the beating I took in my last thread. :)

What are your thoughts on Biglands? I think the guy has real talent and should be our #1 ruckman. There is no doubt in my mind he's better than Clarke and I think that given more P/T he'd really start to dominate around the ground in addition to the taps.

Agree/Disagree?

My thoughts on Biglands are that I would love him at the Saints. He is a monster and seems to be very mobile. Takes good grabs and kicks some goals. Should be number 1 at crows but Clarke is one of the best tap ruck in the comp.

If he could have a greater influence in general play, i.e. take more marks, he could be one of the best ruckmen in the comp. He's certainly got the potential.

I think big Rhett is a real asset for us. Hopefully Gary will give him more playing time next year to help him mature for when Matty Clarke does decide to hang up on the boots. Just off memory was Collingwood at some stage trying to steal Rhett off us?

Originally posted by DaveW
If he could have a greater influence in general play, i.e. take more marks, he could be one of the best ruckmen in the comp. He's certainly got the potential.

Not easy when you're sitting on the bench for half the match.

The man definitely needs to be playing a lot more. I think he is one of those players that thrives on the workload. The more he gets the better he plays. I get the impression that he is trying too hard to make an impression with his field play because he thinks he's only got 10 minutes before he's whipped off.

One of those blokes (like Ben Hart) that should stay on the field. He will get better the longer the season goes if played like that, imo.

Originally posted by naughty monkey

The man definitely needs to be playing a lot more. I think he is one of those players that thrives on the workload. The more he gets the better he plays. I get the impression that he is trying too hard to make an impression with his field play because he thinks he's only got 10 minutes before he's whipped off.

One of those blokes (like Ben Hart) that should stay on the field. He will get better the longer the season goes if played like that, imo.
I agree 110%.

The bloke thrives on the work load. He definetly needs to be given more time on the ground. If he is not in the ruck, why not play him in defence. That way he is spending more time on the ground and learning a new role.

I really believe if he spends 70% of the time on the ground he could improve his game out of sight. When ever he was given a lot of time on the ground he has played very well.

Rhett is a fantastic ruckman and has I believe alot of 'untapped' potential, I think personally he should be rested up in the forwardline and not on the bench, he takes a great mark and he has a decent kick on him, I reakon he could do some damage:D ;)

Originally posted by gosaints
My thoughts on Biglands are that I would love him at the Saints. He is a monster and seems to be very mobile. Takes good grabs and kicks some goals. Should be number 1 at crows but Clarke is one of the best tap ruck in the comp.

What is it with Vic-based fans and Rhett Biglands? My Collingwood mate talks about him like he's the white Adam Goodes :confused:

I reckon he's a great ruckman and in the top 3 in the AFL. I ran a poll going back a couple of months ago on "Who was the better ruckman?" and the vote was split pretty even; which is not surprising because they compliment each other well (Rhett and Matty).

I do agree with maccas_1 though about resting him in the forward line.

Another thing Id like to see Biglands do is to "smash" the ball forward at the centre bounce with our runners streaming forward...apart from taking more marks in the hole at CHB

Originally posted by lacrow
Agree/Disagree?

Agree!

I also agree with the general consensus that Rhett thrives with extra game time. He needs to be on the ground more.

I'd like to see him play forward a bit more. Get him to bust open some packs. He won't take a lot of marks up forward but it will be a bit tricky for the opposition to try and match up on him with his size and mibility. He has had some brief moments of success up forward in spurts and he can always take the ruck taps in the forward zone.

Personally I would use this method to get him an extra 10-20 minutes of game time each week.

I think Rhett is a great ruckman, although he needs to take more marks around the ground. :(

Rhett is certainly a player who needs a bit more game time. I remember in 2001, the game against Carlton in round 19, I think, he stayed on the ground 4 most of the game. He should get 2 do that more often. :p

Rhett is a shocking kick and thats coming from a crows fan. He is a very good tap ruckman though and will be required to control the ruck division after Clarke goes.

I see him as a pretty good defender as well. He has been someone who can go a back on the big forwards

Rhett's a great player in my opinion, definitely one of the better ruckman in the AFL.

His effort in the last quarter against Brisbane in the semi - final was amazing. He was punching the ball as hard as he could, and it definitely made a difference, which really shows that he is up to it.

Just a pity that our midfielders weren't up to scratch that night.:(

Anyway, at 26-27 years of age he is still pretty young and has a good future ahead of him. He's better in the centre square than Matty Clarke IMO and can take some good marks when he really tries.

Hope to see him getting more game time come 2004.

I love Rhett!!!

He is fantastic. A great player. Loves the challenges and never lets us down.

k
xx

Plus I have seen him on the dance floor - doesn't quite have Patrick Swayzes dance moves - but he sure does look like him!

Originally posted by naughty monkey

I thought he showed all of the above against Brisbane. I'd like to see him stay on for most of the game even if he had a stint or two up forward.

Originally posted by topjars

Another thing Id like to see Biglands do is to "smash" the ball forward at the centre bounce with our runners streaming forward...apart from taking more marks in the hole at CHB

Agreed , I don't know if anyone has mentioned it yet in this thread but he did that in our final against Brissy and it proved to be fairly effective.
I agree with everyone about Rhett- He would improve out of sight if he was given more game time. I wouldn't mind seeing him resting in defence taking on some of the bigger, stronger forwards.
Overall he's a great player and an all round great guy.:)

Originally posted by macca23
I thought he showed all of the above against Brisbane. I'd like to see him stay on for most of the game even if he had a stint or two up forward.
I really think that Biglands would improve out of sight if he was given the challenge of rucking for say 75% of the game. I think his confidence would be sky high and he would also improve his field play considerably. I think 2004 is the year we really need to throw him to the wolves. I personally think he would give us another dimension and lot more flexibility.

Hey don't discount Clarke. When he puts his mind to it he can take a big pack mark. As was proven during his occasional mark late in the season. Pity he can't put his mind to it more often...

I think the sharing of the ruck b/w Bigglands and Clarke was done pretty well by Ayres in 2003. They're 2 different types of rucks so it's good to have that variety against different opponents. It will also most likely extend the playing careers of both these guys.

What I would like to see is Bigglands, when he's not in the ruck, resting in the forward or back line rather than warming the pine. He has just about the best leap I have ever seen for a guy his size. In 2003 when we had so many problems with injured forwards, I would have thought it would have been obvious to play him up forward a little more.

I don't mind seeing Clarke on the bench when he's not in the ruck as he is pretty useless everywhere else.

Clarke led the league in hitouts, Biglands finished 3rd. Not bad considering Rhett's game time.

Biglands can also run, chase, tackle, mark and handball. His kicking could improve.

While Clarke wins most hitouts, his lack of ability in all other areas, and this is supported by stats, virtually means we have 17 vs. 18 on the ground after each ruck contest.

Time for Biglands to take over the ruck in my view.

PS. With opposition coaches so focussed with matchups there is no such thing as a rest in defence in the AFL anymore. The moment you throw a resting ruckman into a set defensive position the opposition coach will have his fastest forward there with bells on!!!

Cheers.

:D

Its time Biglands took charge as the lead ruckman for us and Clarke rucked off the bench...he isnt any use anywhere else.

Given more game time Biglands would be averaging 10 touches and 5 marks a game and might kick 10 goals for the year. Handy as hell, huge body, huge leap.

Originally posted by tinman
Clarke led the league in hitouts, Biglands finished 3rd. Not bad considering Rhett's game time.

Biglands can also run, chase, tackle, mark and handball. His kicking could improve.

While Clarke wins most hitouts, his lack of ability in all other areas, and this is supported by stats, virtually means we have 17 vs. 18 on the ground after each ruck contest.

Time for Biglands to take over the ruck in my view.
Good post tinman.

Biglands should take over the #1 ruck mantle in 2004, by rucking around 20 mins of most quarters. Whilst he is not quite as good as Clarke in the tapouts, he is not far off. However, his ground work (as he is deceptively quick) is far superior to Clarke & should only get better. ie. He has plenty of improvement in him yet. Jars needs to work on his kicking too ... but if Perrie can be taught to kick properly, so can Rhett.

Still like the horses for courses policy, where if 1 ruckman is struggling against the opposition, that the other gets the majority of minutes. However, we should be aiming to give Rhett more game time where possible.