Autopsy AFL 2023 First Semi Final (Week 2) - Demons v Blues Fri Sept 15th 7:50pm EST (MCG)

Who will win and by how much?

• Demons by a goal or less

Votes: 11 5.4%
  • Blues by a goal or less

Votes: 17 8.4%
  • Demons by 7 - 20

Votes: 67 33.2%
  • Blues by 7 - 20

Votes: 73 36.1%
  • Demons by a lot

Votes: 16 7.9%
  • Blues by a lot

Votes: 17 8.4%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 0.5%

Melbourne honestly made so many dumb decisions it's hard to pick just one. One that didn't look as bad on tv as it did at the ground was McVee's decision to overcommit trying to spoil Docherty (who then kicked it to Acres). Terrible terrible judgement , he could have conceded the mark but held Docherty up , made him kick over the mark and Melbourne might have had time to flood back to defend.

Earlier in the game is the one I'm talking about.
Which one? The only one that was inconclusive was the Carlton one where they literally looked at a single frame of footage for less than 5 seconds and deemed it touched.
All the others were reviewed properly and called correctly.

Imagine the arrogance in refusing to play Grundy in case he played well and proved you wrong.
Imagine having the luxury of 2 x #1 rucks in the league? One has a broken toe and you're struggling for tall forwards.
You're never going to stop someone like Gawn from playing a final with a broken toe, as any AFL captain would.
Just plonk him in the goal square and play Grundy as your ruck.
Force Weitering to keep Gawn accountable (too tall) and the game is done.

Devastating loss. 17 behinds. Massive choke. Nothing really went out way. Goal reviews never went our way, 50m penalties against constantly, we hit the post so many times, and costly misses.

Carlton were ok, but we simply couldn't kick the ball through the big sticks. It was just so frustrating. A massive choke.

We were never the same team once Petty went down. Melksham was the cherry on top. Van Rooyen was the cherry on the cherry.

Devastating loss. 17 behinds. Massive choke. Nothing really went out way. Goal reviews never went our way, 50m penalties against constantly, we hit the post so many times, and costly misses.

Carlton were ok, but we simply couldn't kick the ball through the big sticks. It was just so frustrating. A massive choke.

We were never the same team once Petty went down. Melksham was the cherry on top. Van Rooyen was the cherry on the cherry.
Petty was a massive loss. The one bloke who could clunk those mindless long bombs.

Is there vision of it? Thought he might have got hit in the throat and that's why he was spitting stuff out. But yeah, reckon they'll be in trouble if found to have been a head hit.
I didn't get a good look sadly. Was hoping someone might have some good vision of it.

Doesn’t help when Gawn misses from 15 metres out , another 5 metres out on an angle , and then hits the winning goal into the post, and then literally all Viney had to do was kick it over Weitering head to a demon player who would had the mark , if that turn doesent happen you win

Cm

Carlton need to tie up some loose ends with horrible decision making by some players over handball which is panic overkill Brisbane will murder them but Brisbane would have annihilated Melbourne.
May sort of showed up late last quarter, not real good and Melbourne kick themselves out of it.
Both teams play turnover footy and both sides have too many players with no footy smarts, just athleticism, that's what causes panic and not taking time to think. Like out on the boundary last minute of the game the wrong move could have killed them except for one team mate being available behind the ball
They had got in front and almost stuffed it.
Frustrating game hard and close but disappointing .
No Premiers played tonight
So the real top sides will decide if after next weekend.
Melbourne should have added a big help to that team a big addition for me would have been Grundy, he could have changed that result
Pretty stupid Melbourne!
May didn't show up late last quarter. He was good all game. Although, how he didn't give up a free to Curnow when he just bodied into him on the boundary with zero attempt at the footy is beyond me. He's very good at throwing his body around without infringing, but we aren't allowed to talk about the obvious missed frees that didn't go Carlton's way.

How useless a commentator is Brian Taylor.

One of the most extraordinary finishes to a final you’ll ever see, the siren goes…and he’s babbling about it being the first time in 40 years or something that Carlton and Collingwood have made the last 4.

Knowing this guy gets handsomely paid to monumentally **** up big moments like this (he did it with the Sheed goal in the 2018 GF too) is one of life’s truly unfair things.

Dees tried their best to lose that on their own in the last.
Couldnt have got it done without the umps though. Well done again 22.
If you polled 10k Carlton supporters about Nathan Williamson, 9k+ will tell you they don't want him anywhere near any of our games and that he reams us every time.

41 disposals and 2 goals from Butters against Melb earlier on in the year - no tag.

34 disposals and 2 goals from Sam Walsh tonight in a knockout final where he was literally the difference - no tag.

Crazy that Goodwin used to use Harmes to lock down, and now just lets superstars roam free in extremely crucial matches.

Utterly bizarre coaching.

May didn't show up late last quarter. He was good all game. Although, how he didn't give up a free to Curnow when he just bodied into him on the boundary with zero attempt at the footy is beyond me. He's very good at throwing his body around without infringing, but we aren't allowed to talk about the obvious missed frees that didn't go Carlton's way.
The audacity to even criticise May is mind boggling. If he could've got Brownlow votes tonight, he would have got 15 votes. One of the biggest baths of any player in the last 20 years. Absolutely destroyed Curnow. It was so one-sided that you'd almost have to think about subbing Curnow off that's how one-sided it was. An amazing game by May.

41 disposals and 2 goals from Butters against Melb earlier on in the year - no tag.

34 disposals and 2 goals from Sam Walsh tonight in a knockout final where he was literally the difference - no tag.

Crazy that Goodwin used to use Harmes to lock down, and now just lets superstars roam free in extremely crucial matches.

Utterly bizarre coaching.
There's no point in analysing anything else. We kicked 9.17. That's all. Better team lost. Or at the very least, we were better in every facet of the game except for the final kick. A bit stiff with hitting the post 3 times, some goal reviews not going our way too. Nothing went right tonight. It's a shame because the dees were the only team that could beat Collingwood. It's going to be a fizzer of a final now.

The audacity to even criticise May is mind boggling. If he could've got Brownloe votes tonight, he would have got 15 votes. One of the biggest baths of any player in the last 20 years. Absolutely destroyed Curnow. It was so one-sided that you'd almost have to think about subbing Curnow off that's how one-sided it was. An amazing game by May.
May was epic I agree , blues fans shouldn’t whinge about maggots tonight at all

There's no point in analysing anything else. We kicked 9.17. That's all. Better team lost. Or at the very least, we were better in every facet of the game except for the final kick. A bit stiff with hitting the post 3 times, some goal reviews not going our way too. Nothing went right tonight. It's a shame because the dees were the only team that could beat Collingwood. It's going to be a fizzer of a final now.
Bad kicking is bad footy though at the end of the day

Better team lost.
If you were the better team you would've won.

We didn't get to have that excuse vs Melb and Collingwood last year, so you won't either.

And I saw you bitching about score review, yet again. You're one of the worst losers on this site.