Event Awards Night

16d6eb9e57e081aa20051da69187eaa9.png

That too.

Congrats Freakie
Congrats pantskyle
Congrats Wise Guy Sam.

Cheers for the shout out in the acceptance speech and I'm glad I could help you across the line into legendary SFA status.

Something quickly to note, I'm yet to dig through Mobbs Medal stuff for past seasons in depth yet, but 27 votes is the new record to win, overtaking 22 in Season 07 (Jackson_Rules and Rooboy74 won that).

21 from Easty puts him third of all time, at the mo.

Something quickly to note, I'm yet to dig through Mobbs Medal stuff for past seasons in depth yet, but 27 votes is the new record to win, overtaking 22 in Season 07 (Jackson_Rules and Rooboy74 won that).

21 from Easty puts him third of all time, at the mo.
Technically fourth if WGS, Jackson_Rules and Rooboy were all above him. :)

S15 Hall of Fame
2h87jab.png

SWEET FA HALL OF FAME INDUCTIONS - SEASONS 14 & 15

At the end of Season 13, the novel concept of a Hall Of Fame was put forward, and a few of us put our heads together to nut out six inaugural inductees. It is now a matter for the record books that Deestroy , Fred , Ljp86 , @EKA , boncer34 and myself were the initial awardees.

This process was to be repeated seasonally, with two new inductees at the end of proceedings each time. As we know, Season 15 just finished, and while there was a poll or two, no new inductees were forthcoming during S14.

It is time to pull the runaway train back on track and get a handle on the Hall of Fame. This means supplying you, the salivating public, with two inductees for Season 14, and two more for Season 15.

Two inductees were indeed decided upon at end of S14, it just never got any further than that. Now, it has.

I would like to congratulate the following two players on receiving one of the Sweet FA's highest accolades, induction into the Hall of Fame for Season 14 :

rfctigerarmy
Rich (BB code):
Playing history for RFCTIGERAR, RFCTIGERAM :
Total Games    : 279 
Total Goals    : 285 
Best goal haul : 6 (FURGUM14.17S)
Best disposals : 39 (FURDRA06.04S)
Best dreamteam : 130 (FURWON10.GFS)
Since Season 03, when the Furies commenced, rfcta has been the mainstay of the side. Hundreds of billions of seasons later, he's still turning up and popping through goals. What a career! What a player! What an amazing rfcta post! Welcome!

dougthelegend
Rich (BB code):
Playing history for DOUGTHELEG :
Total Games    : 199 
Total Goals    : 334 
Best goal haul : 9 (BOMRAZ04.20S)
Best disposals : 27 (WONBOM15.05S)
Best dreamteam : 148 (BOMGUM06.19S)
Commencing with the Razors in Season 02, dougthelegend has been a natural leader and highly respected goalkicker with the Bombers since their inception the following year. This continued until the end of Season 10, when doug decided to hang up the boots, and open an incorrect pizza order repair store. But this season just gone he returned to the fold, and was immediately a serviceable player once more, cracking the dreamteam tonne twice. Cheers to doug, a true legend of the game.

Further, it is time to introduce two more players to this esteemed list. Please be upstanding to congratulate the inductees to the Hall of Fame for Season 15 :

Pie 4 Life
Rich (BB code):
Playing history for PIE4LIFE, PIE 4 LIFE :
Total Games    : 213 
Total Goals    : 227 
Best goal haul : 8 (SDRWON08.14S)
Best disposals : 31 (BOMDRA07.02S)
Best dreamteam : 129 (DRASWA05.22S)
The youngest of our four inductees, but by no means the least (not saying he isn't the least, he probably is) is Pie 4 Life, a jovial and industrious player who arrived with a strong desire to make it big in movies, but eventually settled on starting a fantasy footy club instead. Pie 4 Life was the driving force behind the formation of the Dragons, who would later "IT WAS A TAKEOVER, NOT A MERGER" become today's finals specialists the Southern Dragons. While more recently taking a bit of a back seat, his credentials speak for themselves and it is with great pleasure that I welcome Pie 4 Life into the esteemed company of the Hall Of Fame.

@Wally
Rich (BB code):
Playing history for WALLY, WCE_ALL_TH, WCE_ALL_DA :
Total Games    : 198 
Total Goals    : 198 
Best goal haul : 5 (HAWWON10.16S)
Best disposals : 34 (HAWBOM10.20S)
Best dreamteam : 141 (MODHAW10.03S)
Wally (aka WestCoastAllDaWay) was a founding member of the Sweet FA playing base, spending Seasons 01 and 02 with the original Bigfooty Dragons (not to be confused with the new Dragons of Season 07). He then took time off from the game to pursue witches in Maine - reportedly he just liked the way a pitchfork felt butted up against his armpit. In Season 06, Wally returned to the fray, as a major player with (founder of?) the East Side Hawks. He has continued to amass games and hasn't spoken about execution pyres in quite some time. Well done, Wally!

Let's get them all together on stage one more time, to see if any of them kiss.

Rich (BB code):
HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES LIST
Season 13 - Deestroy
            Fred
            ljp86
            EKA
            boncer34
            Mobbenfuhrer
Season 14 - rfctigerarmy
            dougthelegend
Season 15 - Pie 4 Life
            wally

Sweet FA assigned press designate Colin van Chips catches up with rfctigerarmy as he descends the stage ...

What is your earliest memory of the Sweet FA?
Hrmm. I believe my earlier memory of Sweet FA was seeing just how great it was, in it's own little corner of BigFooty, for those of us who wanted something lighthearted serious. A lot of trolling goes on within the other boards at this place which I believe didn't happen on the SFA boards back then and do not now either.

What attracted you about the concept of playing unreal footy?
The Fighting Furies has been and always will be the thought of playing footy with Richmond supporters. We all know what happens each with with Richmond and the same thoughts are aligned with the Furies. The difference being that the Furies wages are generally marginally less but we've been more successful than Richmond since induction to the SFA. We also get perks from a major fast food outlet as our sponsor.

I also wanted to be apart of the most successful club in SFA history. I wasn't going to get that at any other club, so being able to create the Furies was a step in the right direction. When I thought of other clubs, all I thought were that they would be a failing venture. You can tell me if I'm right or right.

Who were your partners in crime back then?
The Furies were up and down a bit in terms of passion in the early days. I was enthusiastic and so were many others, but generally we just had a core group. This included guys like CJH and Richmondfan#1 who were mods at the time. But also kretchy, metallichris, sante, tugga and beaver's army were huge assets and helped steer the club in the right direction and help bring it to what it is today. hougie has just been around for friggin' ages.

Who was the biggest antagonist (these days we substitute the word "flog") back in those days?
How long is a piece of string? Every team had their flogs just like they do now. I've always found the Roys to be the most gentlemen-like (substituted for "soft") and the Mount Buller squadron to be the most Shane Warne (substituted for "spinners"). The thing is, when you have the runs on the board, you don't need to banter as hard and as tough as some other people do. You can show arrogance in other ways. Some "flogs" just have the runs.

When did you realise just how goshdarned good you were?
I started SFA when I was fairly young as a human, so the ego has grown over time. Now I believe I can give a couple of one liners to be considered good enough. My signature also helps. I can have a very minimal statement like a smiley face but my signature allows it to be interpreted differently.

Which would you call your glory years?
Glory years isn't really defined by myself or the Furies. We're like a business trading on the ASX. We're always successful and growing in one way or the other. Glory days were when we won premierships, which we've won the most of to this day, so I have never had any non-glory years and would not know what it feels like. Our first premiership was a fairly special occasion but it's like building the pyramids - timeless and always special.

Do you believe you receive due respect from the Sweet FA community based on what a friggin' legend you are?
False. A lot of people don't know what it's like to start and manage a football club in one of the biggest sporting arenas in the world - the SFA. It's cut-throat. I received statements like "yeah, make the bloody team, we don't care you tosser" threats from other players and/or officials who didn't want me or the Furies here. I pushed through those barriers. I conquered the SFA scene.

Would you say you like the Sweet FA better these days ... or those days? Why?
Oh, for sure now. The SFA is a million times better now. We used to play on old Commodore 64's with 8 bit screens and now we're in 1080p. Doesn't get much better than what it does now. Plus the games come and go a lot quicker. Back then it'd take 1 week* just to complete the match. Both ladies and gentlemen alike were exhausted.

What do you like best about "modern" fantasy footy?
Definitely the rotations. 1 minute you could be a small forward bagging goals from the pocket, the next minute and ruckman and dominating the hitouts. Extended time on the bench is also nice when you want to tuck away a couple of legumes.

What do you like least about ^ ^ ^?
Not a huge fan of legumes.

How excited do you get over match results? Come on, say it. It's just you and me here.
Ok, lets be honest. A close game is a good game. When I've bagged 6 or 7 and we're up by 62 points, the fun starts to get minimal. Slam on a few more and we're up by 74 and it starts to get beyond a joke. tugga chips in with a goal and BILC slides home a behind or two... up to 81. Filthy Sanchez rushes them a behind, but TheCuzEffect receives from Nuffers on the kick-in for another behind to us - still at 81.Finally Equus rushes them another behind and thats the end of the match. So an 80 point victory, in the end, is satisfying but not ideal. I'd prefer to win by more.

How well is the competition being run, iyho?
I do no run the SFA. This is an interview more about me.

Could expansion teams attract you to move team?
Never.

How much longer do you think you can keep pulling the boots on?
As long as the coach wants me in the team and I'm active enough to stay in the team.

Which map is better? Speck's or Mobbs'. More information please on why you said Mobbs'
Mobbs, I don't even understand this question. What the hell?

Do you have any higher ambitions in fantasy footy?
I would like to kick the most goals in a season. I would like to have the post possessions in a season. I would like the most hitouts in a season. All in the same season.

If you could make one change to the game, it would be ... ?
Actual player payments. Like, for real. Direct deposit straight into my bank account.

Have you ever considered doing away with your real-life existence altogether, and living solely within the confines of the Sweet FA community?
I have tossed and turned over the thought. I am going to have to categorically say that SFA has too many derelicts for my liking so I would like to conform solely within SFA, yes.

If anything were possible, what over-the-top additional feature would you like to see introduced to the competition?
I would love to see an oranges eating .gif at half time.

Finally, say something to the readers, as though you're in a rocking chair shaking a walking stick of seniority at 'em.
Mobbenfuhrer has edited this answer by rfctigerarmy as it was deemed inappropriate. As a substitution to the text originally published, Mobbenfuhrer would like to congratulate how good his role has been in rfctigerarmy's success because without him, his career would not have existed.

An amazing RFCTA post... Welcome!

* just... not true at all.

Great night everyone, congrats Boncer, good job my man!! Also congratulations to WGS, well deserved mate. All the other award winners as well, good s**t, well done.

pantskyle, welcome to the EKA club my brother!!!

99% boncer34 ... I just did that little bit up there ^

Just because my thanks to Bonce is a lot larger than yours, doesn't make yours any less special. Especially coming from me, I don't give out compliments just like that, you know.