Certified Legendary Thread Chrisco Hampers - who in their right mind buys them ?

A great description of the Chrisco world of scamming.

The Chrisco company originally formed in the UK, where it was moderately successful. While Britain is riddled with boganesque Chavs, the founders recognised that, with its apparently far more limited grasp of accounting, the bogan populace in the antipodes could make them rich beyond their wildest imaginings. They moved to New Zealand, and from there, the company crossed the Tasman to storm the main bogan stronghold in 1997. Today, it fleeces over a million bogans per year, and turns over a cool quarter billion. This phenomenal cash harvesting often goes unnoticed, as Chrisco is a seasonal business without prominent shopfronts, and bogans rarely read anything with numbers

http://thingsboganslike.com/2009/12/24/55-chrisco-hampers/

I know a woman who normally goes to church every Sunday, but skips church to stay home when she knows her Chrisco hamper is being delivered on a Sunday.
Makes sense, once you know Chrisco hamper has arrived all your prayers have been answered ! In a way chrisco is like the miracle of turning water into wine but in reverse.............turns hard earned (or from Centrelink) money into rubbish !!

It's literally a poker machine. Does the same thing: chews up money and spits out the odd token offering.

Essential Baby Forum has some nice reading on Chrisco, like 'we~are~family':

"We do, this will be our 4th year I think.

We love it, and have had no issues (even when there was a massive stuff up for thousands of customers a few years back). We only get hampers which have things we we would normally buy, no junk ones etc, and find we only do a light shopping trips for fresh fruit, diary etc for probably 6 months following delivery.

We go with Castle Hampers, and get 4 meat hampers (1 chicken, 1 roasts, 1 BBQ and 1 combo), one pasta hamper, and then sauces for all the meats. We have a huge chest freezer which fits it all the meat in, luckily.

We found Castle to be cheaper when DH did the maths, only by $20 but better in our pocket! Plus they have great little surprises in the boxes for the kids to play with while we unpack it al"

And 'Bedge' had this to say:

"Hi girls,

We got our delivery advice from Chrisco late last week. Our order is coming on 3rd December. Yay!
Here is what we are getting:
Hot breakfast - 2 boxs (yummmmy!)
Primo Smallgoods - 1 box (this is an awesome box!!! Got this one last year)
Indulgent Treats - 1 box (looking forward to this one, haven't ordered it before)
Party Soft Drinks - 2 boxs
Aussie Meats - 1 box"

And this particularly emotional story from 'butterfli':

"I love getting my Chrisco Christmas hampers. Today I even ordered for next year, lol! This year I am getting the Family Christmas chicken hamper & the Kids craft hamper. For next year I ordered the Family Christmas chicken hamper, crayola boys hamper & crayola girls hamper. That way I have food, I have some little presents for my DD and presents for my newphews!

I love love LOVE Chrisco!!!!!! When I was younger I always saw the adds on tv, and thought to myself 'that is such a good idea!' Then when I was 18(14 years ago) I had a MAJOR car crash, I now have an Aquired Brain Injury, and I just cant cope with going into the supermarket anywhere near Christmas time, Its too much for my brain to handle!!!!! Chrisco is a life saver"

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/lofiversion/index.php/t1026313.html

The Mayans were wrong. The world ended sometime back.

Clearly they are a viable option for the financially challenged. I agree they are a rip off but some people simply lack the will power to not spend their entire pay packet every fortnight/month. For these people the Chrisco hampers are a good idea.

lol..thread comes up 3rd on a google search of 'Crisco hampers':thumbsu:

Certified Legendary Thread - Chrisco Hampers - who in their right ...

www.bigfooty.com › ... › Not Footy RelatedGeneral Discussion
Nov 21, 2012 – As Christmas approaches and bogans all across the country await their hard earned chrisco christmas hamper it begs the question why ?
i couldn't be sure but that is possibly because google knows that your are on bf all the time and has tailored your search results to suit your browsing. just speculating though.

Clearly they are a viable option for the financially challenged. I agree they are a rip off but some people simply lack the will power to not spend their entire pay packet every fortnight/month. For these people the Chrisco hampers are a good idea.
That me be the thing we are missing - also the fact that the idea of the hamper genuinely makes some people happy. The problem I have is that these poor sods seem to be getting so little for their money. One really wonders if there is an opening in the market for another player who is prepared to operate with smaller profit margins and give these people a better deal.

But I don't want to spoil the spirit of this thread. Carry on............ :)

That me be the thing we are missing - also the fact that the idea of the hamper genuinely makes some people happy. The problem I have is that these poor sods seem to be getting so little for their money. One really wonders if there is an opening in the market for another player who is prepared to operate with smaller profit margins and give these people a better deal.

Good thinking, set a up company called "Krisco" and offer 30 packets of 2 minute noodles and 60 bottles of expired tomato sauce and undercut the chrisco empire. This strategy will depend on the elasticity of the bogan investor which historically is very loyal and inelastic - eg. ford/holden, jim beam, cold chisel, flannel formal wear, winnie blues etc.

In summary worth a try but unlikely to get much traction due to the inherent brand loyalty of the chrisco demographic !

While I remember....a week weeks after I started this thread a chrisco box appeared at our doorstep - true story - it caused much embarassment and confusion in our house until we opened the box and discovered a lamp we had purchased on ebay and had merely been packaged in a delightful chrisco box by a frugal lamp maker.

Our neighbours still avoid us and our postie openly laughs at us as he does his rounds - the shame !

Can I remind you of a little venture that tried to make money in the tech bubble... Compu-Global-Hyper-Mega-Net. The big boys don't like people stepping on their toys.

I love love LOVE Chrisco!!!!!! When I was younger I always saw the adds on tv, and thought to myself 'that is such a good idea!' Then when I was 18(14 years ago) I had a MAJOR car crash, I now have an Aquired Brain Injury, and I just cant cope with going into the supermarket anywhere near Christmas time, Its too much for my brain to handle!!!!! Chrisco is a life saver"

We now have an answer to the original question "Chrisco Hampers - who in their right mind buys them ?" ...people with 'aquired brain injury'. Mystery solved.

So what packs are we ordering this year? as the sad pathetic sack of human that i am maybe we can pull together some money and we can have a bigfooty picnic this christmas, catered by Chrisco, Having my kids Jaxon, Bella, Elisha and Kyson and my lovely shiela's kids Montana Oakley and Tyson sorted with tucker while they rough-house your kids because they are tough and gonna grow up to be UFC champs (Taught my Kyson how to put the other pre-primary kids in the armbar) would be grouse

Stop lying, you're not a real bogan. None of those names are hyphenated or gratuitously mis-spelt.....

I don't think anyone is debating the principle.....but you can do that without the 500% mark up.

A cost-price plus small surcharge is a good idea for those who find it hard to save. Charging the best part of $100 for two slabs of Coke you could pick up for $19.99 on special at Big W is a rip off.

I don't think anyone is debating the principle.....but you can do that without the 500% mark up.

A cost-price plus small surcharge is a good idea for those who find it hard to save. Charging the best part of $100 for two slabs of Coke you could pick up for $19.99 on special at Big W is a rip off.

As I said, financially educated and restrained people understand it's a ripoff, just like they realize that casino's are placed where you go to burn your money. However both have a market and are not going to go away because those of us who have better mony sense dislike them.

Essential Baby Forum has some nice reading on Chrisco, like 'we~are~family':

"We do, this will be our 4th year I think.

We love it, and have had no issues (even when there was a massive stuff up for thousands of customers a few years back). We only get hampers which have things we we would normally buy, no junk ones etc, and find we only do a light shopping trips for fresh fruit, diary etc for probably 6 months following delivery.

We go with Castle Hampers, and get 4 meat hampers (1 chicken, 1 roasts, 1 BBQ and 1 combo), one pasta hamper, and then sauces for all the meats. We have a huge chest freezer which fits it all the meat in, luckily.

We found Castle to be cheaper when DH did the maths, only by $20 but better in our pocket! Plus they have great little surprises in the boxes for the kids to play with while we unpack it al"

And 'Bedge' had this to say:

"Hi girls,

We got our delivery advice from Chrisco late last week. Our order is coming on 3rd December. Yay!
Here is what we are getting:
Hot breakfast - 2 boxs (yummmmy!)
Primo Smallgoods - 1 box (this is an awesome box!!! Got this one last year)
Indulgent Treats - 1 box (looking forward to this one, haven't ordered it before)
Party Soft Drinks - 2 boxs
Aussie Meats - 1 box"

And this particularly emotional story from 'butterfli':

"I love getting my Chrisco Christmas hampers. Today I even ordered for next year, lol! This year I am getting the Family Christmas chicken hamper & the Kids craft hamper. For next year I ordered the Family Christmas chicken hamper, crayola boys hamper & crayola girls hamper. That way I have food, I have some little presents for my DD and presents for my newphews!

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/lofiversion/index.php/t1026313.html

The Mayans were wrong. The world ended sometime back.

HOLY * THIS IS PRICELESS! I'm literally hyperventilating with laughter.

"I now have an Aquired Brain Injury, and I just cant cope with going into the supermarket anywhere near Christmas time, Its too much for my brain to handle!!!!! Chrisco is a life saver"

This would make for a great title for a thesis or phD study, it would be interesting to see the correlation between brain injury/mental illness and the desire to purchase Chrisco futures. At a guess I would assume most customers of Chrisco have some sort of brain defect which doesn't allow the simply adding of numbers or mutltiplying $2 by 52 and noting $104 is greater than $39.

I'd like to see one of Tony Abbott's new policies focus on providing Chrisco subsidies for those who really need it.

Perhaps in a reinvention of the Hawke rhetoric too i.e. 'in 10 years, no family shall live without Chrisco'

Coles have flybuys. Woolies have Frequent Shopper...Both have Credit Cards.

The technology is there.

How long until they allow weekly/fortnightly direct debits into an account which can only be drawn from in December?

(There's serious, serious money to be made from this - if marketed and implemented correctly...)

Let's see....Madden bros are in town, throw some celebrities at it....Single page Visa Debit signup/DDA combo....free home delivery...

Now, where's my copyright monies.....