Daniel Menzel 'returned to footy' progress updates

Nobody expects you or anybody else to have perfect recall. But perhaps if you know you don't have perfect recall you shouldn't pretend that you do. Don't tell other people they're wrong for saying you're using hindsight on this issue when you absolutely are. It's very easy to sit back now and say how great it would've been to have West in the semi-final. It's also very easy to pot the club for getting rid of West when you don't have to look back and justify why it would've been the right decision at the time.

But pretending that the decision was dumb, when you agreed with it at the time,....
Snipped for focus.

As I remember, Partridge was one of the few here other than myself who was supportive of West with regards to other players who were coming along (2012). Also Guthrie over that blasted newcomer upstart, Caddy. lol I read the posts you quoted of Partridge. They do sound fatalistic, but I can't remember him being pro getting rid of West. I think everyone at the time knew West was "gone", so at least the club can get a good deal out of it. That's how I see his posts you put up.

I don't always agree with Partidge, and his response to me on the West matter was IMO churlish and inconsistent as Footy Smarts pointed out so eloquently. My comment that he was as " consistent as curdled milk" on that issue was probably equally churlish but accurate all the same. I try and give as good as I get in this place. Probably a mistake!

But for all that, I read Partridge's posts with interest, give my fair share of "likes" in his direction, and a good dose of "give me a break" as well.

The written word is permanent , so we all need to be careful what we put down here, because it can come back to bite us when we least expect it.

Perhaps we should all be a little more temperate in our approach to issues, and if you don't agree with me, then you can all go and get ****ed.

I don't always agree with Partidge, and his response to me on the West matter was IMO churlish and inconsistent as Footy Smarts pointed out so eloquently. My comment that he was as " consistent as curdled milk" on that issue was probably equally churlish but accurate all the same. I try and give as good as I get in this place. Probably a mistake!

But for all that, I read Partridge's posts with interest, give my fair share of "likes" in his direction, and a good dose of "give me a break" as well.

The written word is permanent , so we all need to be careful what we put down here, because it can come back to bite us when we least expect it.

Perhaps we should all be a little more temperate in our approach to issues, and if you don't agree with me, then you can all go and get ******.
Love your work David

If the club was perfect, they'd win everything every time.

Clearly not the case and improve in many areas. If you stop improving, you will get left behind. If you stay the same you get left behind.

I have no issues with the criticisms of the club or individuals when called for or deserved.

When it becomes the mantra of every single post is the time I lose patience for it.

Sooking however when we are not winning everything all time and calling for coach sacking and player delisting because of it is over reactionary. Especially after the successes of recent times. That does not mean you can dwell on the past for future success but the footy world is designed around evolution and with it comes the change of whom is at the top.

There is not a perfect science to getting it right. You can still support the club and be in disaggreance with a player or coaching methodology.

Just do it with class and provide alternatives and options and I feel the responses will be met with the same vibe.

Given what the club has achieved, Im going to allow them latitude in their decision making and choices. They have the runs on the board to speak. However, as time goes on, that latitude shortens.

Menz is a prefect case. Some want him gone, some want him to succeed. Opinions are always going to vary but the character assassination that goes with gets boring.

GO Catters

Sooking, however, when we are not winning everything all time and calling for coach sacking and player delisting because of it is over reactionary.

As they say in the financial sector - "Past performance is not an indication of future results." Something that perfectly applies to footy, especially for teams rebuilding.

If the club was perfect, they'd win everything every time.

Clearly not the case and improve in many areas. If you stop improving, you will get left behind. If you stay the same you get left behind.

I have no issues with the criticisms of the club or individuals when called for or deserved.

When it becomes the mantra of every single post is the time I lose patience for it.

Sooking however when we are not winning everything all time and calling for coach sacking and player delisting because of it is over reactionary. Especially after the successes of recent times. That does not mean you can dwell on the past for future success but the footy world is designed around evolution and with it comes the change of whom is at the top.

There is not a perfect science to getting it right. You can still support the club and be in disaggreance with a player or coaching methodology.

Just do it with class and provide alternatives and options and I feel the responses will be met with the same vibe.

Given what the club has achieved, Im going to allow them latitude in their decision making and choices. They have the runs on the board to speak. However, as time goes on, that latitude shortens.

Menz is a prefect case. Some want him gone, some want him to succeed. Opinions are always going to vary but the character assassination that goes with gets boring.

GO Catters

One of the best, concise posts I've read in a long time, and couldn't agree more.

Well said Daz :thumbsu:

Has there been much of that though Daz? I can't recall too many demanding Scott get the boot, or if there was I've missed it. The players who historically copped the most vitriol on here have all gone now.

Agree entirely with the sentiment. Disagree entirely with the bolded.

Has there been much of that though Daz? I can't recall too many demanding Scott get the boot, or if there was I've missed it. The players who historically copped the most vitriol on here have all gone now.

Agree entirely with the sentiment. Disagree entirely with the bolded.

I think his post was aimed at a few on here who post with consistent negativity towards all things GFC, and certain individuals within it.

Likewise, I think his comment re: vibe stands true with the better, classier posters here, but you're right to some extent - there are others who will not respond in kind, no matter what.

I see. And the club knew that was going to happen last November did they?
Going by that logic the club wouldn't have known in November that Vardy was going to do his knee either. Just saying.

Not to be rude but if you go through the last few pages I'd say this has been covered...:p
I just realised that but it's still a very valid point. You can't have it both ways. West was last in the queue.

I think Trent felt that way given his quote "I could have stayed at Geelong, no worries, but I had to weigh up what was best for me"

Just a gentle reminder this thread is about Daniel Menzel and his comeback from injury.

If we can keep it on topic and about Menzel and leave the personal attacks out of it that would be great thanks.

There are only 4 things that make me feel a bit sad when I watch highlights.
One is watching Matty Egan run around and smash forwards in 2007, another is watching Gazza carve up opposition midfields circa 2007-2010, the third is when I watch 2007 highlights with Nath Ablett and remember he had only played ~20 games.
The last is this bloke.
He would have been a legitimate star of the comp right now, 90-110 games, likely pushing 45-50 goals a year and dominating for us.
Sigh...
I have no doubt that IF he can get his knees right he could come back and play near that level again, his strengths were things like his footy brain, his natural talent, so hopefully the injuries don't hamper his footy too much.

There are only 4 things that make me feel a bit sad when I watch highlights.
One is watching Matty Egan run around and smash forwards in 2007, another is watching Gazza carve up opposition midfields circa 2007-2010, the third is when I watch 2007 highlights with Nath Ablett and remember he had only played ~20 games.
The last is this bloke.
He would have been a legitimate star of the comp right now, 90-110 games, likely pushing 45-50 goals a year and dominating for us.
Sigh...
I have no doubt that IF he can get his knees right he could come back and play near that level again, his strengths were things like his footy brain, his natural talent, so hopefully the injuries don't hamper his footy too much.

Completely agree. Cant say I won't get a bug lump in my throat watching him run out. And im sure it will stay there all season… and the next…

GO Catters

Hate to say it, but I am pessimist and I don't think Daniel Menzel will ever play football again.

He did his knee in the 2011 QF- over three years ago. In today's footy, you can't miss three years of top-line AFL and then come back as good as ever.

The longer it takes for him to return, and play consistent football, the greater the likelihood that we won't see Menzel play again ever.

It is a shame, because he could have been a really good kid, and I hope I am wrong, but it seems like Menzel may be the latest Jason Snell or Matthew Egan.

I read too much bickering about the club holding onto injured players.
Mostly it's people using hindsight to vent frustration for our decline.
Personally I am proud how the club goes about it.
That we don't just discard players who have put their bodies on the line.
When Egan did his ankle the specialist knew that his playing career was over.
Still he would have told him that there was a slim chance he may make it back.
The club supports the player and gives him time to give it is best shot.
Menzel Cowan Vardy can all recover from their injuries and play again.
Allowing time to heal is better than rushing back players and exacerbating injuries.
This approach also allows the player to reconcile his fate in due course.
The player feels valued and will retire with no regrets or bitterness.
Other player see the rehab struggle and this reminds them daily to stay focused
Not to waste their opportunity or to quibble over less important matters.
They also know as Geelong players they will be looked after not discarded.
This how camaraderie and loyalty is built. It is what make GFC strong and respected.
Without loyalty players leave for money. Why stay if you can get a better deal elsewhere.
We supporters invest our time, money and emotion into the club and players.
I don't want to support a heartless club that tells an injured player
Sorry kid the doc says it over. We're unplugging the life support..... NEXT!!!

They also know as Geelong players they will not be looked after.
This how camaraderie is built. It is what make GFC strong and respected.
Sorry kid the doc says it over
. We're unplugging the life support..... NEXT!!!

So explain George Burbury then. Upgraded from the rookie list this year. Breaks his jaw in the pre-season. Comes back in Round 3 and plays the next 5 games. Gets injured, doesn't play at either level for the rest of the season, and is then cut.

(Please correct me if any of that is wrong).

So explain George Burbury then. Upgraded from the rookie list this year. Breaks his jaw in the pre-season. Comes back in Round 3 and plays the next 5 games. Gets injured, doesn't play at either level for the rest of the season, and is then cut.

Add a couple of injury filled years in addition to last year.

I feel the two scenarios are different. Being supportive of injured players and showing care beyond being ruthless isn't about holding on to any player who suffers an injury. I think it could be strongly debated that Menzel was going to be a star, he was already cemented in our team and going to be a big part of the 2011 premiership. When he was first injured, I think most supporters saw Menzel as one of our next A graders and I'm sure he himself had his eyes set on quite an illustrious career. Burbury was a rookie pick and a experimental one at that, I don't think he ever cemented a spot in the team and in my opinion that's not only due him suffering injuries. It's a matter of opinion but I don't think Burbury ever showed that he was going to be more than a 21st-25th man at best. For this reason I believe Burbury should feel thankful for the opportunity to have a crack at AFL and injuries or not, enough was seen that he wasn't going to be a star. Menzel on the other hand should feel deprived of a career and a premiership, no-one is kidding themselves that Menzel wasn't a part of our best 22 and so I think it would be wrong to cut him just because of injury. Menzel could feel "well you wanted me when I was going to be star, now that I've had an injury you couldnt care less". Burbury would struggle to argue he was definitely wanted even when fit.

It looks like George was only ever going to be filler material (unless he had a breakout year - thus the 10 game clause perhaps). At the end of 2013 he either needed to be delisted or upgraded ... other players such as McCarthy (who could play roughly the same position and we just a little behind due to injury) were the ones who were going to get the leg up - with George there as a backup.

With McCarthy now looking ok and a few others coming through - George then became surplus to requirements. We needed him for the year to make sure we had certain types to play certain positions ... its just really unfortunate that he got injured and could not prove his worth.

I read too much bickering about the club holding onto injured players.
Mostly it's people using hindsight to vent frustration for our decline.
Personally I am proud how the club goes about it.
That we don't just discard players who have put their bodies on the line.
When Egan did his ankle the specialist knew that his playing career was over.
Still he would have told him that there was a slim chance he may make it back.
The club supports the player and gives him time to give it is best shot.
Menzel Cowan Vardy can all recover from their injuries and play again.
Allowing time to heal is better than rushing back players and exacerbating injuries.
This approach also allows the player to reconcile his fate in due course.
The player feels valued and will retire with no regrets or bitterness.
Other player see the rehab struggle and this reminds them daily to stay focused
Not to waste their opportunity or to quibble over less important matters.
They also know as Geelong players they will be looked after not discarded.
This how camaraderie and loyalty is built. It is what make GFC strong and respected.
Without loyalty players leave for money. Why stay if you can get a better deal elsewhere.
We supporters invest our time, money and emotion into the club and players.
Sorry kid the doc says it over. We're unplugging the life support..... NEXT!!!
World's longest haiku....