Destination Geelong

Meeting Scott and the culture he is cultivating probably doesn't fill one with a great deal of confidence. I'm sure most players can see straight through him.
Is there any facet of this club that pleases you. Serious question. No one can be this negative.... Surely :S

Hey, I grew up there.

The only place I wouldn't go on my own as a young bloke was around the trotting track ie Sharland Road, Fairbairn Drive and I played footy with plenty of people that lived in that area.:eek:

Norlane was always the place I wasn't keen on at all and as an Anglo, Norlane West, Bell Park, Bell Post Hill, North Geelong and the Golf View Hotel could be challenging at times. :D

I think Whittington was built on the shitheads that grew up, left Corio and then moved out there and started their own chapter on that side of town.:D
Scariest place in Geelong I've been to. Which says something given I played cricket in Norlane, whereby a player unhappy with an umpiring decision threw his broken bat at the umpire which impaled in his arm. He was escorted off the field and consoled by his 12yo sister....who was pregnant. :eek: Still not as rough as Whittington.

Its not so much Geelong itself. Its more convenience. Not far from the beach and surf coast. Its only an hour from Melbourne - it may as well be an outer suburb. Josh Caddy was happy to play for Geelong even though he moved to Melbourne to be with his ill father in Eltham
Couldn't have summed it up better:thumbsu:

For me Melbourne is too big, I wouldn't enjoy living there, visiting is alright though. The appeal for me is being able to go to some wonderful beaches and coastal towns within an hour of Geelong, whilst also being not that far away from Melbourne if needs arise to go there.

My cousins live in the north eastern outskirts of Melbourne and it takes an hour to get to work at Docklands, I'm an hour away as well but haven't paid an extra $1m for that right. Like most cities Geelong has its pitfalls but it also has its good points as well, and I get the sense some outsiders just focus on the negatives which is unfair.

Couldn't have summed it up better:thumbsu:

For me Melbourne is too big, I wouldn't enjoy living there, visiting is alright though. The appeal for me is being able to go to some wonderful beaches and coastal towns within an hour of Geelong, whilst also being not that far away from Melbourne if needs arise to go there.

My cousins live in the north eastern outskirts of Melbourne and it takes an hour to get to work at Docklands, I'm an hour away as well but haven't paid an extra $1m for that right. Like most cities Geelong has its pitfalls but it also has its good points as well, and I get the sense some outsiders just focus on the negatives which is unfair.
It lacks the biggest appeal to footballers though - close proximity to the best nightclubs for living a playboy fast life and 'picking up bitches'.
Hence why teams in Melbourne, Sydney and Brissie are the most 'nominated'.

It lacks the biggest appeal to footballers though - close proximity to the best nightclubs for living a playboy fast life and 'picking up bitches'.
Hence why teams in Melbourne, Sydney and Brissie are the most 'nominated'.
Hence why we need to be good drafters.

Brian Peake was massive. Flew in for his first game in a helicopter.

Dennis Marshall was big too.

Gary Sidebottom wasn't

I did a shut down in Kalgoolie with Gary Sidebottom he's a franna crane operator and I was his rigger.
He hated his time in Geelong "full of bogans and ugly women"

I haven't been to Geelong for about 6yrs, much changed?

Scariest place in Geelong I've been to. Which says something given I played cricket in Norlane, whereby a player unhappy with an umpiring decision threw his broken bat at the umpire which impaled in his arm. He was escorted off the field and consoled by his 12yo sister....who was pregnant. :eek: Still not as rough as Whittington.
:eek: indeed!!!

I did a shut down in Kalgoolie with Gary Sidebottom he's a franna crane operator and I was his rigger.

He hated Geelong's bogans and ugly women but worked in Kalgoorlie??
What the....???

Post no119 for you Ned,that's about all I liked about it,I acknowledge you were quoting Sidebottom,by the way plenty of Geelong girls have lined their pockets with Kalgoolie gold.

Didn't he live in Lara ?
Isn't a current player running away from Lara residents ?

497319835.gif

Never lived in Geelong - but had cousins down there - so often use to visit - at school holidays and Xmas time etc

The aunt gave 2 instructions to us kids - (1) The river was taboo - never go down to the river unsupervised

And the 2nd one - was if we were going into the City - there was one street - we were never ever ever to go into - this street had the most notorious - fearsome - shocking - frightening- disgraceful reputation in Geelong - wouldnt even know where the street is - because i never went there

What is the name of the Street ?

Never lived in Geelong - but had cousins down there - so often use to visit - at school holidays and Xmas time etc

The aunt gave 2 instructions to us kids - (1) The river was taboo - never go down to the river unsupervised

And the 2nd one - was if we were going into the City - there was one street - we were never ever ever to go into - this street had the most notorious - fearsome - shocking - frightening- disgraceful reputation in Geelong - wouldnt even know where the street is - because i never went there

Lived in Geelong for over 20 years - too many of those streets to name :p

How long ago are you talking about ?

The only place in Geelong you'd avoid these days is around the Market Square Mall due to the mallrats that hang out there [every mall has them]
The only other trouble spot I can think of in the city is James Street,but that's only friday & saturday nights due to the nightclubs [every city has that problem].

Having been a 60's/70.s kid there, I have no idea which street that is. Got through unscathed; doing an 0500 paper round every am for some yrs may have delivered some street smarts, but nothing really scary back then, and I was certainly no confident out there kid.
Lived near the river, loved it, a feature of Geelong at any end.

The name of this street - is the same name of a former Nth Melb player

Ummmm, let me think.

Daniltchenko Way
Schimmelbusch Road
Ishckenko Street
Frank Gumbleton Court
Crazy Horse Cowton Place (he was at least born in Geelong)
Snake Baker Avenue
Galloping Gasometer Drive

Give us an era at least.

Goggin Our Best

McCann Place? Has the added benefit of running off Corio St. and looks like it might be behind Merlins there somewhere.

Wasnt there a McCann St in the City - it had a frightening reputation - and then ( and this is many years ago ) there was some old Greek or Italian bloke - who ran a snooker /pinball parlour in that street - and one night he got murdered on the premises ( never been solved either i dont think) - a murder back then was big news( and rare) and added to the notorious reputation of McCann St

You think of creepy streets with gruesome reputations - the 2 i instantly think of are

McCann St Geelong and Easey St Collingwood - just mentioning them sends shivers down your spine

Wasnt there a McCann St in the City - it had a frightening reputation - and then ( and this is many years ago ) there was some old Greek or Italian bloke - who ran a snooker /pinball parlour in that street - and one night he got murdered on the premises ( never been solved either i dont think) - a murder back then was big news( and rare) and added to the notorious reputation of McCann St

You think of creepy streets with gruesome reputations - the 2 i instantly think of are

McCann St Geelong and Easey St Collingwood - just mentioning them sends shivers down your spine
I thought everybody wanted to live on Eas(e)y Street??

I had a look at a map and it is McCann Place, behind the Lord Nelson pub.