Autopsy Positives and Negatives vs St Kilda

Bloody good effort. Plenty to like, not good enough in the end in a game I think the most optimistic fan would have had as a ten goal loss at best.

Positives
  • Hewett. Clearly an absolute knob campaigner, and why not? Keep performing and I might even come around to the BSD energy.
  • Long, such an enjoyable start to his career
  • Maric. Mid season draft is a ripper when you’re this s**t.
  • Shuey and Barrass. Both did their absolute utmost for four quarters, tried to drag us into that. Like the Eagles of old.
  • Cripps 13 tackles, welcome back, underrated cog in the machine
  • Petch and Chesser, good games from both and more time in the middle which is good to see
  • Jack Williams first goal, welcome to the club mate

Negatives
  • Sheed hurt us a lot. Tried so hard and willed himself to contest after contest, only to fumble or get stuck on his right boot. Duggan and Gaff not far behind.
  • Needing a furious comeback and a fourth quarter carry to beat the 2023 Eagles should get you banned from the AFL. Congratulations to Tasmania on becoming the 18th club in footy because the Saints just got kicked out.

A win would have been a very welcome change. As it is, we have the baseline for how this team can perform, down to our last selectable 23 players.

Up the ******* Coasters

Lot of positives out of the game obviously but at the ground just watched the players hold off exiting for a second and go out in small groups, just to the edges of the square, to clap and thank the fans. Oscar went to the cheer squad.

Not a lap of honour or anything over the top for just having lost a game, all in the right spirit for the occasion but generally was just awesome to see. Could really feel the fans and team get behind each other today.

Fan vibe felt against the villains of the show in the umpires rather than the nothingness that is St Kilda, but from the players end felt like we were less focused on playing for frees than we have done which is good also

Not much negative to say really. A win would have been icing on the cake but we just weren't polished in the end eg Late in the game Oscars couple of dropped marks, Williams smothered shot, kicking long to disadvantagious positions.

But losing by 8 feels like a win in the timeline we are in.

Chesser played his best game. The 2022 draft crop is looking good. Shuey tried to drag us over the line kicking and screaming. More of that later in the year please.

Oh yeah and a nice percentage boost :p

Positives +

• Much better effort than last week.
  • Pressure was great.
  • Hurn showed the leadership we were missing and knew where to go where to find the ball.
  • Nice having Duggan back to provide the drive we were missing.
  • Chesser starting to find his rhythm.
  • Petch look good in the middle and improved with his disposals. His pace is crucial there.
  • Ginbey solid as always although a bit fumbly as well.
  • Shuey good as usual.
  • Maric also good and made the most of his limited opportunities. Use the ball well too. Really good player in a sh*t team.
  • BBBW really good against Marshall and even won the hitout count and was good around the ground and kicked a nice goal.
  • Barrass excellent down back making great intercept marks and coming off his man to spoil. One of his best games of the season.
  • Hewitt showing from FIGJAM and kicked two nice goals. He showed explosiveness and good decision making.
  • Noah Long worked hard and used the ball well. Kicked an nice goal.
  • Allen made the most of his opportunities although he should've at least had 3 if he took clean marks. Looked sore at times.
  • Cripps made a difference to our forward pressure and class that we've been missing since he's injured. 13 tackles as a forward says it all.
  • Witherden was pretty good.
  • Darling looked decent and was bringing the ball to ground in unfavorable positions before his injury.
  • Still in contention for pick 1.
  • Bazzo solid down back. Starting to rebound more and show more confidence.
  • Hopefully see Australia go 2-0 up later today in the Ashes.

Meh =

= XON was just there. Didn't have much impact in Kelly's absence.
= J.Williams was ok but didn't impose himself that much. That will hopefully come with more time.
= Barnett likes to get physical but seems to lack body strength when rucking. That will come with more time in the gym the more he settles into his career.
= Sheed better than last week but is too fumbly.
= Gaff same as Sheed but didn't kill momentum as much.

Negatives -

• Effort dropped off in the second half which is expected for an injured hammered team.
  • Still got smashed in contested ball.
  • Darling's injury.
  • Still kicked to disadvantage positions at times.

Final thoughts.

Very good effort from the club to up it's effort's from last week's hammering. We're more competitive this week and almost beat them. Saints in the first half had players stationed deeper in defense to flood their defense but started to shift higher playing man on man to stop the kick mark thus forcing it to be a contested game which got them back in the game since it favors them. I'm sure if we play like this, we can challenge contending teams later and push them.

Honestly I preferred us to lose so we can be in contention for the number 1 pick for Harley Reid but we showed great effort. Otherwise it may become 2009 all over again where we won meaningless games thus ruling us out of a top 3 pick and a priority pick and top talent (we would've likely took Morabito though which in hindsight is a bad idea). As long we show great effort to be competitive but lose by a smallish margin then I'm happy.

Positives
Effort and Resilience
The kids, they all showed a little something today and the future will be good when all have games under their belt, playing together well before some should.
English is going to enjoy tapping the ball to Hewitt, Ginbey, Chesser and Reid next year 😉.
Shuey and Barrass were immense!

Negatives
Witherdan is either low on confidence and/or below average AFL player. Fumbles, handballs to players either at feet or about to be tackled, Self awareness of surrounds in short supply. Thought he was supposed to be an elite kick. Think a number of passages of play were stopped or halted because of him.

I was just happy to see so much from the kids today. Hewitt is gonna be an absolute weapon once he gets confident and understands what he can do at AFL level.
Long showed his brilliant football IQ in making the right decision pretty much every time. Chesser showed some pace and his ability to get out in space and win the football, and Maric was fantastic with his hands as well as hitting the scoreboard. That’s all I need to keep seeing at the moment. If we add Harley Read to this young core, I think we will have something.

+ went hoping to keep it under a 100. Left thinking we had couple of chances to win it in the last.
Happy with that.
Hewitt will be a player with a touch of fig in him.
Other young blokes did well, Chesser didn't do anything outstanding but got a bit of the ball and used it well enough.
Shuey tried his guts out, probably tried to do too much a few times in the last.

- Sheed coughed the ball up at least half a dozen times straight to the opposition. Give it straight away or hold onto it but don't just hand it over. Also calls for the ball when he is in no position to take it.
Other than that nothing much to whinge about. Umps pinged us for a couple frees in the last that they'd been letting go all game and were happy to let the Saints constantly push in the back and block.

All in all much better than expected.

+
effort, excitement and pressure
emerging tallet is real
blew the third quarter but really fought out the game - culture.
Lifted the spirits

-
third quarter flop
dumb footy by senior players in the second half
injuries to JD and probably Allen
not a negative as it is known but lack of running powere in thye second - it can be built (speed cant)

Positives

Crippa. 13 tackles on return, gee we've missed his forward pressure.
Shuey. Led like a Captain should and played like a man possessed.
Petch. Geez he looks good when he plays up the ground more. Should keep this experiment going.
Barrass. Led from down back and kept us in it when the boys tired.
Gaff. Has copped alot of s**t and deservedly so but played his heart out today and should be commended for it.
Maric. 2 goals, 13 possies, 4 marks and 4 tackles and heaps on attitude. Love this kid.
Hewett. Kicked first goal but for me it's like watching the second coming of Shuey. Love his effort and attack on the ball.
Long. Kid has so much class, steal of last years draft is an understatement.
Sheed. Tried to lay some tackles today and go in hard. The bare minimum we should expect from him.
Allen. If this bloke got silver plated service he'd kick 5 goals a week.
B Williams. Was very competitive against Marshall. Starting to flourish.
J Williams. Good to see him kick his first goal.
EFFORT. Pressure rating was off the charts at one point. We played for each other, tackled for each other, went in for each other and celebrated goals for each other. So much to take out of the review of this game.

HM: The rest of the team.

Negatives

Darlings shoulder
No doubt some very sore boys but that's about it.

Great effort. Thats where it needs to stay.

Bailey beat Marshall 39 to 35 in the taps.:oops: breakout year?

Longs effort and that goal......

Hewett, Chesser, Bazzo improving. Thats what we want to see.

Maric could be a steal, has surprising burst speed from contests.

Petrucelle. 8 tackles playing inside mid! What multiverse is this? Having more of a crack and getting involved.

Cant fault the effort today.:thumbsu::)

Heaps to like out of that. Ran out of legs unsurprisingly but fought so hard. Lovely signs for the future.

Positives
  • the Ginbey/Hewett pick split looking better and better. Real breakout game for Hewey - look him in for a bit please.
  • Noah Long so good. Thought Cripps being back would help him get a bit more freedom and seems like it did. Deserves an RS nom I reckon.
  • Chesser's best game. Couple of nice moments using his pace. Something to work with for sure.
  • Maric seems like a keeper some great moments and got involved in a few good chains. - Jack Williams was way better than I expected.
  • Shuey/Hurn/Barrass turning back the clock
  • Petch to midfield working surprisingly well

Meh
  • Sheed/Witherdon butchery
  • Gaff was solid all considered but just will not pass forward 🫠
  • XON pretty invisible.

Great game to be at and fun energy from the crowd.

Hunt was excellent, looks like a proper AFL player with the right fitness level and speed required for this level. We really need to work on this and recruit a few more bargain experienced guys from clubs with proper S&C to take the heat from our young talent next year.

Don’t want to be too hard on him as he’s having a great season but we really needed some clutch from Oscar tonight, just a big mark and goal to get us closer to the line.

Maric’s 2nd off the side of the boot was right in front of us, what a moment.