Old GeelongMazenodOld Geelong
1st SEMIFINAL
FREARSON OVAL, MONASH UNI
11:40am SAT 10/9
vsvs
Monash BluesOld IvanhoeMazenod
Old Ivanhoe

Old Geelong might've played their 'grand final' in last week's preliminary final thriller against Hampton Rovers. Will go OK in the opening 15-20min of the game on Friday, but expect to see Monash run away with the premiership after quarter time.

It is impossible to tell how clubs will go once they come up, or go down for that matter. Have a mate involved at Mazenod who watched a few B grade games this year. He reckons the top four sides in C this year would fill the bottom 4 places in B grade. He says the current Monash list would get hammered by the top 3 B grade teams and struggle against most others. Not sure how accurate this is and personally I doubt that that would be the case but just an example of the disparity in opinions.
Having watched the B Grade Finals this year including Fitzroy who are a great young side that pushed Haileybury in the Finals and seen a few C Grade games this season still a jump in skills and fitness to B Grade , Monash should do well and then there’s the scary next level in A Grade ….

Caught the second half of the C grade GF on the live stream. A small sample size but I reckon both these clubs will be more than competitive in B grade next year. Aside from Blacks and Haileybury, most B grade sides fielded very young teams this year. Monash in particular look to have plenty of big bodied, mature players which might give them a point of difference.

Congratulations to Monash for their win today, certainly the best team all year. Congratulations to Old Geelong as well on a great year and a strong performance today.

Would be good to see something like this.

Maybe a fraction overrefreshed after 2 massive days but here goes:
  • well done to OGs today, brought the pressure and tackling and represented your club well
  • no idea why OGs dropped a number behind the ball in the last quarter but thanks 😊
  • Monash responded well to the extra heat and also tackled extremely well
  • well done to Bulldog Harris who won the medal. Star.
  • Argento, Darling, Easson, Simpson and Flett really good too. King and Cosgriff massive in last quarter.
  • great day out, good crowd. Well done to all involved, especially Mark Passador. Flags are hard to win!!
  • really pleased for the boys who stuck at it over a few tough years. Now enjoying the reward they earnt.

Maybe a fraction overrefreshed after 2 massive days but here goes:
  • well done to OGs today, brought the pressure and tackling and represented your club well
  • no idea why OGs dropped a number behind the ball in the last quarter but thanks 😊
  • Monash responded well to the extra heat and also tackled extremely well
  • well done to Bulldog Harris who won the medal. Star.
  • Argento, Darling, Easson, Simpson and Flett really good too. King and Cosgriff massive in last quarter.
  • great day out, good crowd. Well done to all involved, especially Mark Passador. Flags are hard to win!!
  • really pleased for the boys who stuck at it over a few tough years. Now enjoying the reward they earnt.
Congrats Les , all the best and great to catch up

Was there. Great contest.

Happy to know we won’t be playing you next year. Too good, also glad to say we were one of two to beat you this year.

Also happy that OGs went up. Haven’t beaten them in years.

PS OGS twos were way too good for Prem C. They are bigger than all other teams ones except Monash.

He trained with Ormond last year a good get . Mr Arrow is a nasty piece of work who is an embarrassment to his club .
You can’t have it both ways Mr Ford, you spend your whole life on social media belittling any club other than Ormond who recruits a high profile player.

Twitter, Facebook, Big Footy and any other social media accounts you run, every post from Paul Amy, the VAFA etc.

Langlands lives locally to the Ormond area and joined them so he could play with some of his mates who are already there. Nothing wrong with that ... or do you see it as compulsory for Premier A clubs to have all the ex-AFL players?
Langlands is also playing cricket at Ormond CC in the subbies too from what I'm told by a few people down there, good on him getting right into the community down Monders way.

Langlands lives locally to the Ormond area and joined them so he could play with some of his mates who are already there. Nothing wrong with that ... or do you see it as compulsory for Premier A clubs to have all the ex-AFL players?
Ormond have an excellent track record of landing ex AFL talent. A few notable exceptions aside, they have enticed more than most A and B grade clubs in the last decade or so and good on them. They are clearly a good club. I'm no apologist for Mr Red Arrow, but I think his point is that his club seems to be derided whenever an ex-AFL players lands at T.H King. This is often accompanied with accusations of brown paper bags and other nefarious goings on, while other clubs seem to escape the same level of scrutiny. To be fair it’s probably reasonable he fires a few shots back over the bow when the opportunity presents.

Plenty of ex AFL playing below A Grade. From memory a Selwood featured in the D2 GF.

Mr Langlands, ex Saints is playing at Ormond. How are the OIG looking Mr Leader? Any chance you can lure your favourite son back from Uni Blues?
It would be nice. Never say never. May have been easier if they had fallen to Prem B.

Max “Never know unless you have ago” Leader