Prediction Who will crack the best 22 in 2016.

Quick question: Anyone have an idea as to how Sutty or the T-train are traveling?
I would think it was unlikely to see Dawson removed
I would also assume that Johnson, Spurr and Ibbo are locks. Which really leaves us with 2 spots and maybe a bench slot.
So if Sutty and the T-train are going well then our back pack will see little change outside of injury. After all it was the best in the comp last year.
If you are looking at rotations T-train ran through the mids last year and Sutty has been known to rebound.
But most defenders have north of 90% match time on field and so I would assume a 70/30 split at best between defense and midfield.
IMHO defense is the area least likely to change.

Well, yeah, except for that spud Dawson...
Oh well we can write you off as a spud like you do to Dawss with you not knowing too much about footy as you are in the Dawson Hating Club and are somewhat blinded by what Zac brings to the team..

BTW have you seen him in live action or are you one of those video watching experts.

If you claim to have wonderful Footy knowledge and are serious about Dawson then take it up with RTB and the match committee as they have selected him in 69 games for the Dockers so realistically he is hardly a spud.

Just stirring the pot DannyTheDoorman - I have stated on a number of occasions that Daws is one of my favourites. ;)
Thanks Mate and I was giving it right back. Funnily enough Dawss hasn't done too many if at all of the regulation hospital handpasses deep in defence that he specialises in. People dont rate his kicking but if you can disregard his action he kicks the ball quite well and does hit targets in short and longer kicks ;):p:p:p:D:thumbsu:.

Our regigged mechanisms for defensive rebound are hardly going to use Zac's kicking distribution as the fulcrum for launching counters from the backline.
Either(i)they've got it
(ii)its contested (iii)we've got it
Zac is one of our prime movers in turning (i) into (ii)into(iii) in our backline.
When we get to (iii) Guerra and the brains trust are getting things organised.
If we use Alex Pearce to replace Zac D we need new coaches.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...-dockers-defence/story-fni5f6su-1226719500502
Zac Dawson the key to Fremantle's plan for world domination

Because he has a been a solid player in the past but he is now 29 and turning 30 before the season starts and I think a fit Alex Pearce will overtake him this year. Dawson will obviously be there in R1 but I just think that come seasons end AP could easily overtake him (I hope he does)
A Pearce is going to replace MacPharlin. The vacancy already exists.

Three goals is actually a highish output against our defence and in the modern game. What i'm saying is that although Dawson is a serviceable lock down defender, i think that his almost negative impact on our attacking side outweighs his defensive abilities.
Dawson did not have three goals kicked on him in any game apart from Cameron. I was at that game and McPharlin actually played loose rather than doubling on Cameron. Most teams double Cameron, so actually that is a good result. Ibbo played on Waite Im sure you will find.

It is also deadset rubbish Dawson does not add to the attacking side of our game. If you go to games it is bloody obvious that other players attack more because they know Dawson has their back in covering his man and the man of a player who takes a risk. The thing that Dawson brings to the team in an attacking point of view is that he regularly spoils the ball of an opposition player he is not manned up against. Allowing others to take risks is the most underrated aspect of Zacy D's game.

I think those that want Johnson to play last season role want to get rid of Dawson.
As for me I prefer him to play the last men sweeper creative role.
Therefore the CB will be
Johnson
Dawson, (collins, Silva, A.Pearce, no uebergang rookie list)

Because he has a been a solid player in the past but he is now 29 and turning 30 before the season starts and I think a fit Alex Pearce will overtake him this year. Dawson will obviously be there in R1 but I just think that come seasons end AP could easily overtake him (I hope he does)
Alex Pearce is a significantly worse kick than Zac Dawson. It is seriously not even close to being close. At both training and in games Dawson's trajectory and distance is a ton better. People remember the one or two times last year when he choose to handpass causing a turnover. The exaggeration is ridiculous. I actually think his kicking efficiency was around 80% if I remember correctly. Edit his disposal efficiency was 82.2%. Yes he doesn't dispose very often as his role is shutdown, but to say he turns the ball over all the time is actually not backed up by facts.

His disposal efficiency is such because he handballs to players in in worse positions and puts them under pressure. There are many positives and negatives to dawson, (dont get me wrong, i like him as well) but i believe we are better off with him not in the team in the long run. Our best and most attacking footy in 2015 was played without dawson in the side.

It seems that the preferred defensive structure has included 3 talls. Dawson and MacPharlin playing FB and CHB and Johnson being in a more flexible role depending on the opposition.

With MacPharlin gone I don't see the structure getting more of a shake up.

Last season we only play two.
Johnson , macca
Macca, a Pearce
Johnson, Dawson

From international rule Ross mention Clarkson like to take other sport idea eg soccer

Johnson last men defence is sweeper 2013 series ,
Ibbo injured shoulder if I not mistaken.

Last season we effective use
Ibboson intercept more like defensive mid ( clear danger before going to defence) , thus Johnson more negate role due to Dawson ,Silva injury
in soccer

Let's get back to cracking into best 22

Blakely is almost a certainty

Weller might get a few games too

You can't talk about who is cracking into the best 22 without talking about who will make way for them. Sorry, that's just mathematics.

Why not? Suspension, injuries to player nobody know when will happen, maybe apart from you. You kind of make a fool of yourself about mathematics to one of our training watcher here.

Injuries will have a say in what our team makeup will look like, I think that and resting some senior players is
inevitable.
The most movement though will be the backline, with Silva, Johnson, Dawson, Pearce, in the past missing games.
A more mobile, run and carry backline, similar to the eagles setup last year, could actually increase our scoring
potential.
We have the list to either rotate midfielders to cover injury, suspension, bringing Blakey, Weller, Crozier, langdon into
play, or using Collins, Hughes, , Uber, Tucker, Hurley in defense.
Sandi, Griffen, and Pav will also need to be managed.

I have a feeling that:

Collins will be a starter to replace Macca while A.Pearce is recovering.

Blakely and Weller will come into the 22 for DeBoer and Suban during the season.

Bennell will replace The Gu when he is fit.

What do you guys reckon?

Sent from my GT-I9506 using Tapatalk

I have a feeling that:

Collins will be a starter to replace Macca while A.Pearce is recovering.

Blakely and Weller will come into the 22 for DeBoer and Suban during the season.

Bennell will replace The Gu when he is fit.

What do you guys reckon?

Bennell case is tricking , maybe sheriden, or Tab. Gu is not a regular last season or Pav (match management)

I can't see Sheridan out for Bennell. Maybe Mora as he has been training with the backmen.

This best 22 thing is hard....hurts my brain!

I think that Shero is a lock for the 22, unless he gets injured he will play every game.

He's just entering his prime, 5 seasons in now and showed huge improvement last season. Talks of an unproven first year in Tucker taking his spot is just plain ludicrous and smells more like wanting to play with the new toys than what's best for the club.