Your worst experience with opposition supporters

First AFL match v Collingwood at the G for me.

Reckon every Port supporter there that day copped it from some Collingwood campaigner.

Before first bounce, we were minding our business, quietly eating breakfast on Elizabeth St when...

Some feral chick ran up to our table and - over our bacon and eggs - gave us a four-letter spray.

May have even been the same demoralised version of the female variety you encountered...

Compared to other fans, I must admit I've been spared the worst of it, but there was one day at Elizabeth Oval back in the 1990's when I made the mistake of wearing the wrong colours to the game. Some Bulldogs fan took exception to my black and white scarf as I walked past, and gave me a vicious hip and shoulder into the crowd. I've had a dim view of the Central Districts Football Club since that day!!!!

never had any real problems with people at the footy. I'm lucky enough that i haven't had to associate with many bogans in my life and when I have I can usually talk my way out of them getting aggressive, because they're basically as dumb as dogs.

Yeh another vote for the 2003 Prelim. They were feral as after the game.

2001 Hawks away at the G (we won) Hawk supp givin me s**t from above, then came down a tier to sit next to me and press for a fight, we piled on 4-5 goals in the last, Kane Cornes 1st game as I remember, didn't have to fight, just laughed in the face of this clown for about 10 minutes :D

Back in 1980 or 81 at Norwood standing on the eastern side near a little bar and a ' halls ' drink stand . We copped a hiding on the field and after the game we were standing there just finishing our beers and copping absolute shite from the feral deadleggers when one group decided to really let rip at us with one getting right up in my mates face screaming ' leeeeeeegggs' . He wanted a fight obviously but didn't realise who he was picking on. Let's just say that the mouthy one who picked the fight literally got dragged, like a schoolboy, up to the empty halls stand and hit so hard he went clean through the northern wall, suddenly his mates didn't want to fight. We just walked out unhindered from there wondering why someone would pick a fight with a 6ft 4inch, 100 plus kilo, bearded builders laborer nicknamed Rhino.

Never had any real issues either, the best was a final between Port and West when Darren smith elbowed some westies flog and they all attacked him at half time.

I was screaming "it takes the whole team to beat up Doreen and laughing my **** of .

Some 60 year old westies supporter lost it and started swinging, using my Kung fu that I had learnt in blood sport I ducked and wived will still laughing my **** off until his mates got hold of him.

Don't have any real bad experiences at an AFL game. Get a bit of heckling from people every now and then. I think the worst of it would've been when I went as a neutral with a friend (Collingwood supporter) to AAMI stadium a few years ago when the Crows got knocked out of the finals (may have been around 2006). The grannies weren't happy that day. I would say that the Crows fans are probably the ones who at least try to make you feel most uncomfortable around them, just very minor things they do, but it's no big deal really, though one time, a Crows supporter (full blown adult) tried to jump me in the rest room of the Showdown final (I was 13 at the time) because I was wearing a Choppy Pickett badge on my scarf. Can't say that was too fun.

Worst experience at a sporting match easily was Adelaide United vs Melbourne Victory in 2006 (6-0). Not sure whether it was the spitting, the ripping seats off and throwing at us, the drug use by the bar, or the "F*** off United" chants as we left the stadium; which had to be done by a police escort.

to be honest the worst experiences i have had at afl games have been when friends have brought friends i have never met before , who despite being carlton/north/pies etc supporters have cheered on team x (not their team!) playing against port that day by constantly screaming at port supporters and grabbing them. i have had to restrain my self from belting them because of families sitting around us and my friends wouldnt appreciate me belting their idiot friends even though they want to. but definitely those kind of supporters are the worst.

i have to say amatuer football games are the worst. in my years of playing amateur and watching amateur football behaviour on both sides have been atrocious. racist , homophobic , terrible terrible despicable behaviour. king hits from behind. people wanting to punch on after games. so many heroes always talking up how tough they are because they are gonna hit someone. it was just embarrassing human behaviour. to be honest i doubt i want my kids growing up around any of that crap. there are always good people at football clubs but the half that are dickheads are allowed to run amok and dictate behaviour at the clubs when they should be pulled into line.

Love going down to watch my local club.

Prefer it to the SANFL these days.

But yeah, all bets are off!

Cant say i've had too much at AFL games, a few mouthy fans and one crow fan threatening to smack my head in after a 2003 wizard cup game (still to this day have no idea why).

My worst experience is an Ammo game. My local club Hope Valley have had a long rivalry with Eastern Park, and at an under 18 grand final in 2011 s**t hit the fan big time. Tension was brewing between both fan bases all day (must of been about 400 of us all together), with Weslo doing bugger all to stop it. All boiled over in the last quarter and chairs, bottles, esky's, cans were flying all over the place amongst the fists and kicks. I hopped over the fence onto the ground to avoid getting struck from behind. Was genuinely concerned for my safety that day.

My little brother had a stint playing for Ovingham, every week resembled the stories in this thread pretty much. I swear there were guys who only played to punch on.

In my 7 years of attending the AFL every Port home game the worst I've seen is posturing, or a light scuffle 3 bays over where everyone was evicted pretty much immediately.

Sorry for the intrusion.

Had a pretty shitty experience at the last showdown, I was in my normal reserved seat and a family of 4 sat to my left including a young (probably about 13-14) port supporter right next to me who was rather passionate. He was loudly cheering his team on and in no way abusing anyone or doing anything stupid. I have these two really annoying middle aged crows supporters that sit a row behind me who were mouthing off at him all game and when we won really laying into him. Really poor form, had a word with the young bloke who I'd been chatting with all game and told him to ignore them and its good to passionately support your team. Had a word with the ladies after who didn't seem to understand why I was telling them to get their s**t together.

Outside of that probably the first showdown last year, leaving Footy Park and having a bunch of people abusing me and my 4 year old niece and giving her s**t for crying for being intimidated that she's being yelled at. But that's footy, every club has them.

In the late 70's and early 80's people hated going to Richmond Oval, a) because it's a dump, and b) for fear of tangling with the dreaded Richmond Rockers. I never had any issues there though. But one day in the city after a game, while walking through the mall to change buses, two Richmond Rockers (identifiable by their black cardigan jackets with red chest band) stole my flag and threw it up on top of the verandah of John Martins. :(

Cant say i've had too much at AFL games, a few mouthy fans and one crow fan threatening to smack my head in after a 2003 wizard cup game (still to this day have no idea why).

My worst experience is an Ammo game. My local club Hope Valley have had a long rivalry with Eastern Park, and at an under 18 grand final in 2011 s**t hit the fan big time. Tension was brewing between both fan bases all day (must of been about 400 of us all together), with Weslo doing bugger all to stop it. All boiled over in the last quarter and chairs, bottles, esky's, cans were flying all over the place amongst the fists and kicks. I hopped over the fence onto the ground to avoid getting struck from behind. Was genuinely concerned for my safety that day.

Eastern Park ? Surely not...

In the late 70's and early 80's people hated going to Richmond Oval, a) because it's a dump, and b) for fear of tangling with the dreaded Richmond Rockers. I never had any issues there though. But one day in the city after a game, while walking through the mall to change buses, two Richmond Rockers (identifiable by their black cardigan jackets with red chest band) stole my flag and threw it up on top of the verandah of John Martins. :(
Quite possibly rotting in gaol at this moment.

i wasn't even at the 2003 preliminary final but you could tell the Collingwood fans that day were a complete disgrace. You would think you would be happy that your team had made another GF and you would spend the moments after the game celebrating, high fiving, back slapping your own supporters but instead they seemed more worried about giving to the Port Adelaide Football Club. I was watching my brother in law play in the Amateur league Grand final that day and spent most of it in the old members bar watching the port game, the image of the collingwood supporters absolutely giving it to our players as they walked off the ground still angers me.

Yep '03 Prelim with my wife and mother in law

We were sitting at the Southern End underneath all the construction and at the end of the game had to walk around to Jolimont Train Station

Was very intimidating particularly on the train - no violence but plenty of spite

The last showdown at AAMI went from what probably would have been to the best game I had ever been to.

Coping it from the flogs supporters left and right, right up until Monfries got is miracle goal then WINGARDDDDD. Turned right to those flogs and have them a double fist pump.

Eastern Park

Seriously, who're they kidding?

Elizabeth Park or Craigmore.

Take your pick, Demons...

The last showdown at AAMI went from what probably would have been to the best game I had ever been to.

Coping it from the flogs supporters left and right, right up until Monfries got is miracle goal then WINGARDDDDD. Turned right to those flogs and have them a double fist pump.

Haha! We had the same. Seemed to be surrounded by some real Crows nuffies.

Didn't get the chance to say goodbye, unfortunately.

They made The Flash look slow...

I was hip and shouldered in the kidneys by two identical looking crows grannies after last years "Wingaaaard" showdown while I was standing at the back of the bay waiting for my friends. It was actually quite painful, but comical nonetheless.
Rather that than stabbed in the eye with their needles.