AFL Team Manager Rules - OLD

Re: AFL Team Manager Rules (updated January 09)

The Off Season

Timeline
From 9am Monday of AFL semi final week until 8pm on the Tuesday following the AFL National draft is the contract negotiation/trade period.
:thumbsu:

omg.png

Thats Today!

Yes - The finals rule that was bought up when i missed out on finals last year....Think it was something to do with if teams end up with same amount of premiership points for the season then ladder positions gets decided on total points scored for the season....Pretty sure thats what it was.

Also bench players.

I'd like to see them get half points as this rewards teams with great depth. This way it gets coaches to manage their salaries a little tighter instead of paying a few stars massive salaries and the rest on a lower budget.

I wouldn't have minded having scoring bench players this year. I often had good scores not counting despite having a decent amount of injuries to cover.

But at the same time all the other games like this I play in have a full team of 22 scorers which means selection doesn't really play much of a part. In this game it adds to the challenge.
Happy either way.

When will the minimum contract figures for uncontracted players be out?
I'm negotiating a couple of trades and want to see what options are there for uncontracted players I'm thinking of trading in and out of my team :)

I reckon teams should be rewarded more with players they sign or draft and when these players are uncontracted. the players team should be able to match any bid but get 20% cheaper then the rival teams offer

I like that idea Pete. Maybe a 10% discount for staying with their current club. Would make poaching players much harder.

Yes - The finals rule that was bought up when i missed out on finals last year....Think it was something to do with if teams end up with same amount of premiership points for the season then ladder positions gets decided on total points scored for the season....Pretty sure thats what it was.

Yeah, that was kind of weird. Think we should change that.

Also bench players.

I'd like to see them get half points as this rewards teams with great depth. This way it gets coaches to manage their salaries a little tighter instead of paying a few stars massive salaries and the rest on a lower budget.

I had 25+ players to choose from each week during the season, but I really don't like this idea at all. Players shouldn't be punished for having high-paid stars in their side, and players that have trouble naming a full 18 shouldn't be further disadvantaged by having to compete with teams of 25.

Must say I am happy with the way the game is run right now. Just pretty keen to get into trades, signings and drafting :thumbsu:

Bench players shouldnt score...injuries this year caused at least one team to name a side of 14. Its not necessarily rewarding good list management but punishing bad luck

Id like to see contracts expunged for delisted players...but it wont happen :eek:

I had 25+ players to choose from each week during the season, but I really don't like this idea at all. Players shouldn't be punished for having high-paid stars in their side, and players that have trouble naming a full 18 shouldn't be further disadvantaged by having to compete with teams of 25.
Worth a shot ;)

Didn't expect it to go down well with other coaches, since i'm probably one of a couple who hasnt gone out there and splurged on a couple of stars. Bench would be restricted to 4 obviously, to resemble real afl.

Also, I think teams should name a bench with positions to replace injured players. This way the decision isn't all down to Russian's call as it's just too controversial. eg of a bench: Defender - Darren Milburn, Key defender - Brian Lake, midfielder - Andrew Swallow, forward - Mark LeCras, Key forward - Kurt Tippet.

I like the idea of getting a 10% discount on your own uncontracted players.

Also, I think teams should name a bench with positions to replace injured players. This way the decision isn't all down to Russian's call as it's just too controversial. eg of a bench: Defender - Darren Milburn, Key defender - Brian Lake, midfielder - Andrew Swallow, forward - Mark LeCras, Key forward - Kurt Tippet.

If anyone ever achieves a bench that good we may as well just call the rest of the season off :p.

I like that idea Pete. Maybe a 10% discount for staying with their current club. Would make poaching players much harder.

Yeah, I agree. 10% is much better than 20%.
Eg. If the bidding = $400k the original team can retain for $360k. $320k would be too much.

Maybe even look at 20%. Some movement would be good.

Do I remember some talk a while ago about making it easier to retain draftees? I don't know how that works at the moment but I reckon it's not fair that the club that originally drafts a player develps them only to have someone else snag them when they're original contract ends (If that's how it currently works)

We started that last year, but it could do with some refining. I think it was a one year extension for 200k, and two year extension for 300k, and so on.

That's reasonable for onballers but not so great for Ruckmen and KPPs that generally take longer to develop. Most ruckmen aren't likely to get decent scores for 5 years (costing big dollars) and then they'll be stolen when they're scores are a lot better

True. TBH you probably aren't going to face a whole lot of bids for a second year ruckman, but I see what you mean.

Better player retention should be high on the agenda imo.

As the others have mentioned:

- The discount one sounds a very good idea. However, i'd like to vote for 20% (and potentially more). I just rekon its too tough to keep your own player atm.
10% won't make much of a difference imo, particulary as other clubs just cash up and offer big for big names willy nilly (some movement is good though obviously). Last year GeeCat got murdered with those 900k bids for Hodge, Bartel and some of his others (and they would have gone for more, if he didn't do that trade thing).

- Perhaps either that and/or each year be able to resign 1 of your uncontracted players at their designated price (irrespective of how long they have been on your list).
I think something to this effect was brought in last year where if a player has been on your list for 3/4 years and is UC then you can resign him, however, this rule won't really come in affect much for at least another few seasons, as so much of player change has gone on in recent years (particulary with our massive turnover of coaches each season; and the new ones come in a flush out lists) that most lists would have only a handful, if that, left of their list from 2+ years ago, let alone 3/4 years.

- Also vote yes to the bench player positioning. I like the idea of back, key back, mid, ruck, forward key forward.
Or if thats too complicated/too many players/too many variables, maybe just go with the 4 bench players and split them among one designated back, mid, forward and ruck, irrespective of size.

- And an all star game definately needs to be put in their somewhere ;) . Seeing as every second coach supports west coast how about WCE coached sides vs the rest :p

20% i think would be more like afl now, Say a player gets offered $400k at a rival club i reckon most afl players would stay loyal to their club for $320 for the same amount of years.

As for bench players scoreing half points or not, I see both sides of this and still undeceided.

Cant wait to start bidding process

- And an all star game definately needs to be put in their somewhere ;) . Seeing as every second coach supports west coast how about WCE coached sides vs the rest :p
Haha, like this one mate. Dunno about West vs the Rest but definitely some sort of All star game. But when could it be held?

Bench positioning is a must, whichever way we do it I'm not really fussed. As long as Russian doesn't get to make the final call on bench replacements (no offence mate :D just too much objectivity involved thats all) i'm happy.

With the player discounts, I like 10%. Although 20% is more realistic, i fear that we may see a very stale off-season with not many player movements.

Haha, like this one mate. Dunno about West vs the Rest but definitely some sort of All star game. But when could it be held?

Hold it from Round 16/17 onwards...maybe a three match series, with the manager(s) of each team being sides that missed the finals. Obviously, this could be a bit of a side comp like what myself, Peterss, P4L and EP did this year. Just be run by someone for whoevers interested :thumbsu:
Teams here could also be split by team names. Judging by the teams, 7 are named as Victorian, 7 are outside and 2 could be anywhere (Western and Southern!). If those 2 managers were split eitherway, itd be an even spread between Vics and Dreamteam (This is counting SWR as the newly renamed St Kilda Titans...)

Liking the idea of easier player retention, but I dont like to see it become too easy. Obviously it puts an emphasis on trades over poaching, but there still has to be a bit of that go on

Could we have a system where you have a cap of 4-8 players who you can match below the bid...or 2 players at 20%, another number at 10% and the rest at 0-5%?

- The discount one sounds a very good idea. However, i'd like to vote for 20% (and potentially more). I just rekon its too tough to keep your own player atm.
10% won't make much of a difference imo, particulary as other clubs just cash up and offer big for big names willy nilly (some movement is good though obviously). Last year GeeCat got murdered with those 900k bids for Hodge, Bartel and some of his others (and they would have gone for more, if he didn't do that trade thing).
That rule (at 10%) is already in. We sorted that out pre-season.

- Also vote yes to the bench player positioning. I like the idea of back, key back, mid, ruck, forward key forward.
Or if thats too complicated/too many players/too many variables, maybe just go with the 4 bench players and split them among one designated back, mid, forward and ruck, irrespective of size.
It's nice in theory but when you go into detail you either end up with the highly controlled DreamTeam method when you're ****ed if two forwards drop out even if your other bench players could play forward, or you have to write an essay to explain how you want your bench used, or you get a system with heaps of loop holes that the history of this game guarantees will be exploited. If someone can put together a fair and effective system I'd love to use it, but we're a long way off that.

I'll still doing a lot of BigFooty Medal work at the moment so I probably won't start on the bidding stuff until next week. Can't remember what I have to do so I don't know how long it'll take. I'd guess the week after the GF but it could be any time from next Monday to mid-October.

That rule (at 10%) is already in. We sorted that out pre-season.

Good rule :):thumbsu:

It's nice in theory but when you go into detail you either end up with the highly controlled DreamTeam method when you're ****ed if two forwards drop out even if your other bench players could play forward, or you have to write an essay to explain how you want your bench used, or you get a system with heaps of loop holes that the history of this game guarantees will be exploited. If someone can put together a fair and effective system I'd love to use it, but we're a long way off that.

Could get messy. I think you apply logic pretty well when substituting players but think it's not fair on you to have to do it and at some stage someone will have a huge point against your decision. It's already happened once or twice but the coaches let it pass without really disputing it.

I don't mind writing a few lines on how I'd like subs to replace players who don't line up possibly even shifting players already in the 18. If I get it wrong it's my own bad choice and will save you having to make your own call. Opposition coaches could dispute any proposed subs/moves as soon as they're posted.

I'll still doing a lot of BigFooty Medal work at the moment so I probably won't start on the bidding stuff until next week. Can't remember what I have to do so I don't know how long it'll take. I'd guess the week after the GF but it could be any time from next Monday to mid-October.

Proposed minimum contracts for uncontracted players who are traded sounds pretty time consuming

AFL Team Manager Rules - OLD