Re: AFL Team Manager Rules (updated January 09)
Do all of the clubs have coaches?
So when does the trading start.
Do all of the clubs have coaches?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
So when does the trading start.
The Off Season
Timeline
From 9am Monday of AFL semi final week until 8pm on the Tuesday following the AFL National draft is the contract negotiation/trade period.
Yes - The finals rule that was bought up when i missed out on finals last year....Think it was something to do with if teams end up with same amount of premiership points for the season then ladder positions gets decided on total points scored for the season....Pretty sure thats what it was.
Also bench players.
I'd like to see them get half points as this rewards teams with great depth. This way it gets coaches to manage their salaries a little tighter instead of paying a few stars massive salaries and the rest on a lower budget.
Worth a shotI had 25+ players to choose from each week during the season, but I really don't like this idea at all. Players shouldn't be punished for having high-paid stars in their side, and players that have trouble naming a full 18 shouldn't be further disadvantaged by having to compete with teams of 25.
Also, I think teams should name a bench with positions to replace injured players. This way the decision isn't all down to Russian's call as it's just too controversial. eg of a bench: Defender - Darren Milburn, Key defender - Brian Lake, midfielder - Andrew Swallow, forward - Mark LeCras, Key forward - Kurt Tippet.
I like that idea Pete. Maybe a 10% discount for staying with their current club. Would make poaching players much harder.
Do I remember some talk a while ago about making it easier to retain draftees? I don't know how that works at the moment but I reckon it's not fair that the club that originally drafts a player develps them only to have someone else snag them when they're original contract ends (If that's how it currently works)
We started that last year, but it could do with some refining. I think it was a one year extension for 200k, and two year extension for 300k, and so on.
That's reasonable for onballers but not so great for Ruckmen and KPPs that generally take longer to develop. Most ruckmen aren't likely to get decent scores for 5 years (costing big dollars) and then they'll be stolen when they're scores are a lot better
Haha, like this one mate. Dunno about West vs the Rest but definitely some sort of All star game. But when could it be held?- And an all star game definately needs to be put in their somewhere. Seeing as every second coach supports west coast how about WCE coached sides vs the rest
![]()
Haha, like this one mate. Dunno about West vs the Rest but definitely some sort of All star game. But when could it be held?
That rule (at 10%) is already in. We sorted that out pre-season.- The discount one sounds a very good idea. However, i'd like to vote for 20% (and potentially more). I just rekon its too tough to keep your own player atm.
10% won't make much of a difference imo, particulary as other clubs just cash up and offer big for big names willy nilly (some movement is good though obviously). Last year GeeCat got murdered with those 900k bids for Hodge, Bartel and some of his others (and they would have gone for more, if he didn't do that trade thing).
It's nice in theory but when you go into detail you either end up with the highly controlled DreamTeam method when you're ****ed if two forwards drop out even if your other bench players could play forward, or you have to write an essay to explain how you want your bench used, or you get a system with heaps of loop holes that the history of this game guarantees will be exploited. If someone can put together a fair and effective system I'd love to use it, but we're a long way off that.- Also vote yes to the bench player positioning. I like the idea of back, key back, mid, ruck, forward key forward.
Or if thats too complicated/too many players/too many variables, maybe just go with the 4 bench players and split them among one designated back, mid, forward and ruck, irrespective of size.
That rule (at 10%) is already in. We sorted that out pre-season.
It's nice in theory but when you go into detail you either end up with the highly controlled DreamTeam method when you're ****ed if two forwards drop out even if your other bench players could play forward, or you have to write an essay to explain how you want your bench used, or you get a system with heaps of loop holes that the history of this game guarantees will be exploited. If someone can put together a fair and effective system I'd love to use it, but we're a long way off that.
I'll still doing a lot of BigFooty Medal work at the moment so I probably won't start on the bidding stuff until next week. Can't remember what I have to do so I don't know how long it'll take. I'd guess the week after the GF but it could be any time from next Monday to mid-October.