Essendon 2011

SJ

Stanton spent 5 0r 6 games in defence at the backend of the season, because his form dropped off - This could have been a combination of failing to handle a tag and having a niggle.

I am certain that after 2 excellent games off HB - He was tagged in at least one or two games when in defence.

Stanton has been getting tagged for 3 years or so. Nothing to do with failing to handle it. He was playing injured for a good portion of the season.

I've already said I think you're a liar who can't be trusted, why would i
need to try a disprove that on your behalf?

you just got caught again, as blokes like you are want to do. :D

Mate, If you are going to accuse people of lying atleast have some proof or substance to what you are saying. You can't even tell me what I have supposedly lied about. Are you that much of a flog that you think anyone that has a difference of opinion to you is lying?

I believe Watson recieves more attention than Stanton, Yaco believes otherwise. I don't think I am wrong but if I am it certainly doesn't mean I am lying.

SirJimi05, your wasting your time with this dropkick, just fueling his fire

I take some solace from the fact that whatever Essendon event has caused his/her emotional scaring, it must have been a beauty:p - i was thinking '93 prelim but dont reckon the age could be right

so what was it crow-mo? where all friends here ready to help you get over it...

Mate, If you are going to accuse people of lying atleast have some proof or substance to what you are saying. You can't even tell me what I have supposedly lied about. Are you that much of a flog that you think anyone that has a difference of opinion to you is lying?

I believe Watson recieves more attention than Stanton, Yaco believes otherwise. I don't think I am wrong but if I am it certainly doesn't mean I am lying.
yaco gets a pretty good look at all the off-the-ball attention & match-ups from his seat.

Not directed at Yaco but this is one thing that irks me about many football followers, especially the ones on BigFooty.

People often go on like they know everything about something, just from watching it on tv, but in reality they have no idea. I've brought this up on many occasions on our own board.

I once heard one of our posters go on about how Ryder doesn't read the play well but when I pressed him on it it turned out he rarely goes to the games. Now, how on earth are you meant to know how well a player reads the ball if you don't go to the games and watch what happens off the ball? I spent quite a bit of time watching Ryder off the ball when he was playing in defence and he read the play brilliantly. One of the best at our club.

Same goes with tagging and or players recieving attention. Cro-mo sits back and acts like he knows everything about our club but I doubt he watches us live more than once or twice a season.

Maybe next time he watches us live he can take hiseyes off the ball for 5-10 minutes and just focus on Watson and then Stanton. Then he can come back and give an honest assesment abiut his findings.

Stanton has been getting tagged for 3 years or so. Nothing to do with failing to handle it. He was playing injured for a good portion of the season.

Absolutely right about Stanton being tagged.

And many Essendon supporters hope he breaks the tag more often.

He could very well have been injured in the second half of the year - That was the suggestion on the Essendon Board.

I will stop expressing my opinion - Once you stop giving your opinion about other AFL teams and other sports - After all, unless you are Sporting Groupie - and travel Australia and the world - You are watching most sport from the comfort of your sofa.;)

Not directed at Yaco but this is one thing that irks me about many football followers, especially the ones on BigFooty.

People often go on like they know everything about something, just from watching it on tv, but in reality they have no idea. I've brought this up on many occasions on our own board.

I once heard one of our posters go on about how Ryder doesn't read the play well but when I pressed him on it it turned out he rarely goes to the games. Now, how on earth are you meant to know how well a player reads the ball if you don't go to the games and watch what happens off the ball? I spent quite a bit of time watching Ryder off the ball when he was playing in defence and he read the play brilliantly. One of the best at our club.

Same goes with tagging and or players recieving attention. Cro-mo sits back and acts like he knows everything about our club but I doubt he watches us live more than once or twice a season.

Maybe next time he watches us live he can take hiseyes off the ball for 5-10 minutes and just focus on Watson and then Stanton. Then he can come back and give an honest assesment abiut his findings.

SJ

Haven't you answered your own question ?

Most of us only watch other teams LIVE - once or twice a year -

Therefore,discussion is limited.

Still trying to work out how there are so may forums discussing American Sports, like the NBA,NHL etc, or the various soccer leagues like Seria A, La Liga, EPL etc - The discussion is restricted to posters who watch games via TV.

There was a game against Adelaide, the one where I think Walker, TIppett & Knights kicked 6.0, 5.0 and 4.0 each (or it felt like that) at the TD; we were up at half-time before the Crows sat two blokes on Watson who were basically grabbing him before the bounce. And then he says they don't tag him. I'm not sure if they did it this year, but last year & the year before they definitely did.

It's undoubtedly hard to see the tags unless you're there if they're any sort of tag. Or unless the taggee is a Judd/Ablett who can bust free from the contact.

I will stop expressing my opinion - Once you stop giving your opinion about other AFL teams and other sports - After all, unless you are Sporting Groupie - and travel Australia and the world - You are watching most sport from the comfort of your sofa.;)
I'm Australian, it's a couch not a sofa. Even if it's a sofa, it's a couch.

Tagging is one of the things you just cannot get a grip on when it's out of the immediate picture.
With Stanton starting most games from half-back and largely staying there, you'd have bugger all chance to keep up with it on TV.
The only thing that really changed last year was without Lovett & with Winderlich doing SFA, clubs put attention into Stanton every game rather than just some of the time.

Funny to hear Garry Lyon say at a breakfast this am that you can only see Mike Sheahan's ankles right now - he is that far up James Hird.

Hadn't heard that before. Didn't LOL, but a bit of a chuckle.

I'm Australian, it's a couch not a sofa. Even if it's a sofa, it's a couch.

Tagging is one of the things you just cannot get a grip on when it's out of the immediate picture.
With Stanton starting most games from half-back and largely staying there, you'd have bugger all chance to keep up with it on TV.
The only thing that really changed last year was without Lovett & with Winderlich doing SFA, clubs put attention into Stanton every game rather than just some of the time.

The two games i watched live

Swans - Stanton was tagged by Nick Smith ( who had success tagging in the previous weeks ) - Stants took him to the cleaners.
Geelong - Tagged by Ling - Stants had a solid game - improved on previous performances against Ling.

You mentioned that teams put more time into Stanton in 2010 - Agreed - And I mentioned earlier in the thread, Lovett was targetted in 2009 - So we agree.

Actually a player being tagged is one thing you see better on the TV than live - you get a much better appreciation of close in work/clearances etc.

But watching the game live - gives you an infinitely better perspective of the whole field of play - setting up of zones, player movements, player workrate etc

The two games i watched live

Swans - Stanton was tagged by Nick Smith ( who had success tagging in the previous weeks ) - Stants took him to the cleaners.
Geelong - Tagged by Ling - Stants had a solid game - improved on previous performances against Ling.
Are we still talking 2010, the game Stanton didn't play?

Actually a player being tagged is one thing you see better on the TV than live - you get a much better appreciation of close in work/clearances etc.
Not if he's not playing on the ball. Becomes pretty hard to tell when Stanton took his tagger forward and the ball didn't get there for 10 minutes.

Believe me, you won't out-trainspot SJ05. You just won't.

problem is your too silly to realise that points of fact aren't subjective.

and I've called you out on your lies specifically in this thread.

SirJimi05, your wasting your time with this dropkick, just fueling his fire

I take some solace from the fact that whatever Essendon event has caused his/her emotional scaring, it must have been a beauty:p - i was thinking '93 prelim but dont reckon the age could be right

so what was it crow-mo? where all friends here ready to help you get over it...

yes all that emotional scaring. anything but the scaring.

stugots.

I like that the teen fantasists are now talking about mysterious games from yester year to justify their make believe about Adelaide tagging Watson.

didn't happen and you didn't see it happen for that reason. :D

I like that the teen fantasists are now talking about mysterious games from yester year to justify their make believe about Adelaide tagging Watson.

didn't happen and you didn't see it happen for that reason. :D
Don't be so snide. If you're replying to me, reply to me.

The game was rd 11 2009.
Tippett 7.1, Walker 2.1, Knights 5.0 and they just couldn't miss (Crows kicked 21.4).

Watson was dominating clearances until half time & we were leading; then he got pretty heavy pressure & was tagged out of it.
I've no idea who went onto him but he copped a tag & a few blocks which could've or should've been called.

Essendon 2011