The Post Match Autopsy - Collingwood vs WB and GWS

May 27, 2008
Wherever I May Roam
Socceroos, Melbourne Victory
I thought i'd kick off our first post match discussion thread for the season!

Not much to write home about really. Pretty scrappy performances, first blow out for the season and a lot of young guys didn't help us.

GWS surprised liked the look of Cooyou who almost gave me a heart attack at the end there.

Big :thumbsu: to Paine for that awesome game saving goal!

:thumbsu: - Williams, Yagmoor and the yank did okay

:thumbsdown: Dawes, and Keefe

I thought Dawes was Okay.

I like Mooney's Efforts but could tell he never played AFL Before.

Witts was Solid but still need more Gametime into him.

Ceglar got better as the Night went on.

Paine was Solid competed well and Kicked a Ripper to win the Game vs GWS. Reminds me of Dawes

I reckon we played 10 minutes of serious football out of 40 minutes tonight, and still got 2 wins.:p

Some of the youngsters looked ok, but Sinclair, Keefe ad McNamara have a lot of work to do if they want to get anywhere near senior selection, poor showing from them IMO.

Our youngsters kicked the majority of our goals, Young, Williams, Paine, all had good showings, and with the injuries we have up front we need some youth coming through there.

Yagmoor was the standout youngster for me, especially against the Dogs, he has a booming left foot on him, and seemed to know what to do under pressure, most of the time.

Overall it was what it was, a televised practice match with stupid rules and our senior players going half pace for a long time.

Pray for Caff now.

The big pluses for mine were in no particular order.

- The showing from Yagmoor, Sinclair and Williams
- Goldsack up forward with Caff going down
- Jolly looking fit again!

Negative's.

- Skills, it was wet/ dewy so we can let that slide for now
- Buckley and Keefe constantly behind their men and being led to the ball
- Not getting to see Seedsman in that second match after he showed a bit in the first

It was interesting watching Shaw have a pretty serious discussion with Keeffe at the end of the game there. Keeffe had done something wrong and Shaw was explaining it to him.

Yagmoor looked really impressive. He needs to be a bit more composed with his kicking. He has the skills but he needs to slow down a touch and not rush. I was most impressed with his contested work which was excellent.

Marley Williams looks a player too. Massive hoof on him and he worked hard to get in areas to provide an option. First impression was a good one.

Goldsack was busy but I didn't think great. He made a fair few mistakes which i'm probably less forgiving of as he is a senior player now. With Macaffer and Didaks injury and Krakouers absence I think throwing him up forward - as scodog suggested in the match thread - could be a good move for moneybags.

Sinclair is a real Tryer but Skills and Descion Making are Terrible.

Reminds me a lot of Barham.

Yeah we only played a bit Half Seriously and that was still enough

McCaffer update:

Suspected ACL from bucks presser. Scans to confirm tomorrow

Thats massive if true! It would be a massive blow to Macaffer and an injury we seriously don't need with the way our forward line is going. They're dropping like flies up there.

Our youngsters kicked the majority of our goals, Young, Williams, Paine, all had good showings, and with the injuries we have up front we need some youth coming through there.

Yep very impressed with Young tonight. He would have to be close to senior selection for round one.

Happy with Williams, Yags, Seedsman, and to a lesser extent Hartley and Witts.

Sitting on the fence on Paine, Ceglar, Keeffe, Mooney.

Concerned about Sinclair, devastated about MacAffer.

GWS played brilliantly first up, so kudos to them.

In saying that I was impressed by little tonight and disappointed with a lot (like weren't our disposal supposed to be fantastic even the kids?) but as I posted elsewhere as the rust falls away and the seniors come back ikmsure most of them will dissipate. Here is hoping anyway

What I posted in the other thread

Goldsack just came in and out of the game, not sure he is a good enough play reader to be a forward, HBF/wing.

Toovey I thought was good

Jolly showed he is over all his injuries (thank Christ)

Shae has become useable depth

Seedsmen disappointed me, he was either hard at it and involved, or visibly soft and no where near it (one play against the dogs where he let two of them go for the ball when he knew he'd get heavy contact of he went was disappointing to see)

Thomas looks stronger and as hungry and involved as last year

Dawes was poor, I know he kicked a couple and he took one somewhat decent contested mark (still double grabbed and marked on his chest). But with a lot of kids around him he needed to lead from the front and didn't, was very disappointing to see phil Davis (however highly rated he is) out body him.

As a whole our disposable was shoddy, and we were easily out bodied. I'll put both down to playing a lot of kids and a non existant forward line but the foot skills especially a worry.

Shit shit news about Caff too

Yagmoor looked really impressive. He needs to be a bit more composed with his kicking. He has the skills but he needs to slow down a touch and not rush. I was most impressed with his contested work which was excellent.

I agree with that Summary Quicky

BTW I think I should qualify my thoughts on Sinclair considering he will undoubtedly cop criticism.

He was the only small forward who consistently ran to the right spots. Because of this he was able to come up with the most ground ball gets in the forward half tonight. This meant that the majority of his possessions were under extreme duress resulting in turnovers.

Because of his relative anonymity when he plays during the home and away season he'll be able to suck off the back more and get possessions in space which in-turn will result in less turnovers! Finding the ball in traffic at his size is a very tough thing to do so for him to do it well tonight is a positive in my book.

McCaffer will almost certainly go down the Lars route given how early the season is and how his career was really in the balance this year.
Those are good points, but I still doubt he'll go for LARS. He's still young, he'll likely go to Julian Feller like most of the other Collingwood boys have, and Feller is not an advocate of LARS surgery. Contract situation notwithstanding, the consensus opinion on the LARS procedure is trending ever downwards and in all probability, unless MacAffer goes in to see a surgeon and requests LARS surgery, the surgeon will try to steer him away from it.

I was only happy with Yagmoor to be honest. I know we won both games but it was a poor performance by our kids. Did not see that much talent at all. I was cringing all the way through the GWS game as there were a lot of errors made. Not happy at all. I'm hoping we can improve in a couple of weeks.

He was the only small forward who consistently ran to the right spots. Because of this he was able to come up with the most ground ball gets in the forward half tonight. This meant that the majority of his possessions were under extreme duress resulting in turnovers.

Bloody perceptive, right there!

Notice how even despite the blowouts in the middle (where we have effectively lost all experience besides Ball/Swan who weren't always both on ground at the same time) there was a reasonable defensive structure?

The young kids are moving to the right spots. You want that first - the footy smarts, body work and fitness levels will get there, but importantly they're all making a contest and working off each other.

I'm more than happy to get away with two wins to start the year off even though I can't watch it..
Any news on McCafe's knee?

:D:D:D:D

Let the footy begin.:thumbsu:

As I posted on the Hawks board, teams that try to look invincible in February aren't looking at playing in the last Saturday in September. Teams are dusting off the cobwebs right now and are just getting themselves into competitive match play. I wouldn't be too worried if players aren't quite looking picture perfect at this point. You got the two wins, so mission accomplished.

Oh, and sorry to hear about Macaffer. Hope he comes good quickly.

Yagmoor the best of the newbies. Marley Williams looks a goer.

Not many mentions of him, but I thought Michael Hartley showed some nice closing speed. He had a few errant kicks but they were under pressure. I think we have a bit to work with there.

Considering the number of players missing from our backline, they held together quite well as a group.

Don't forget most of these GWS kids are top of the range kids. They had a few guys that were picked up last year as the select group of 17 year olds and then the top echelon of picks this year.

Our youngsters did OK. Fasolo looks a senior player already.

Great to see Jolly looking fit.

Caff injury is a real downer. Fingers crossed but not to hopeful now.

The Post Match Autopsy - Collingwood vs WB and GWS