Preview Essendon V Port (7/04) - In: Lonergan, Carlisle Out: Hooker (ankle), Hocking (concussion)

• Thread starter Thread starter Tassieboy

Re: Essendon V Port (7/04) - Ins, Outs & all other pre-match discussion

IMHO Port are the sort of (youngish, coming off a struggling year) who are likely to start well then wind down as the year goes on - like us or the Tigs last year. Played a pretty hectic style on the w/e, typically hard to sustain.

If all the injured players are fine, i would just like to see:

Out: McVeigh
In: O'Brien

Give the boy a taste of the action over the next 2 weeks.

Port have a lot more to be concerned about than last year, Hartlett, Cornes, Boak, Cassisi, Mcarthy, Gray, Ebert, Wingard, Rodan, Broadbent, Pearce, Thomas, with O'Shea and Jacobs also able to roll through the middle, despite obvious elite talent, thats pretty strong depth. Interesting tactic against St.Kilda with basically every single flank and pocket having decent midfield experience.

To win this week, Ryder and Hille really have to get on top of Stewart and Redden who instrumental in the win last week. I'm expecting Port to win a fair share of their own ball out of the middle, so our defensive rebounders have to be playing at their best.

I think Port are reading a little too much into their home win against a declining St Kilda. Yes, they were definitely more impressive & harder than they were in 2011 (but that wouldn't of been too difficult) but Essendon would of steamrolled the Saints if they played that sort of footy, much like we have the last few years.

I think people are just happy we won. Last year, with the opposition kicking 3 goals in 3 minutes on the half time siren, we would have come out after half time and lost by 7-8 goals. Maybe more.

I have genuine concerns about this game. It's a fair comment to say we 'should' win, but teams with confidence up - especially ones that have recently had the wood over us - are to be worried about.

Certainly not disregarding Port this week; we'll have to fight hard for the win.

If all the injured players are fine, i would just like to see:

Out: McVeigh
In: O'Brien

Give the boy a taste of the action over the next 2 weeks.

Would not mind that. Appeared to be playing similar role through NAB and looks competent.

I think it suggests more about the Victorian Media not having much knowledge about our list.

God I hate this line.

One of the biggest and worst cliches on bf.

People don't follow shit clubs. Port over the last 5 years have been shit. They could be based in Fitzroy or Finland, no-one wants to watch shit games.

But still... anyone who doesn't know who Cornes is (the most punchable head in the game bar none) hasn't watched all that much football.

God I hate this line.

Not sure how its not valid to be honest, and its fair aswell. Im sure 99% of the SA Population have minimal knowledge on most of the interstate lists especially the younger guys.

Half way through last year no one would have rated Butcher. He plays four games and half the AFL want him on their list. Then he is tipped as a possible Coleman Winner in 2012 by Hutchy.

Up until this pre-season no one would have known about the 205cm Redden who has come onto the scene as our Number 1 Ruck.

Could continue to go on, and on.

Even on afl.com.au a video replay from our game against the Saints mistook Redden for Butcher twice, and Stewart for Schulz twice. Then on the Footy Show last year Garry thought Paul Stewart was our interchange steward.

Slattery_20 said:
But still... anyone who doesn't know who Cornes is (the most punchable head in the game bar none) hasn't watched all that much football.

Haha, its funny - I reckon the older and middle Cornes is the one most would prefer to punch. Kane the best of a bad bunch maybe? :thumbsu:

Half way through last year no one would have rated Butcher.

With his sum total of no games? Probably so.

I'll have it known that I was always a big fan of D. Bass, though.

I have genuine concerns about this game. It's a fair comment to say we 'should' win, but teams with confidence up - especially ones that have recently had the wood over us - are to be worried about.

Certainly not disregarding Port this week; we'll have to fight hard for the win.

it it was over there I'd be fair shitting myself. Here we should win, but it's not a "should" it's a "must", and that makes everyone nervous

God I hate this line.

saaaame. One of my pet hates, as many will know.

Not sure how its not valid to be honest, and its fair aswell.

it's not valid and it's not fair. It's a complete fallacy. It's like claiming Heppell won the RS because he's from a Victorian club when 5 of the last 7 winners have been from interstate clubs.

It's utter bullshit. If it was ever true, it isn't now. It's a national game. Stars from interstate are just as recognised as Victorian ones. Most of us have Foxtel, most of us have Supercoach/DT, we all have internet.

What you perceive as "Victorian bias" is a natural feeling that everyone else under-rates your team and doesn't know your kids etc. EVERY club's supporters feel like that, it's just that the Interstate one's have this nonsense excuse to clutch on to.

With his sum total of no games? Probably so.

I'll have it known that I was always a big fan of D. Bass, though.

Just became my No #1 Poster.

Anyway, looking forward to the week of posting lads, been enjoyable so far.

Macca has posted his Preview up on our Board for those interested:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=927746

Always brilliant.

Mine will be posted over the next couple of days.

Always not brilliant.

God I hate this line.

Couldn't agree more; and SA fans are the biggest whingers in this respect.

As soon as a moderately critical point is made about an SA side or player, that crap is trotted out.

"You don't see the games"

"You think VIC is the centre of the world"

Turns out they have this magical thing called a 'television' which allows fans from all over the country/world to watch games that aren't happening in the geographical vicinity. Mind boggling stuff, turns out they have teams in some far off land called 'Western Australia' as well!

I see as much of Port Adelaide as I do every other side that isn't my own.

saaaame. One of my pet hates, as many will know.

it's not valid and it's not fair. It's a complete fallacy. It's like claiming Heppell won the RS because he's from a Victorian club when 5 of the last 7 winners have been from interstate clubs.

It's utter bullshit. If it was ever true, it isn't now. It's a national game. Stars from interstate are just as recognised as Victorian ones. Most of us have Foxtel, most of us have Supercoach/DT, we all have internet.

What you perceive as "Victorian bias" is a natural feeling that everyone else under-rates your team and doesn't know your kids etc. EVERY club's supporters feel like that, it's just that the Interstate one's have this nonsense excuse to clutch on to.
Perhaps rather than suggesting the Victorian Media, I should have said 'Interstate' because the exact same thing could have been said about the Western Australian media, the NSW Media or the QLD Media. Wasn't intended to be a post about Victorian Bias.

Of course all of the above would barely mention Port Adelaide, and it was not a dig at them for not doing so. Why would they?

BUT when a poster comes on mentioning that our midfield has no household names and then mentions 'Cornes' and 'Ebert' its a little bit baffling.

Im sure I could go through our list and find at least 10 Players that you would not be able to recognize, and I am sure you could do the exact same thing.

Wasn't a dig at your media, nor Victorians at all. Was just perhaps a suggestion that just because (some) posters are not aware of some of our players, doesn't necessarily mean they are not decent players.

PS; Sorry for striking a nerve which has obviously been brought up previously. Not intended to in the slightest.

All good mate, not so much a nerve I don't think, just a bit insulting when it is suggested that Vic fans by and large don't pay attention to interstaters. (Not that you did).

Half way through last year no one would have rated Butcher. He plays four games and half the AFL want him on their list.
I can maybe see where you're coming from with blokes like Redden (was a pretty late pick IIRC), but guys like Butcher - who was talked up all year as a possible #1 and ended up a top 10 draft pick IIRC - are hardly incognito.

Since he tore up the TAC as a 17yo he's been a big-ish name.

Even on afl.com.au a video replay from our game against the Saints mistook Redden for Butcher twice, and Stewart for Schulz twice. Then on the Footy Show last year Garry thought Paul Stewart was our interchange steward.
Take off the tin foil hat.

Andrew Lovett Murray, David Aisle, Tom Beachcomber, Jared Petrenko, "flamboyant midfield Karl Reimers" and Duncan Fletcher say hi, btw.
All apparently Essendon players.
All clubs get it.
You could run through the same scenario with young/new/three-hundred-and-forty-****en-game players from every single club and you'd get the same number of mistakes.

Indictment of how little homework many of the media folk do.... nothing more.

Wasn't a dig at your media, nor Victorians at all. Was just perhaps a suggestion that just because (some) posters are not aware of some of our players, doesn't necessarily mean they are not decent players.
Would suggest problem is largely with said poster rather than endemic.

Cheers for the discussions lads,

Dont want it to go too much more off-topic so may be best to leave it there! :)

Yeah, the "unknown to household name" isn't restricted to any state, or any teams.

Even last year, 99% of non-Essendon supporters wouldn't have known who Stewart Crameri was. 5 weeks into the season he was lauded as a possible All Australian.

There's nothing wrong with that; it's just natural for people to intimately know their own lists 10x better than any others.

All good mate, not so much a nerve I don't think, just a bit insulting when it is suggested that Vic fans by and large don't pay attention to interstaters. (Not that you did).

I don't know, most media outlets will give the "interstate" teams a token comment or glancing interest. Because alot of Victorian supporters still don't really give a crap about the interstate sides. Why is it most prime time games consist of just Victorian sides for example?

An example could be resting Fletcher until the Carlton game for his 350. That logic smacks of disrespect to the interstates sides in itself.

BUT alot of people like your good selves are more so footy purists and actually respect all teams rather than the old VFL teams. If there was no bias why do we get players wanting to return to Victoria as there is more media opportunities and $$$$ in Victoria.

I can understand what you guys are saying but I can also understand TSW point too.

All I want is an equal competition where all teams are respected in the media, with equal unbiased coverage, i also wish for world peace and ending of world hunger also :)

But this is going off topic. 2 years ago I was supposed to attend this fixture in Melbourne but had to cancel. We always play good games. I imagine this will be another.

Cheers for the discussions lads,

Dont want it to go too much more off-topic so may be best to leave it there! :)
Nah, stick around.

You guys are much better than the last lot we had come through here. :thumbsu:

Yeah I'm really looking forward to watching Hartlett.

He was my preference at #5 in the '08 draft, IIRC.

I'm looking forward to seeing him in the same way they'd be looking forward to seeing Hurley.

i.e. with a slight sense of dread :o