Votes: 0 0.0%

Seattle Seahawks
Bit of discussion/argument going on in the main board thread discussing North and Swan respective midfields with some of it centred around who is the better player out of Kieren Jack and Jack Ziebell. So thought I'd put up a poll here and what should be a quite close vote. Now refers to if you were picking a side tomorrow and the future being the next 5-10 years.

Poll is public so Swan and North supporters are welcome to vote but people will have a rough estimate of who is the most neutrally supported.

Jack has been better so far, but for obvious reasons.
Ziebell has a much more complete game, and will end up better, so I voted for him in the future, Jack now. But Ziebell is catching him.

The bias in me obviously wants to say Ziebell now & in the future, but with all his set backs and Jack's consistency, he is undoubtedly ahead right at the moment. However I'm pretty confident that Ziebell will pass him comfortably soon enough, so he is the better long term option.

Kieran's had setbacks of his own. He was pretty average last season. He's had one good season and he's about to turn 25.

Ziebell's just turned 21 and he's played half a good season of footy (obviously, he broke his leg in each of his first two seasons). During the back half of 2011, he was arguably North's best player and definitely better than Jack (who had his own injury concerns).

Jack is a very good young in and under player.

Ziebell is a star.

We may as well compare Voss to Kirk. Who would take Kirk?

I rate Sydney's young midfielders highly and can't wait for the clash on Sunday.

But, to put things in perspective, if Jack Ziebell were to walk out on North tomorrow for whatever reason, I would give up realistic hope of my team being a serious flag contender in our upcoming 'window'.

The kid is that good. Could be almost as special as Carey.

17 kicks, 9 marks, 8 clearances, 7 I50s, 4 goals vs Geelong? GTFO.

The kid isn't just 'going' to be a gun. He is one already.

I sometimes wonder whether his long layoffs due to injury early may have had a certain silver lining to them. I could be way off but it seems to me they allowed him time to really build himself physically while on the sidelines. I heard somewhere he is already in the top few at the club for max bench. He hasn't picked up any soft bad habits that kids can develop when they aren't able to physically match it with bigger bodies early in their careers. And those sorts of layoffs on the sidelines can build a steely determination in a young man.

Geez that was a strong draft.

I rate Sydney's young midfielders highly and can't wait for the clash on Sunday.

But, to put things in perspective, if Jack Ziebell were to walk out on North tomorrow for whatever reason, I would give up realistic hope of my team being a serious flag contender in our upcoming 'window'.

The kid isn't just 'going' to be a gun. He is one already.

I sometimes wonder whether his long layoffs due to injury early may have had a certain silver lining to them. I could be way off but it seems to me they allowed him time to really build himself physically while on the sidelines. I heard somewhere he is already in the top few at the club for max bench. He hasn't picked up any soft bad habits that kids can develop when they aren't able to physically match it with bigger bodies early in their careers. And those sorts of layoffs on the sidelines can build a steely determination in a young man.

Geez that was a strong draft.

Settle down.

Mate, I am so settled they kicked me off the North board for trying to reel the others in a bit. I'm telling you now, if his body doesn't fail him, this kid will be something very special.

I don't disagree and it is a big "if" with his injury history but comparing him to Carey is a bit much.

Wait until he is 25 and an outright thug.

7 weeks ago, he was still 20 years old.

2 broken legs.

Great hands, tough as nails, superb footy smarts, can mark and kick 60 metres.

We got lucky again.

"The kid's going to be a superstar and I'm not afraid to say that because his work ethic, the way he attacks the football, has been fantastic" - Dean Laidley, May 9, 2009

He will go down in history as one of the best players of the 2010's.

We got lucky again.

Yep.

I can't thank the football gods enough. The amount of hope he has given me since I watched him play his first few games... so much of following a football club is about hope, optimisim for a brighter future. Ziebell has given me an excellent reason to have faith that glory days might be ahead of us, and that was long before he came out and destroyed Geelong.

I rate Bastinac and reckon he could go on to be a very very good player, I see signs in Cunnington that he might be something, I believe Atley and Harper will both go on to be more-than-serviceable players for the NMFC.

But Ziebell. If you know football, if you know how much difference a true leader can make to a team, to a club, you just can't help but get excited about the kid. He is special.

If he were to sign up with the GWS... I honestly don't know what I would do because I can't even imagine it. I cannot imagine the NMFC sans Jack from here on.

I hope he stays physically sound because he is a special player. I remember his debut game in a NAB game against the Blues and we got flogged but Jack at 17 years old kicked a few goals and stood up while the rest of the team went to poo poos. You build teams around players like Zeibell. He could quite easily hold down full forward if needed. He has it all just needs his body to stay healthy.

I like Jack a lot but he doesnt have the weapons that Zeibell has. So Zeibell now and in the future.

Ziebell got his hands on it enough today, but had no real impact.

North play a lot of their games indoors, so he's at risk of being a bit of a dry weather specialist.

Jack was much better in their head to head today.

Except they didn't go head to head.

JZ was good, although the conditions didn't suit him well. He was a driving force in our last quarter comeback, but 3-6 from 19 inside 50's let us down badly.

Conditions didn't suit a midfielder described by some as a bull? He a bit of a Shane Watson is he?

It seems there's always an excuse, no matter what.