Food, Drink & Dining Out I regularly defend Perth, but ???????

JimDocker

Oct 16, 2007
Doncaster Rovers, Boston Celtics
http://www.perthnow.com.au/entertai...bar-owner-fuming/story-e6frg30l-1226345172130

IT'S bureaucratic nonsense that's enough to drive anyone to drink.

Plans to transform Albany Highway into a bustling cafe and small bar strip have been thrown into doubt after a popular new wine bar had its liquor licence knocked back.

New bar-cum-restaurant The Precinct is facing an uncertain future after the Director of Liquor Licensing twice refused to allow the venue to serve alcohol, despite a groundswell of support from the community and Victoria Park council.

Daniel Morris, who is known for running successful restaurants Little Creatures, Balthazar and Il Lido, opened the $1 million Victoria Park bar last month and has been operating it as a BYO restaurant while waiting for approval.

His first application was refused because the business failed to show enough community support for the new venture.

But after appealing the decision and offering to provide 80 letters of support, the bar was again refused a licence yesterday and will now have to wait three years before re-applying.

There is simply no reason for this decision. Bureaucracy at it's worst.

http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/b...international-city-denied-20120316-1v9gq.html

The City of Fremantle's bid to extend a special licence that allowed the bustling tourist spot more relaxed drinking laws has been rejected by the state government.
Minister for Racing and Gaming Terry Waldron is expected to conduct a consultative review of the Liquor Licensing Act during the next term of government and the mechanisms were in place for a full debate to take place in Parliament, according to a spokesman for Mr Waldron.
Fremantle Mayor Brad Pettitt wrote to Mr Waldron in January requesting an extension to the special event licence that allowed restaurants to operate like European-style venues during the Perth 2011 ISAF Sailing World Championships, which was sponsored by WAtoday.com.au.

"It was such a success," Mr Pettitt said. "It saw people out in Fremantle in a low-risk drinking environment and was a huge success, so much so that we wanted the momentum from that [to] be available [for a] longer term."
He said the council will continue to lobby for the changes that could be applied to a greater spectrum of popular tourist precincts in Perth, including the city and Subiaco

Now waiting for Eagle87 to say I told you so !!!!!! :mad:

It is so frustrating. Anybody that has made the effort to support these small bars must wonder what is going on in the heads of the decision makers. They are relaxed, comfortable venues for people to enjoy a decent night out without all of the agro that one may get in a pub.

What is so difficult to understand ?

I told you so Jim ;)

Real grown up international cities don't need adults to be "protected" in this way. It's that simple.

Over-use of the quote function :p

Perth is a nice enough but wierd place. Been there a few times in the last year or 2, and the impression I get (in addition to the CUB element) is that whenever anyone tries to do anything progessive (or should I say to catch up to the rest of the world) it gets knocked on the head. Bondy only got to build Observation City by being in the council's pockets. And the pubs all shut at around 10 and last I heard they were still trying to get Sunday trading in shops LOL. Last year there was even something in the news about a ban on flying kites at Cottlesloe because somebody might get hurt! :confused:

Chalk and cheese, but by way of comparison I was in Madrid the weekend before last (on "work" time in transit :thumbsu:), and that place was bloody fun. These folk are in the econimic doldrums (unemployment 25-30%?), yet they were all out in the streets partying (OK, Madrid marathon and Real Madrid knocking off Barcelona did help their mood!). There you can sit in a plaza looking over hundreds of years of history and have a nice meal and sangria for not much more (less?) than you pay (per head) for a sandwich and a coke in a sterile Perth shopping food court. And actually have fun.

This compared to a city enjoying the greatest economic times it's ever seen (whilst subsidising the rest of the country :thumbsu:), yet you can't have too much fun and boofheads seem to just want to beat each other up.

Perth is slowly getting better. The small bars that I have enjoyed in Melbourne are starting to appear in Perth and surrounding areas, but rulings like the 2 mentioned above are just nonsensical.

I rejoiced when my cafe of choice in Fremantle, The X Wray Cafe got a licence so that I could have a wine or a beer when I have my regular catch up with a mate who is a non drinker.

The licence stipulates that nobody is allowed to stand or walk with alcohol in their hand. So if, I see a friend at another table (and I am a popular guy - so it could happen), I am flouting the law walking over to see him/her with my glass of wine.:eek:

The new stadium will be very close to Vic Park and many people may choose to drop in on the way to/from games, but will have a choice of 3 pubs. (All quite nice pubs actually) but no small bars ?

I do not want to diss Perth totally as that is Eagle87's job. I love Perth and see massive potential. Some of it is being brought to fruition but sadly, old thinking will stop it becoming what it should be.

The licence stipulates that nobody is allowed to stand or walk with alcohol in their hand. So if, I see a friend at another table (and I am a popular guy - so it could happen), I am flouting the law walking over to see him/her with my glass of wine.:eek:

That is taking anality to stratospheric new heights.

Just balance it on your head then and walk over to your mate's table, like the women with 20 litre jugs (pun intended) do in Africa.

I told you so Jim ;)

Real grown up international cities don't need adults to be "protected" in this way. It's that simple.

Its pathetic isn't it? When I go back home I pine for those small bars we have in Melbourne. North Melbourne has heaps - Freo would be the logical place for similar liquor laws.

The ridiculous nanny/police statism on alcohol and everything related to it is why I do not want to go back to WA. It is so noticeable one you go live on the east coast.

As a young, single person who likes to drink and occassionally get drunk, Perth is the worst capital city in Australia to do so, because of the over-regulations and over-priciness. When I have settled down with a family than Perth may be more desireable.

No wonder why there are problems with youth running out of control house parties. It's the only way they are allowed to drink in a laid back environment.

I'd rather live in Darwin or Canberra than in Perth.

Perth has to loosen itself up. Even if it was as loose as Sydney it would be more desireable.

The ridiculous nanny/police statism on alcohol and everything related to it is why I do not want to go back to WA. It is so noticeable one you go live on the east coast.

As a young, single person who likes to drink and occassionally get drunk, Perth is the worst capital city in Australia to do so, because of the over-regulations and over-priciness. When I have settled down with a family than Perth may be more desireable.

No wonder why there are problems with youth running out of control house parties. It's the only way they are allowed to drink in a laid back environment.

I'd rather live in Darwin or Canberra than in Perth.

Perth has to loosen itself up. Even if it was as loose as Sydney it would be more desireable.

Darwin is a place that could do with more regulations.

Perth = land of conservative f***-heads.

If anyone hasn't been to perth there's mor Rivers and Colorado stores than MacDonald's restaurants. Almost on every corner. Pack off boat shoe and chino wearing campaigners. Every third bloke looks like Harold from neighbours.

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't understand....why would you regularly defend Perth? Most people I know just accept that ****wits like the director of liquor licencing exist, and now and again they inadvertently **** up by allowing the occasional small bar to open. There are a few around that add to the atmosphere of the city (which no doubt has caused some heads to roll at DRGL for allowing to slip through the net).

These are the same people that impose things like 1am lockouts, and then wonder why street violence suddenly increases at 1am.

I defend Perth because at times, the criticism is unwarranted. I remember an article by some woman who was attending the new Heath Ledger theatre and left herself and her 3 friends 45 minutes to park and go and have something to eat beforehand on a Friday night and complained rather than accepting that her lack of planning was the problem.

I defend Perth because places like Greenhouse, Duende, Five, Clarences, Ellington Jazz Club, Kitch,Mrs Browns, Essex St Wine Bar and various other places have opened in recent years meaning that there are people with a will and a drive to make change happen.

I understand that there is a nagging conservative undercurrent that slows down real progress.

I was in Melbourne a couple of weeks back for the Freo - St Kilda Game. I had lunch and beers in Fitzroy with my niece on Saturday and went to Movida Aqui on Saturday night. I see the same potential in Perth, if only.....

There are good times to be had in Perth, but decisions like the one I highlighted are more than annoying.

As a visitor, I have always found Perth to have a pretty enjoyable lifestyle. A little bit limited, perhaps, but certainly more than adequate for me to consider living there.

I have never really understood why all Perthites seemingly wish the city was like Melbourne.

As a visitor, I have always found Perth to have a pretty enjoyable lifestyle. A little bit limited, perhaps, but certainly more than adequate for me to consider living there.

I have never really understood why all Perthites seemingly wish the city was like Melbourne.

Go and live there a few years and get back to us ...

If you are 35+, married, fancy a 4 bedroom house in one of about 300 identical suburbs and fancy a life of tedious suburban happiness and are happy to befriend others who share that same vision then Perth is ok.

Then you can get busy dying .... :p

This is the problem that I have with your view E87.

Your view tends to be that one can either live a life of complete hedonism, i.e your suspect practises in seedy bars and side streets in Bangkok or one can live a dull and uneventful life, i.e Perth suburbia.

Shades of grey and all that.

As I said, I went to Melbourne recently and had a 3 day weekend of drinking, socialising, watching footy, eating great food, shopping etc.

I actually do all of the above in Perth lots of weekends, apart form shopping, because I am not much into it.

It's a good place to raise a family.

That's the main thing Perth has going for it.

Without going into detail because frankly, the answer is obvious, the reason perthites wish perth was more like melbourne is because melbourne kicks the absolute s**t out of perth in terms of a city people want to live in.

Not even the weather could entice me to want to live there, it's a backwater.

edit: my post was in response to caesars.

Sorry my post was bitchy. I've no doubt there are loads of lovely people living in perth. I've been to some fun bars - there is one that seemed great with a cool rooftop. I'm making a generalisation that the predominate thinking is narrow minded.
Having said that, I've no doubt you're lovely and fun jim docker.

This is the problem that I have with your view E87.

Your view tends to be that one can either live a life of complete hedonism, i.e your suspect practises in seedy bars and side streets in Bangkok or one can live a dull and uneventful life, i.e Perth suburbia.

Shades of grey and all that.

As I said, I went to Melbourne recently and had a 3 day weekend of drinking, socialising, watching footy, eating great food, shopping etc.

I actually do all of the above in Perth lots of weekends, apart form shopping, because I am not much into it.

My suspect practices in seedy bars and side streets? :rolleyes:

Perth IS a place of dull suburbia. It just is. I've lived there longer than you and I currently get the perfect contrast between it and more alive locations by coming there every month. Currently in Perth and it remains what it is. There isn't a sufficient mass of people who want to live outside the suburban fog to create the critical mass needed for a genuine urban lifestyle... There just isn't...

It's not about hedonism and seediness it's about an attitude and a lifestyle that interacts differently than Perths does. The reality is you can stick a cool bar in Perth and it's still a bit meh because (a) most people don't go and (b) the ones that do are very cliche about it - look I'm a hipster, look I'm young and hot, look I'm whatever .... by contrast stick an ordinary bar in some cities and it becomes "cool" simply because of the variety of people that go there ...

Perth is a suburban backwater in its attitude and you may well be different but in Perth that makes you an outrider not anything close to the norm. It's a conservative place for middle aged accountants or cashed up bogans comparing house sizes and the type of car they have... Which is obviously not true of all but that's the suffocating demeanor of it all ...

And as a result of this monolithic group mindset they take criticism pretty poorly and tend to tell those they disagree with to "**** off then" or that they must be seedy bastards engaging in suspect practices ....

A proper city lets people live, exactly the way they want to within some very basic guidelines for general order ...

Perth is run by a bunch of middle aged prudish housewives by comparison ... and they know what's best for us ...

It seems to have a decent number of good restaurants and bars, even if they are overpriced and the staff leave a bit to be desired. It has a nice outdoors lifestyle in summer. My father lives in West Perth, short walk from the CBD and Subiaco, and he seems to find plenty of options for dining out and cultural activities (WASO, etc).

Not really a great place to go clubbing, and the trading hours rules are a bit backward, but aside from that it seems fine.

It seems to have a decent number of good restaurants and bars, even if they are overpriced and the staff leave a bit to be desired. It has a nice outdoors lifestyle in summer. My father lives over there and he seems to find plenty of options for dining out and cultural activities.

Not really a great place to go clubbing, and the trading hours rules are a bit backward, but aside from that it seems fine.

It's certainly not a bad place for older people and those who like to turn in early... And it does have nice weather for 6 or so months ...

It also has rules for everything and a sterility that would make most hospitals proud.

It's a soulless over-regulated expensive suburban hell but yes, there are some decent places to eat out, a couple of decent pubs and it's sunny ... And your dad lives here ... Can't expect more than that from a city of 2 million people ...

I'm just saying, the extent of the slagging off seems a little unjustified. It's a little behind the times, but unless you're the kind of person for whom a good bar scene is a dealbreaker it's quite a liveable city.

It's not about the bloody bar scene!

It has no heart, no soul and no substance. It's a lovely natural climate (if you don't mind cold mornings for several months). It's fine for those who buy into the suburban stereotype of born, school, job, marry, kids, die.... If you want the 4 bed house and the boring suburban life it's fine. Lots of people do. That said, it's now an expensive version of that lifestyle without any of the cultural benefits (in the broadest sense of that word) of a "real" city and it's isolated as hell. Which helps create the insular small minded attitude...

It's a decent place to raise kids if you are prepared to give up on your own interests in that period and it's a decent enough place to retire in. But even those two are now caveated by the fact that you need decent money to do those 2 things in Perth in comfort.

Its a city without heart that has 2 or 3 anaemic cultural hearts and a very rigid social structure. It doesn't cater for or to anyone who chooses to live outside the "norm".

It could be so much more but people here fear change. Badly. It's slagged off because many who live in it genuinely think it's a city. It's a bigger version of Bunbury - and viewed from that perspective it's decent enough.

But when compared with proper cities it comes up short and apparently saying that suggests some form of heresy ...

EDIT: I have a place in Subi and I spend a week or so each month there. I can have a decent time in Perth. But living in Perth is just a horrible thought. Visiting allows one to pick the good bits and avoid the rest. Living in Perth, especially out in the burbs requires a form of social lobotomy (or a strong will) to get by IMO...

Nah, Perth's just a conservative state ten years in the past.

We won't have a decent stadium for 15 years, and we won't have any cultural attractions for 20. I'm leaving the place because it's a waste of my young adult life: Paying $10 for a pint and going to average clubs and pubs doesn't make for a great lifestyle.