Mod. Notice 2013 Official DT/SC Thread- Post here only

How likely is Bastinac to get a higher PPG this year in SC? Just thinking that he might stamp his name on the comp like we want Melksham to do this year
It totally depends on how he is utilised. We have been playing him as an outside link up runner due to his massive tank, but his kicking can be a bit of a liability. If continued to be used in this fashion I don't think he will increase points that much. Combined with what looks like the implementation of a more contested game with less run and carry this may see his score drop.

However, if he is used as an inside player he will get a fair bit of the pill as he is a natural clearance player. In the NAB cup game against the Suns he racked up clearances almost at will and his tank lets him get from contest to contest. It's a bit wait and see with Basti but keep an eye on his first few weeks and our teams form before making a call I reckon. There is a of bit a transition going on at the minute that makes things a little uncertain.

Thoughts on kieran harper. Supposedly he's averaging 95 dt points per 100 mins this pre season have heard news of him killing it all pre season and seems like the sort of player you guys need to get into the middle. Has he been playing mainly as a forward over the pre season or as a midfielder. Because if he's been playing as a midfielder I might jump on. Help appreciatedd

Has been playing mostly as a midfielder in the nab cup, however I think most North supporters are expecting him to go back to his usual role once the season begins (with a bit more time in the midfield but nowhere near as much time as he got in the Nab Cup). This isn't good news for dream team owners as he's probably not going to be worth a pick if he's not playing in the midfield.

Thanks for the reply. Now I don't know because I'm not a north supporter but I would find it wierd if they didn't use him in the midfield after playing him there all preseason. In the past more from what I've seen I'd they have played in the midfield predominately in the off season than they get a good crack (ie. danger, sidey)at it but every one is obviously different and not always do teams play their full strength mids. I probably won't get him because of the massive risk but I reckon he could be a better pick than say Shannon Byrnes for just 20 k more. Just hope he doesn't get subbed are have another 0 stat game. But in the end I think 2015 will be his year probably.

Yeah the midfield thing was more likely just to see what we have in our hands for the future.

After de-listing Matt Campbell and not having Harvey for the first 6 weeks our hands are also tied in that we need a player of his ilk in the forward line, not as much pace as those two (not many players do) but that's the role he'll get this year.

Think Harps will be part of the lightweight Mid rotation shared between Harper, Wells, Bastinac, Gysberts with only one of these running in the middle at any time. So 25 to 30% max middle time for him. I have no doubt his scores will rise, but probably not as much as you would want from a midpricer. +8 to 10 is realistic.

Was also coming here to enquire about Harper.

He reminds me a bit like our Leroy Jetta. Destined to be in the midfield, can impact games with good pace and excellent kicking however due a number of reasons, not quite ready for full time midfield rotation just yet. In Leroy's case, its his work rate, intensity and tank that needs working on as he can go missing for large patches of the game.

Have watched Harper since his first debut (had him in my DT from the start!) and liked what I saw, definitely potential there to be a great goal kicking mid.. as already mentioned, he would be rotated through there until he is ready..just hope for you guys its wont take as long as Leroy is freakin taking!

Still keen on taking a punt on him though for DT as I prefer him to Varcoe/Byrnes/Knights/Sipposs..
Surely one of you North fans is also brave enough to take the plunge?? ;)

I was woundering how you guys would rank your rucks. I'm considering to play currie as my 2nd ruck, crazy i know. North picked him up in last years draft with pick 56 which i consider to be a high pick for his type and he has also been given the #1. So it looks like that you guys rank him quiet highly.

Is Currie your number 1 ruckman?

Was also coming here to enquire about Harper.

He reminds me a bit like our Leroy Jetta. Destined to be in the midfield, can impact games with good pace and excellent kicking however due a number of reasons, not quite ready for full time midfield rotation just yet. In Leroy's case, its his work rate, intensity and tank that needs working on as he can go missing for large patches of the game.

Have watched Harper since his first debut (had him in my DT from the start!) and liked what I saw, definitely potential there to be a great goal kicking mid.. as already mentioned, he would be rotated through there until he is ready..just hope for you guys its wont take as long as Leroy is freakin taking!

Still keen on taking a punt on him though for DT as I prefer him to Varcoe/Byrnes/Knights/Sipposs..
Surely one of you North fans is also brave enough to take the plunge?? ;)

Yeah I'm that one eyed nutter you're looking for, he's been in my team since day 1, but as the season gets closer I'm getting nervous.

He will certainly improve on 2012. I've said elsewhere he was the best 7-8 touch player in the league last year, I'm expecting/hoping he'll be one of better 15+ touch players in 2013.

My thinking is, added midfield time combined with 1-2 goals per game from his forward efforts could net him 80+ SC points/game, with the odd 100 pointer.
He also has excellent foot skills which should see him with a solid DE, making him a SC option.
His JS is also good with Brad sure to get a maximum number of games into him.

But that is probably best case scenario. He did have a tendency to go missing in 2012, & while the likelihood of that is reduced, it is far from gone. He's not immune from getting vested also, so if you have him on field there's a chance you may get shafted once or twice.

So its a tough call. I think he's a decent option for F6 or F7, but it will be a gamble.

Yeah I'm that one eyed nutter you're looking for, he's been in my team since day 1, but as the season gets closer I'm getting nervous.

He will certainly improve on 2012. I've said elsewhere he was the best 7-8 touch player in the league last year, I'm expecting/hoping he'll be one of better 15+ touch players in 2013.

My thinking is, added midfield time combined with 1-2 goals per game from his forward efforts could net him 80+ SC points/game, with the odd 100 pointer.
He also has excellent foot skills which should see him with a solid DE, making him a SC option.

But that is probably best case scenario. He did have a tendency to go missing in 2012, & while the likelihood of that is reduced, it is far from gone. He's not immune from getting vested also, so if you have him on field there's a chance you may get shafted once or twice.

So its a tough call. I think he's a decent option for F6 or F7, but it will be a gamble.

Haha good to see another nutter onboard the Harper train.. thats a very good description of him "best 7-8 touch player", doesnt need to rack it up to impact a game. Another similar player would be Andrew Krakouer.

Can see how he would be a pretty good option for SC with his neat disposals, but probably just doesnt get enough uncontested possies to be a worthwhile DT player.

I noticed he was vested a lot last year so did a quick calculation of his unvested average to find it was still pretty low (<60) so Im also getting pretty nervous here! He's still hanging around my team atm, but waiting to hear what Varcoe actually scored in his game vs Pies and if its pretty decent Harper may just have to wait until next year to grace my team.

Cheers for the reply. Either way I'll still enjoy watching him play and hope he improves anyway!

Hey guys im in an ultimate footy draft league this year and no was has taken harper. Considering picking him up and chcukign him on my forward bench. averaged 50 last year but if you take out his sub games he average 59 i think. I think thats one big thing to look for with Harper and one big question i have for you guys, Will Harper get the green vest in 2013? was affected by a green/red vest a total of 8 times last year. I think if this is erased from his game and with a few more midfield minutes added in he could easily push his average into the 70s. Which players will get the sub a lot this year do you think?

Also snagged Cunnington pretty late. Wanted Bastinac but he went so had to settle for little Benny. He's another player who finished the year strong and if he can remove the vests from his game, his scoring could go up quite a bit.

Thanks in advance :)

Hey guys im in an ultimate footy draft league this year and no was has taken harper. Considering picking him up and chcukign him on my forward bench. averaged 50 last year but if you take out his sub games he average 59 i think. I think thats one big thing to look for with Harper and one big question i have for you guys, Will Harper get the green vest in 2013? was affected by a green/red vest a total of 8 times last year. I think if this is erased from his game and with a few more midfield minutes added in he could easily push his average into the 70s. Which players will get the sub a lot this year do you think?

Also snagged Cunnington pretty late. Wanted Bastinac but he went so had to settle for little Benny. He's another player who finished the year strong and if he can remove the vests from his game, his scoring could go up quite a bit.

Thanks in advance :)

I think Cunnington will be a better pick than Bastinac anyway.

Harper shouldn't get the vest as much this year. For starters, he's improved a lot in the off-season. He won't get it in the first 6 weeks because Harvey is out. Beyond that you'd expect us to have copped a couple of injuries so Harps will be safe in the 21 I think.

M

Much better option than Byrnes/Varcoe etc might be a good POD if he can rack up some consistent scores... Boomers absence won't hurt his time in the middle either

M
Much better option than Byrnes/Varcoe etc might be a good POD if he can rack up some consistent scores... Boomers absence won't hurt his time in the middle either

Agree with this. Harper could be Elite just needs to get his tank right. Surely with improved match fitness after another preseaon, he'll get more midfield time and his scores will improve.

Latest update is that Harper was in the best for our last praccy game vs the Hawks, which has got him over the line for a start in my Rd 1 team.

Hey guys, would really appreciate some help here.

I set my draft picks for ultimate footy prior to the draft (i.e. what position I would take at each pick and a list of top 100 for each position) and I was intent on sticking to it. It ended up that I got 3 North backman of 5.

I rated North's ball movement from the backline over the preseason and a fair few of your guys racked it up so I had them higher than their previous averages.

My back line currently consists of:
Watts
Ben Jacobs
Sam Wright
Shaun Atley

I: Nick Suban

So, I was wondering if you guys had high hopes for these players or should I sub Suban on for one of them?

I chose Jacobs because he seemed to be a playmaker who took lots of marks and drifted to the wing and fwd. Atley because he should be breaking into your mids (?) and Wright because he can rack it up, but is he too injury prone? Should I trade anyone out while I can?

Wonder how many games you guys think Daw will get? More than Currie?

Cheers.

surprised there hasnt been more talk here about the ruck situation given its obviously very DT relevant with 3 potential DT relevant players in the one position.

Any more clues on how you guys will line up round 1? I have heard suggestions, and looking at predicted R1 teams on here supports this, that you will go in with Goldy and no support (Petrie back up I guess). I had expected maybe Daw would be support (more a fwd-ruck so better option than currie as more a genuine ruck as support).

If Goldstein is named as a lone ruckman I will most likely take the plunge despite poor preseason form. If he is named with Currie I will avoid as IMO it will be shared duties like early last year (Goldy and Daw im happy to go with Goldy still)

His last preseason game was I believe 50 odd in a half, is that true? Anyone know if he and currie did 1/2 each (seperate halves). If so this is a good indication for them not playing together early season.

Hey guys, would really appreciate some help here.

I set my draft picks for ultimate footy prior to the draft (i.e. what position I would take at each pick and a list of top 100 for each position) and I was intent on sticking to it. It ended up that I got 3 North backman of 5.

I rated North's ball movement from the backline over the preseason and a fair few of your guys racked it up so I had them higher than their previous averages.

My back line currently consists of:
Watts
Ben Jacobs
Sam Wright
Shaun Atley

I: Nick Suban

So, I was wondering if you guys had high hopes for these players or should I sub Suban on for one of them?

I chose Jacobs because he seemed to be a playmaker who took lots of marks and drifted to the wing and fwd. Atley because he should be breaking into your mids (?) and Wright because he can rack it up, but is he too injury prone? Should I trade anyone out while I can?
of the three you want atley. atley is assured all 22 games, and there is a high chance he will rotate through the midfield which only means points. wright is more of your stopper role and really isnt fantasy relevant, and im not sold on jacobs and whether he'll play and score or not. your safest bet is atley, and he could be in for a super year.

surprised there hasnt been more talk here about the ruck situation given its obviously very DT relevant with 3 potential DT relevant players in the one position.

Any more clues on how you guys will line up round 1? I have heard suggestions, and looking at predicted R1 teams on here supports this, that you will go in with Goldy and no support (Petrie back up I guess). I had expected maybe Daw would be support (more a fwd-ruck so better option than currie as more a genuine ruck as support).

If Goldstein is named as a lone ruckman I will most likely take the plunge despite poor preseason form. If he is named with Currie I will avoid as IMO it will be shared duties like early last year (Goldy and Daw im happy to go with Goldy still)

His last preseason game was I believe 50 odd in a half, is that true? Anyone know if he and currie did 1/2 each (seperate halves). If so this is a good indication for them not playing together early season.

It's a conspiracy I reckon. North supporters holding back on info in order to gain an advantage.

Daw's NAB SC points per minute were impressive but his scores did drop each week.

More of a breakout chance than Currie imo and could be worth the risk

of the three you want atley. atley is assured all 22 games, and there is a high chance he will rotate through the midfield which only means points. wright is more of your stopper role and really isnt fantasy relevant, and im not sold on jacobs and whether he'll play and score or not. your safest bet is atley, and he could be in for a super year.

Ok mate thanks, read a few articles on jacobs and your coach seems to like him. Atley didn't score well in the nab but tbh I didn't watch any of your games bar 1 when I caught a glimpse of the 3 together. Maybe I will try trade wright for now. Thanks heaps. Feel free to head to the pies board we have a bit of dt talk going on there.

Mod. Notice 2013 Official DT/SC Thread- Post here only