Yeah thanks but we've heard it all before. TheBrownNote assured us Henderson wouldn't be coming to Carlton.
Don't want Staker though.
We need to recruit a big, tough inside mid with good disposal skills and a marking "beast" key forward with a decent conversion rate.....no......wait........we need to recruit a no nonsense commonsense kicking coach
.......... Give Tom Bell a half way decent left side, and Levi a reliable goal kicking technique, and we have them in our back yard. Both have incredible upside, but are showing little sign of getting there.
Don't want one of these modern day sports psyches who have players tucking the mouthguard in to the socks or jocks......take 2 or 3 goes at getting the right line from the ump......4 exaggerated deep breaths....toss the ball up a couple of times (or raise above eyes, bring down and plumb bob with one eye closed).........visualise (to the umps chorus of 15 or 20 seconds gone), run in crooked, stutter and drop the bloody thing from waist height. Too long = too much chance for negativity and self doubt.
Get a simple technique Levi. Mark or free, promptly back behind mark, line up, one breath walk a couple of strides accelerate in STRAIGHT for 3 or 4 steps, clean simple drop, simple action, follow through. Less thought, more "reflex" or trigger action. Watch it sail through the sticks and the ump wave the flags (both of them)
Belly...sorry mate, no surfing or holidays O/S until you can under pressure drop the pill on your left and kick it 30 metres plus and/or get a hand pass away with either hand.
Basic skills boys. You must be pretty special to come as far as you have without them.
Get them or I fear this time next year, you will be looking for jobs.
Get that FARKing coach. Could also help a couple of our established "stars" who have gone from good set shot goalkicking techniques to very ordinary ones over the last 3 years....read Murphy, Kreuzer, Yarran, Scotland, Hampson, Walker, Simmo, even Eddie. In most cases, have developed a "Buddyesque" arc to their approach.
Sorry for digressing people, but we have most of what we need, just need to maximise the output.
Then we can just use our picks for best available young talent
One of the biggest flogs on bigfooty.
JeffDunne would like a word.
Crack_pipe was a hoot. We all secretly loved him.Raise you celtic_pride.

No we didn't.Crack_pipe was a hoot. We all secretly loved him.![]()
![]()
What's the deal with Lucas ATM, has he fallen out of favour with MM or is there some hint of injury??Looking at our list I really hope Buckley, Graham, Bell and Menzel all become regular senior players next year. Not sure what we are going to do with Lucas if he doesn't improve his physicality.
Staker would add something to us...I think we're crying out for a lead up forward.
Patton however....wowsers. I'm just not sure we'd have the assets to get it done
Alright people, we've had fun but this is not the thread to discuss other users.
Take it to the Blue Room.
Aphrodite, please clean.![]()
At a guess I would think it is simply because there is not a place for him at the moment. Finals is highly physical contested footy. The way we want to play and do play brings about this type of footy. There are only so many one dimensional players who play a non-contact game style who aren't hard at the contest and don't tackle well that you can carry and expect to do well in finals. This and he didn't do well enough at VFL level to get recalled and now that we are winning, it's hard to break back into the side. Lucas has had an ok year, he runs well and can find the ball and kick a goal but his poor approach to contests, poor tackling, poor kicking and being purely an outside player put him behind a few others who are getting a game such as Duigan, Scotland, Garlett, Armfield etc who are playing a bit around the wing /forward flanks for us and doing well currently. Perhaps Menzel is also edged past him as he looks a better prospect with better skills and a bit more likely to put his head over the ball. IMO he needs to train well and hope that there is an injury or two and that Carlton keep winning.What's the deal with Lucas ATM, has he fallen out of favour with MM or is there some hint of injury??
At a guess I would think it is simply because there is not a place for him at the moment. Finals is highly physical contested footy....<snip>
Bloody great post.
Make no mistake...for the most part the team has stepped up and if you don't fit you ain't gonna play.
But why just finals footy? Why do we not see these efforts week in week out?
That for me, is something very important the team must understand.
But why just finals footy? Why do we not see these efforts week in week out?
That for me, is something very important the team must understand.
Radical moves aside (Patton, Boyd ect), which talls are we most likely to go after now that Frawley and Watts are probably off the table? I think we're going to land Daisy and Docherty, but the real need remains for a key defender- yet there are no good ones available. How are we going to work this?
Having worked in both establishments I can confirm both charge for sauce.