The case for Melbourne to win 8 games plus

Check the date on that post. He was talking about your club mate :p

These Monday night games against St.Kilda are a bit of a stumbling block for us.
Wouldn't not shock me at all if they rolled us, especially if we play like we did against Collingwood.

I reckon winning 10-12 games over this season and next would be a good aim. 4-5 this season with a decent percentage (which is arguably more important than winning an extra game or two) and then aim for 6-7 the next. Will have a platform to build from then.

At the start of the year all bulldog fans would have said that they were a 10 goal better team and I probably would have agreed. But last night showed that the two teams are a lot closer than that, Roos has done a bloody good job in turning around this team and I wouldn't be surprised if we overtake them by the end of the season.

At the start of the year all bulldog fans would have said that they were a 10 goal better.

That is just completely false. We hardly kick 10 goals a game. Last year you beat us by 3 points and we beat you by 20 points.

I guess it's a good argument for you to push to make you feel good after a loss though.

Nah. We have the tuggers and you have the cats. We win, you get pounded by Cats then BANG! :)

EDIT: Damn, you have GC. Oh well! Hopefully they beat you! Only a small % difference.

There is zero correlation between bein a good media performer (or bad) and a good coach.

Voss - great media performer
Tim Watson - great media performer
Malcolm Blight - horrible horrible media performer, an a genius coach.

Roos can coach. That's a proven fact. He will have Melbournes underperforming players back where they should be. And they potential have AA potential players in

Viney
Clarke
Frawley
Jamar
Jones

Then add improvement to watts, toumpas, hogan, Dawes, trengrove

You get what I'm saying. A decent game plan and players who are happy and that joint turns around FAST. Their list isn't as bad as neeld coached it. Don't forget in baileys last year they won 10 games and since then they've added a number of top 10 picks plus Dawes, Clarke and now hogan.

Bookmark it. They'll win between 8 and 12 games.

Here they come...

Nah. We have the tuggers and you have the cats. We win, you get pounded by Cats then BANG! :)

EDIT: Damn, you have GC. Oh well! Hopefully they beat you! Only a small % difference.

Well it was close but after 11 rounds the Dogs are above Melbourne on the ladder. Well done on Melbourne getting close.

And I see you are banned so will wait until you are unbanned to set your signature for the remainder of season 2014.

How about we go after the halfway point and then that sig goes for the rest of the year? that fair?

Well it was close but after 11 rounds the Dogs are above Melbourne on the ladder. Well done on Melbourne getting close.

And I see you are banned so will wait until you are unbanned to set your signature for the remainder of season 2014.

Arguably the halfway point is next week considering there are 23 rounds and one of the rounds is split

EDIT:
OK - after Round 11 - loser wears the sig required.

NVM looks like his bed's made.

Halfway point is most definitely next week. Teams have only played 10 games, there are 22 games in a season - do the math.

Nah they agreed to round 11 in the end. even if their maths is flawed.

Plus, we play Brisbane in Melbourne next round while Melbourne play Collingwood. Not confident but it is more probable we'd be a game up following round 12.

Even if Melbourne end up winning only 6 games for the season they've shown so far that they HAVE turned the corner. wd :thumbsu:

Its not just the wins for Melbourne, the other pleasing thing is there competitiveness as measured by %. Second only to port in positive differential to their end 2013 %.

Team % Diff.
PORT 41.55
MEL 24.63
WCE 22.62
GWS 19.63
GCS 15.77
HAW 11.98
SYD 6.83
COLL 3.61
ESS -2.05
ADE -2.32
WB -3.35
NM -8.93
FREO -12.36
ST K -18.39
CARL -19.38
RICH -26.01
BRIS -30.45
GEE -34.34

Its not just the wins for Melbourne, the other pleasing thing is there competitiveness as measured by %. Second only to port in positive differential to their end 2013 %.

Team % Diff.
PORT 41.55
MEL 24.63
WCE 22.62
GWS 19.63
GCS 15.77
HAW 11.98
SYD 6.83
COLL 3.61
ESS -2.05
ADE -2.32
WB -3.35
NM -8.93
FREO -12.36
ST K -18.39
CARL -19.38
RICH -26.01
BRIS -30.45
GEE -34.34

Interesting statistic there, thanks.

So after all this it is completely possible Melbourne could finish on 4 wins (not winning a game from here on in). Their winnable games are Brisbane at Etihad and GWS so six wins is a best case scenario.

Taking stock, Melbourne have improved slightly but are still a legitimate spoon chance. They would have desperately wanted to pinch at least one win off the Dogs (and a lot of their supporters would have expected that).

So after all this it is completely possible Melbourne could finish on 4 wins (not winning a game from here on in). Their winnable games are Brisbane at Etihad and GWS so six wins is a best case scenario.

Taking stock, Melbourne have improved slightly but are still a legitimate spoon chance. They would have desperately wanted to pinch at least one win off the Dogs (and a lot of their supporters would have expected that).

lol! We can go again if you'd like. Melbourne will not finish on 4 wins

So I'm guessing that you had Adelaide in Adelaide as a winnable game?

Have only improved slightly? They lost by 148 points last year and finished the year with a percentage of around 54 from memory. West Coast would have been the only match this year that they were uncompetitive and that was way back in round 2. Even if they have only 6 wins to show for it, they achieved what Roos aimed for them to achieve.

Fascinating insight as always.

That's a reasonable assessment. Some heat needs to come to bear on experienced players such as Frawley, Garland, Howe, Dunn, Grimes who continually make footy stupid decisions in the back half.

I expect we'll finish on 5/6 wins and have a % around 75, which is a marked improvement on last year. And we've also seen huge improvement from a number of individuals, but games of footy will always be won in the midfield and despite progress we need to continue to bolster this area of the ground.

I think we're laying the platform for significant improvement over the next 24 months. Hogan, Trengove and more preseasons into Tyson, Viney, Salem, JKH, plus an injection of exciting youth in F/S Stretch and a top 5 mid (or 2 if Frawley goes) will hold us in good stead.