Bluemour Discussion Thread III

Can't wait to boo Gibbs next year, always been something off about him despite his talent.

Bolton seems like a great judge of character and if he is angry at one of his own players I back his judgement, Bolton seems very reasonable and understanding if you do right by him.

What a surprise that Gibbs is the first player to want out in an environment where it's about getting comfortable being uncomfortable.
Can't wait to boo Gibbs next year, always been something off about him despite his talent.

Bolton seems like a great judge of character and if he is angry at one of his own players I back his judgement, Bolton seems very reasonable and understanding if you do right by him.

What a surprise that Gibbs is the first player to want out in an environment where it's about getting comfortable being uncomfortable.
If someone could please outline to me how this is any more logical that TheCoach's 'don't trade Gibbs' posts, I'd appreciate it.

Honestly, right now this board seems to genuinely relishing the opportunity to discard someone who they feel has let them down somehow, and it isn't very appealing at all.

If someone could please outline to me how this is any more logical that TheCoach's 'don't trade Gibbs' posts, I'd appreciate it.

Honestly, right now this board seems to genuinely relishing the opportunity to discard someone who they feel has let them down somehow, and it isn't very appealing at all.
I think most of us are feeling let down based on the reported way AFC and Gibbs have gone about it.

If it's not true then I'm happy for Bryce to get where he wants but if it is I think I'm justified in being critical of him.

I think most of us are feeling let down based on the reported way AFC and Gibbs have gone about it.

If it's not true then I'm happy for Bryce to get where he wants but if it is I think I'm justified in being critical of him.
I suppose, as one of those who are being accused of being 'unable to accept reality', (or something of that variety, as others have said) I got over my being let down by the conduct of Adelaide and/or Gibbs later the same day, moving on to the reality of the situation; what Gibbs is worth, to us and to them. Unlike some others on this board, I don't actually think, if Gibbs stays, he'll underperform out of spite, nor if he went to Adelaide would I boo him.

I recognise that others can react to things the way they like, but the degree to which some on this board are turning on Gibbs based almost entirely on heresay - admittedly, Marc Smurf is a pretty good source - is ugly, and is a poor way to treat a servant of this club. I've said this before; Gibbs has done whatever any coach we've had has asked of him, and in so doing has perhaps never quite become the player we've all hoped, but that is not necessarily his fault. Blame Ratts, blame Malthouse, if you're going to blame him for the five years he was in defense, or the period where he was shifted into the middle as the side collapsed around him.

I'm not an insider; I don't know the actual specifics of this trade. Nor, really, does the majority on here, and the post I quoted was almost gleeful at the prospect of booing Gibbs. It's poor form, so I said so.

Where did this rumour about Rocky for a 2nd start? Earls Pearls?

I heard it on trade radio today (obviously not reliable lol)
was talk he was shopped around, Brissie thinking they might get a 1st rounder for him, but not a lot of interest.
Best offers were 2nd rounders.
I think the massive $$$$ he is on is what has put everyone off him.
That and possibly his attitude??

If I can believe what is being said in the media SOS has given AFC the cold shoulder and won't take their calls.

He's met with Gibbs manager and said "you created this mess - you sort it out. You pursuade AFC to offer us a deal too good to refuse or Bryce plays with us next year. Call me when you've got it fixed!!"

Just gold!!

Puts the onus squarely on AFC and clears his mind to focus on other deals.

Exactly. Adelaide announced this, make it happen or walk away with tail between your legs.

Agreed. I have no problem with him wanting to go back to Adelaide for family reasons. But there's a proper way to go about it, and blind-siding your club on the first morning of trade week is not it. Throw in the fact that it was announced by Adelaide, playing the old "you wouldn't want to keep a player who doesn't want to stay" card, in a bid to pry him loose for unders, and Carlton people are entitled to be... frustrated. Disappointed. Even angry. I'm not alleging collusion between Gibbs and Adelaide on that score, but people are entitled to suspect it.

I'm sure Bolton and Silvagni had mature plans for this week, and they must be enchanted about wasting a bunch of time with Adelaide, on a trade we aren't all that interested in doing. And given that he's contracted, why doesn't Adelaide have an even vaguely acceptable offer lined up? Carlton are being shabbily treated.

I hope Gibbs stays. Partly because I want the Club to hold firm if the 'best' trade is deemed niot good enough, but also because I have faith in Gibbs to move forward with us, productively. As someone else posted a couple of days ago, this is not a Henderson/Yarran/Menzel situation - Gibbs has enough pride in his own performance to reintegrate with what we are building.

One thing I reckon this week is showing is the real importance of on-field momentum. People can talk about 66-game rebuilds until they're blue in the face, but when you only win one game in the second half of the season, you shouldn't be surprised when there are more 'want-outs' than 'want-ins' at this time of year. You only need to look at St Kilda for contrast: no-one there wants out, players wanting to be traded there are actually getting there, and for (I think) unders. That's not to say Bolton and Silvagni won't do good work next week and cheer us all up... but there are no Gibbses or Tuohys leaving the Saints this week. If we're honest, that's where we would like to be.

Agreed. I have no problem with him wanting to go back to Adelaide for family reasons. But there's a proper way to go about it, and blind-siding your club on the first morning of trade week is not it. Throw in the fact that it was announced by Adelaide, playing the old "you wouldn't want to keep a player who doesn't want to stay" card, in a bid to pry him loose for unders, and Carlton people are entitled to be... frustrated. Disappointed. Even angry. I'm not alleging collusion between Gibbs and Adelaide on that score, but people are entitled to suspect it.

I'm sure Bolton and Silvagni had mature plans for this week, and they must be enchanted about wasting a bunch of time with Adelaide, on a trade we aren't all that interested in doing. And given that he's contracted, why doesn't Adelaide have an even vaguely acceptable offer lined up? Carlton are being shabbily treated.

I hope Gibbs stays. Partly because I want the Club to hold firm if the 'best' trade is deemed niot good enough, but also because I have faith in Gibbs to move forward with us, productively. As someone else posted a couple of days ago, this is not a Henderson/Yarran/Menzel situation - Gibbs has enough pride in his own performance to reintegrate with what we are building.

One thing I reckon this week is showing is the real importance of on-field momentum. People can talk about 66-game rebuilds until they're blue in the face, but when you only win one game in the second half of the season, you shouldn't be surprised when there are more 'want-outs' than 'want-ins' at this time of year. You only need to look at St Kilda for contrast: no-one there wants out, players wanting to be traded there are actually getting there, and for (I think) unders. That's not to say Bolton and Silvagni won't do good work next week and cheer us all up... but there are no Gibbses or Tuohys leaving the Saints this week. If we're honest, that's where we would like to be.
Saints are one to two years ahead of us in a rebuild.. so not really a good idea to compare

Whats worse is Crows list manager is Gibbs old player agent.
No wonder he ran out and made the announcement Monday morning.
Yep pathetic. How long has he been their list manager? If he's new this year, maybe he didn't realise that the guys that signed Gibbs and took unders for Jacobs and let Betts walk are no longer running the show.

Is he the same guy that got us to present our long term plans to Gibbs to entice him to sign a long term deal?

He's a flog. Hope we teach him a lesson.

Looking likely ahern to north will be done monday...

Good...not really interested in a guy who's had 2 knee reco's already...we already recruiting enough guys with injury concerns.

Depending on what they give up, it may also mean they dont have enough assets to trade for Hrovat, leaving us to get him.

Gibbs will play and play well because that's what he is.

He played well this year even though he may have been considering a move . I'll give him points for that and I don't see that his output would fall because of this.

He may be viewed differently by the coach and the relationship altered somewhat but I doubt we'll see a drop in form such as that shown by Henderson, Yarran and , to a lesser extent, Eddie.
We need a no bullshit/dickhead policy starting now! You play for the jumper and therefore the team!!

Gibbs is a parasite now as far as I am concerned and Bolton does not need this bullshit!

Saints are one to two years ahead of us in a rebuild.. so not really a good idea to compare

They're ahead of us, yes. But we had a real opportunity mid-season to establish Carlton as an attractive, going-places, rebuild. I think it's fair to say we didn't take that opportunity, and whether Bolton and the football department really are doing a good job or not (they may well be!), the industry perception seems to be that Carlton is a long, long way off. And there's no question that it has made this week harder than it needed to be.

I want to believe that we are headed in the right direction. I'm discouraged that, external reasons notwithstanding, Gibbs and Tuohy are not that fussed about being part of it. And as others have noted, it's also discouraging that the only players that seem to want to join us are young, unproven guys coming off serious injuries. I'm not saying we shouldn't be interested in those players at the right price (I know we need to invest in youth, and that bulk deals with GWS represent one of the better paths to incremental improvement of our list), but it'd be nice to actively attract the Steeles and Hrovats, fit players looking for senior opportunities, rather than unfit players needing a career lifeline.

Anyway... I have found the last few months (and the last few days) deflating. But I'm also way off topic, so I'll leave it there.

They're ahead of us, yes. But we had a real opportunity mid-season to establish Carlton as an attractive, going-places, rebuild. I think it's fair to say we didn't take that opportunity, and whether Bolton and the football department really are doing a good job or not (they may well be!), the industry perception seems to be that Carlton is a long, long way off. And there's no question that it has made this week harder than it needed to be.

I want to believe that we are headed in the right direction. I'm discouraged that, external reasons notwithstanding, Gibbs and Tuohy are not that fussed about being part of it. And as others have noted, it's also discouraging that the only players that seem to want to join us are young, unproven guys coming off serious injuries. I'm not saying we shouldn't be interested in those players at the right price (I know we need to invest in youth, and that bulk deals with GWS represent one of the better paths to incremental improvement of our list), but it'd be nice to actively attract the Steeles and Hrovats, fit players looking for senior opportunities, rather than unfit players needing a career lifeline.

Anyway... I have found the last few months (and the last few days) deflating. But I'm also way off topic, so I'll leave it there.
Blues can you elaborate on your first paragraph, It sounds like you are a passionate supporter and I believe we are on the right path.

What we need to do is believe in SOS and BOLTS these guys are the best we have had in a f...... long time.