GF Distraction Thread - 2017 Exit interviews

Sure why not, while I wasn't expecting much from Smith this year he still had a really disappointing year for Geelong, failing to gather a single disposal for the club let alone hitting the scoreboard. If he wants to be on our list next year he'd have to do a lot better for the club.

If I may, I would like to speak about Tom Hawkins. Sam McClure, not a favourite of mine, nonetheless wrote sensitively about Tom in a recent article. I was surprised how little attention it seems to have garnered, but perhaps because I am in QLD I didn’t catch up with it. It seems fairly clear from the article that Tom had some troubled times relating to personal motivation over last summer and McClure underscored his meaning with cross-refs to Travis Cloke and Tom Boyd's 'personal' issues. http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-and-a-fresh-perspective-20170904-gyaewk.html.

Tom is one of my favourite players as he gives everything, everything, every week to Geelong. His work up on the wing and the trouble he makes around contests are great and it’s a shame to see him criticised as often as he is. But as everyone on BF knows, he is scragged beyond belief in every contest when he has a chance for a mark deep and the umpires throw out the rule book because they just don’t like him. This will not change. The only thing I would therefore recommend is that Tom not bother complaining about them never paying him the frees he deserves when he is either held miles off the ball or hit over the head as he attempts to mark. Nothing is gained by it and possibly something is lost.

The club had the right idea in trying to build a forward line with Harry where the opposition’s larger-bodied defence could be fragmented. But it did not go far enough and only worked a bit. PFD at FF will not last. I, too, like what Buzza brings to the forward line and he and Tom seemed to work well together. If Hocking at AFL house cannot run some ‘low-light’ footage of Tommy being infringed against over and over, then the answer needs to come from within the club. But Tom can help by not complaining, even when he is in the right.

"Hey Zac, take a seat"
Zac Touhy "tobesure tobesure topofthemorning toyou"
"Erm, yeh, we've loved your creative dash off the back line"
Zac "yehirunprettyfastafterabellyfulloguiness"
*sticks head out of door "Anyone do Irish to Aussie translations"?
Silence
"Anyway, you got any mates that can play?"
Zac "tobesure tobesure willyabepayonthemintattoes?"
"Hmm, bring back a translator too please"

I'll take Tom Hawkins:

Good:
- Kicked 51 goals
- Accurate in front of goal (51.26)
- Solid goal assist numbers, career highest posession average
- Showed ability when working up the ground

The Bad:
- Created a too predictable forward-line
- Kicked most of his goals against weak opposition
- Forward-line wasn't always very functional (stagnant)
- Lack of forward pressure provided
- Quite finals series

We saw some cameo appearances of Hawkins working up the ground to good effect against Hawthorn and Carlton. I think with the right players surrounding him and a more mobile forward-line in general, it could be a lot more effective. This pre-season I would look for Hawkins to increase his aerobic capacity, and have him spend the pre-season getting better at working up the ground in more of a Nick Reiwoldt type role. Obviously, he'll never have his level of endurance but I do think he could be a really effective providing a focal point across the half forward-line and working up the wings next season. It's not an original opinion but I do think it's the right one from what we've seen.

Take Two - I'll give Harry a say.
Hi Harry. Take a seat in the front here. Oooh, no, hang on, that's not working. Best pop down to that seat in the back. Wow, that's going great! You're a natural! But now we've got just Tom sitting up the front. What now? Guess you'd better come sit down the front. Oooh, hang on, that's not right...

I also feel bad. I'll do Sav Rat.

Good: Shown he can play and should be persisted with. His VFL debut kicking 3 goals while showing great athleticism and marking ability is enough alone.
Against a very good team VFL team as well.

What went wrong: Limited pre-season due to injury. Not what he needed coming from a low fitness base to start with.
Also due to a hand injury he only played 10 VFL games.
Unfortunately he wasn't able to play the last couple of rounds where our midfield was much stronger and he would of had more delivery than most games this year.

The Bad: Fitness, Fitness Fitness.
Also kicking. Is an unusual style but often effective, but sometimes shocking.
Like all young key forwards being able to stay in the game is a major problem.

How the club can help improve: Must stay injury free during pre-season. If that means less sprints, weights and contact work so be it. Must build aerobic fitness.
With 2 young key forwards on the list they would benefit greatly from one on one kicking and forward craft work from a part timer in eg Sav Rocca, Carey, Loyd etc.
Get him to watch games from the top of the grand stand and watch how the good forwards stay in the game and where they run.

SL - Come in Harry, pull up a chair.
HT - G'day, Mr. Lloyd. Thanks for seeing me.
SL - The pleasure's all mine, Harry, and please, just call me Simon. What'll you have?
HT - Oh, whatever you're having will be fine, Simon. Congratulations too on the promotion.
SL - Promotion? Oh, that (both laugh). Those poker nights with Cookie and 1/2 Cat can get a little out-of-hand. Cigar?
HT - That would be lovely.

SL - OK. So I must say, to start off, I'm a little surprised you sent me a text on having this meeting. Mr. Scott is doing all these interviews this year.
HT - Yeah, I know. But...
SL - He is the coach, Harry.

Both laugh.

HT - Yeah, look, I know he is. I know...but, you know I love this club. I would do anything for my mates, for the fans. But...
SL - I know what you're going to say Harry. I know.
HT - (taking a big puff) Simon, I'm a bloody backman.
SL - I know.
HT - I've played all my life on half-back. Two Premierships.
SL - I know.
HT - I'm one of the best going around for the past 10 years. Did you see my job on Lance? Never got near it. No prep - bang.
SL - You won us the game, Harry. Harry's Game!!!
HT - Yeah, great show. Great show...have the DVD.
SL - Harry, leave it with me. There's a few things bubbling around here at the moment that I can't really go into detail with. But rest assured...
HT - He stuffed up big time, Simon, big time. We couldn't settle - poor Andrew and Domsy looked lost back there when I was up forward, with Tommy giving me a right earful when I got in his way. It just never clicked from the get go. I told him that in pre-season!!!
SL - I know, Harry, I know.
HT - A wasted year, Simon. A waste.

SL - Look - next year you'll be cemented in the backline once again. We'll need you back there anyway without Mack and Lonners. Trust me. But, tell me. How's the body feel.
HT - Feel's fine, Simon. Just fine.
SL - OK. Don't think you're looking a little slow out there?
HT - Slow? Nah - sure, I'm a little older, but I can still map it all out.
SL - Map it all out? Oh, you're talking about Scottie's 'zone defence'.
HT - Still going with that crap next year? Nearly as bad as Churchill's operations during the Battle of Britain.
SL - Now, now, Harry, settle down.
HT - Seriously, Simon. We all look slow when having to play that shit. I'm amazed Scarlo puts up with it. He told me he wanted to go back to how we played in 08 and 09, but 'The Coach' refused to even contemplate the idea. I bet he's never even see those games!!!
SL - Harry...
HT - We should be rock solid down back next year - Stewart looks a gun FB, Henderson and Touey-boy are solid, Bews is fantastic, and little Zac - I can teach him Simon. It'll be great. As long as I'm there.
SL - You will be Harry, you will be. How's your drink?

HT - I'm fine thanks.
SL - Still interested in the leadership role?
HT - Yeah, no probs there. What's the word been?
SL - Truth be told, some are a little worried...
HT - Christ, the bloody ham thing again, isn't it.
SL - Wasn't a good look, Harry. Even if we had won the game. It was just...weird.
HT - I found it funny. Bloody hilarious, actually.
SL - But Harry...it's not the best thing for a role model of the club...I had that poor kid...what's his name...Parfitt. He asked me "What was all that about, Mr. Lloyd." I couldn't answer him, Harry!!!
HT - Yeah...
SL - I had no answer, Harry!!! I had to tell him to go ask 'The Coach'. And you know I hate doing that.
HT - Yeah, OK, I'm sorry.
SL - Just leave the jokes to Cocky - he's a crack-up.

HT - So I'm still co-vice with Paddy?
SL - (shuffling papers)...maybe. I'm not sure yet what I'll do. The leadership stuff has gone all ****-up this year.
HT - Cam...
SL - Don't start, me, Harry. Don't start me. Look - I may need you to step aside this year. The way things are going, half the bloody side will be in the leadership group.
HT - Yeah, it's nuts.
SL - Bloody crazy. I want to cut it down, so it would help if you would, shall we say, 'volunteer' your role over to Paddy.
HT - He'd love that.
SL - For me Harry. Do it for me and these fine cigars we're sharing.
HT - ....ahhhh, OK. But I still get the car-spot.
SL - That's no problem.

HT - So, that's just about it, hey.
SL - I guess so, Harry. Going away?
HT - Might head off to the States. A few places I want to see - Virginia, Maryland, Tennessee.
SL - Ah, Civil War stuff. Well, have a great time. Look forward to seeing you back in great shape for next year.
HT - Thanks Simon. This chat has helped settle my nerves a little. It's been a weird year for me. But it should be OK.
SL - It will Harry, it will be. You'll be back in defence - The Georgy Zhukov of Defence - how does that sound?
HT - Sound's great, Simon. Sounds great.
SL - Thanks Harry, here, take a couple more for the weekend.
HT - Thanks 'coach'.
SL - Now, now, Harry. Off you go.

"Hi Jake"
Jake Kolodashnij "Whoa, its you"
"Yes Jake, the big dog is doing the interviews"
Jake "Awesome"
"So, your brother Kade, does he talk to any of the Brisbane players?"
Jake "yeh some of them"?
"How about Dayne Zoeko?"
Jake "Excuse me mr Dazbroncos, I think it's Zorko"?
*daz checks bigfooty, twitter.
"I don't think so Jake"

I'll take George Horlin-Smith

D2D: George how would you assess your season ?
GHS: Yeah nah mate it's been a real success. The boys have loved my bullshit banter and I'm the self proclaimed most loved player at the Cats. I've even played more games than I did last season.

D2D: How's the ankle injury
GHS: What ankle injury I don't understand what ya talkin about
D2D: You've missed 3 months with an ankle injury malaka
GHS: Yeah yeah nah I been playing a bit of cricket. You know been batting and bowling smacking campaigners outta the park and smoking pot. Also been on the piss with my coked up injury whore boy Josh Cowan and Aaron Black who has actually made an effort to turn up to the maggoos, what's ****ing ****** ayy.

D2D: What's it like to kick the winning goal against North
GHS: Yeah it felt as good as the time I managed to pump Brad Hartman's sister and get him thrown out of the Geelong Football Club

D2D: Do you think you deserve a new contract?
GHS: Yeah man gotta fund the expensive white powder business I started during the 3 months I lied to Scotty boy that I had a busted ankle

Please don't ban me

"Hi Jake"
Jake Kolodashnij "Whoa, its you"
"Yes Jake, the big dog is doing the interviews"
Jake "Awesome"
"So, your brother Kade, does he talk to any of the Brisbane players?"
Jake "yeh some of them"?
"How about Dayne Zoeko?"
Jake "Excuse me mr Dazbroncos, I think it's Zorko"?
*daz checks bigfooty, twitter.
"I don't think so Jake"
:D dazbroncos

I can do Murdoch.

GFC: G'day Jordan, come and grab a seat
*Flicks through data on home and away form*
GFC: Not bad Jordan, we really feel like you have taken the next step, this is some good consistent form.
Jordan: Yeah cheers guys, really feel like I'm starting to get some reward for the many, many, many games I've played.
*Flicks through Finals form*
GFC: GET THE **** OUT!

"Cam, take a seat mate".
Cam Guthrie "thanks mate"
"How do you think the year went?"
CG "disappointing, the injuries really messed me up".
"How about a fresh start"?
CG "WHAT? You're trading me?"
"No, no, no, how about a new number. Maybe 32?"
CG "Motlop?"
"Think of it is Hockings old number"
CG "erm, I don't know"
"How about 10?"
CG "Menzel?"
"Think of it as Tenace"
CG "did you give him that number because ten was in his name or because he was ace?"
Awkward silence
"Want to wait and see if something with a 3 comes up?"
CG "You keeping George Horlin?"
"We'll get back to you."

"Chris Scott, take a seat"
Chris "Thanks, can I put my coffee here?"
*puts coffee on edge of desk, it falls on the ground.
Chris "shit"
"I keep telling you, it doesn't fit there".
Chris "I thought it would be different this time".
"Go get another coffee, I'll wait"
*Chris comes back 2 minutes later "Wait, don't put it in the same spot"
*coffee falls on ground
*interviewer hands Scott a travel mug with a lid.
"Grab another one Chris, use the travel mug and put the lid on tight"
*Chris returns with travel mug. Puts mug in same spot, mug falls on the ground, but the lid holds the coffee in.
Chris "can I say it?"
"Don't"
Chris "Mission accomplished"