List Mgmt. Trade & F.A. 2017 (if a scenario sounds wrong - read on before posting)

If we can't get Saad I wouldn't mind looking at Jarman Impey.

Out of curiosity, you do love the indigenous players more than any others?

6 + 36 for Schache and 14. Is what I’ve heard.

Not Keen on trading pick 6 unless it’s for Tom Lynch, the only player rumoured to be available and worth trading pick 6 for.

Pick 6 will go a long way to firming up our midfield mess going forward. I sound like a broken record, but that’s our big weakness...poor ball use and decision making going forward.

What it say, I can’t access the article

GWS Giants stars Devon Smith, Dylan Shiel met in under-12 schoolboy team
JON ANDERSON, Herald Sun
August 12, 2016 8:00pm
THERE aren’t too many days go by when Dylan Shiel doesn’t take his teammate Devon Smith back to their primary school days, when the pair met for the first time as part of the Victorian under-12 representative team. They would ultimately go on to win the Australian championships in Canberra, with Shiel and Smith both showing enough to suggest AFL careers would be possibilities. But for Shiel it was more his mate’s appearance that has stick in his mind. Smith boasted the same frenetic energy and excitement he brings to the table for the Giants in his role as a small forward, and his professionalism even then was obvious for all to see. But that wasn’t what caught Shiel’s eye.
“I’m not sure what I was thinking but I had this mullet, plus some really bright red boots, that ‘Dyl’ likes to remind me about every second day. I’m not sure what I was thinking,” Smith laughed this week at his home in the inner western Sydney suburb of Concord.
“It’s hard to believe now but back then ‘Dyl’ played in a back pocket, not the explosive midfielder he is today. I was up the other end in a forward pocket until I tried to take this hanger from behind when the coach sent me up back as punishment.”

It was in that same team where Smith got to know a group of boys who would later become teammates at the Giants in Jon Patton, Adam Tomlinson, Dom Tyson and Shiel (Brad Crouch, Elliott Kavanagh, Nick O’Brien and Michael Talia also played), Tyson having since returned to Melbourne. His memories of the championships are vague, although he recalls some of the boys who dominated not going on to AFL careers as others caught up with them in size. Size has never been an issue for Smith, given he has always been one of the “little blokes”, standing 175cm today in his fifth season with GWS.

Craig Wilson, these days principal of Colac West Primary School, was an assistant coach of that Victorian U12 team: “I reckon Dylan Shiel was a standout, plus this awesome kid called Cameron Hansen who ended up playing rugby. ‘Dev’ was a real goer, a little bloke who only wanted to play up forward and there was a talented young boy named Chad Wingard who did OK for South Australia.”

Born and bred in Lara, Smith left Geelong High School in 2008 to accept a scholarship with Geelong Grammar in Corio. That’s where Adrian “Chipper” McCartney first came in contact with him via his role as a coach at the exclusive APS school.
“I coached him in 2012 when he had a hip scrape in March before returning in incredible condition and a hell of a lot quicker than was expected. He was in the AIS and they didn’t really want him to play, thinking he was rushing it. But he is a very determined young man with really good recuperative powers, as he has shown this year,” said McCartney, who is the brother of Melbourne development coach Brendan McCartney.

940050-left.gif
Early on (at GWS) it was like a training camp because a lot of boys knew each other from the U12 state team or rep teams.
940141-right.gif

“Another thing about Devon is how well he fitted in at the school, being a contributor in areas away from just sport. He is forthright in his views, someone who was looked up to by his peers, but there was also a caring side. His preparation in the gym, on the training track, he just wanted to make every session count.

“He was at school with Meyrick Buchanan and between the two of them they were responsible for a few serious wins in both cricket and football, a footy game against the Geelong College springing to mind when they got us over the line after being three goals down at three-quarter time.”

Paul Hood coached Smith in 2010 at the Geelong Falcons: “He was actually professional beyond his years and the challenge was to make him understand that everybody wasn’t necessarily as committed as him. But he was the type of player anyone would love to coach,” Hood says.

McCartney’s assertion that Smith is single-minded shone through in his decision to barrack for the Adelaide Crows as a kid, a chance meeting with Andrew McLeod prompting him to choose an unusual path in fanatical Geelong territory. His progress to a date with the 2011 national draft became inevitable, the only doubt being how high he would be taken: “I was built up as a top-10 draft pick all year then went to the draft night. My best mate in Taylor Adams went before me with pick 13 and I was taken next by the Giants,” says Smith, 23.
“There was a stage when I thought I might go to Richmond at 15 (Brandon Ellis ended up being selected by the Tigers) and be staying at home but I was still rapt to be drafted. I spoke to 15 of the 18 clubs so I had no real idea where I would go.
“When I got there I knew nothing about Sydney. Early on it was like a training camp because a lot of boys knew each other from the U12 state team or rep teams along the way after that. It was pretty challenging in my first year. We were getting beaten easily every week but because there so many of us in the same boat, going through the same thing, that it’s held us in good stead now.
“It’s very different now than when I first got drafted when we were based at Blacktown which was 45 minutes away, now we are spread out coming to Homebush. It took me 16-20 months to get used to the traffic but against that the weather is a lot better than winter in Lara.”

And the fishing is good, a passion Smith shares with his forward line mate Jeremy Cameron, the pair getting out on the Parramatta River two or three times a week in their hunt for kingfish and anything else that comes their way.

It was the same venue last year where they discovered their futures were to be bound together for a few years yet after they committed to GWS, Cameron for five years and Smith until the end of 2017. As it stands, Smith would seem likely to play out his career with the Giants, and given their potential for success, why wouldn’t he?

“We have got better and better each year. Last year we finished 11-11 and lost games we should have won, now we are 14-5 and again have lost games that were there to be won. But it’s not surprising to me where we are and now it’s all about finishing top-four in a unique year when any side between first and fifth can win it.
“Playing finals is something we honestly haven’t spoken about because it is very much one week at a time. I’m sure when the time comes there will be a real buzz and hopefully we can play a final at home.

“We love playing at Spotless and are getting bigger crowds. The interest levels have grown enormously in my five years. When I first came up we would go to schools where there would be one or two kids who had played AFL. Now you ask and a heap of hands pop up.
“Big Mummy (Shane Mumford) is a huge cult figure, Heath Shaw, Dyl Shiel are others. We have sold out Canberra twice and broken the record there. Our membership has grown to 15,000 which is massive for us. Now we just have to keep building to what the Sydney Swans have got, a great side with a great culture that doesn’t miss finals.”

Not Keen on trading pick 6 unless it’s for Tom Lynch, the only player rumoured to be available and worth trading pick 6 for.

Pick 6 will go a long way to firming up our midfield mess going forward. I sound like a broken record, but that’s our big weakness...poor ball use and decision making going forward.

Where did you hear this?
I really doubt Brisbane would do this deal.

I actually really like that.

You may be correct, but I'd always assumed the re-drafting the player meant the contract in terms of salary and conditions could be met. Even recall some discussion about GCS paying some of Schades contract this year.
Yeah re-drafting the player allows the club to fulfill the players contract, but if they’re drafted by someone else, then they’ve just been effectively delisted. As far as I’m aware that means the club who delisted them is required to pay out their contract for the final year.

A little birdy told me that we are seriously considering a second blair with one of our later selections in the draft ;)
Great news. He will be a fantastic get alongside Hams and Stephenson.

Brisbane have pick 12 not 14 (port lost their first final and fell down the order)

Brisbane have 12, not 14, and I have difficulty in seeing them give that up, but I’d be rapt if that was the deal.

With regard to Oxley if he was to be delisted then picked up in the rookie draft it's likely the club and himself will have come to some arrangement in amending his contract status. We won't be able to change things unilaterally. One option Oxley will have if the club said they were planning to delist him is to demand his contract be paid out.

Likely senario would seem to be club wants to free up a spot on the main list but is still happy to keep Oxley on in some capacity i.e. rookie. They may have gone to him and said you have the option to be paid out but we are willing to guarantee we will re rookie you, perhaps on identical money, if you agree to give up the current contract. My guess is whether we delist and payout or come to an agreement with Oxley to re rookie his current contract stays on our TPP but the result is we free up a spot on the main list.

That's my best guess without being certain.

Short story is he may prefer other arrangements than just a straight pay out and delisting so he can stay on the list. Any renegotiation of his contract status involved can be done if both parties agree but there still may be TPP conditions than will remain in place exclusive of the new conditions agreed on.

Don't think Lynch is gettable this year, under contract and has publicly committed to honouring it.

Uh-oh...

The Scout was, I think, the first to break the Watts rumours, before they surfaced in the press...

For the right price, I think we should get Watts. We've had some decent luck with ex demon players... and we need more players with above average kicking skills.

Before we got Howe, I recall people calling him a one trick pony.

And with Dunn, he was referred to as a dud who couldn't get a game with the demons.

I say, let's make the demons regret losing another player! (For the right price of course... [emoji13])

What is the Oxley story?

There always seems an under current about him?

But nobody says much more than that.

I just go for the simple, he's not a best 22 player or even a best 32, hence its time to be moved on. Contract matter is an issue ofcourse.

That's how I see it.

Would it be possible that the environment in Brisbane was a huge factor in Schache's form and if he moved back to Melbourne being closer to home could give him a renewed enthusiasm. Surely we can't judge him entirely on his last season.