Roast Who is Cam Joyce?

Now listen up Turkeys. The reason that some posters do not elaborate on their misgivings regarding Joyces is that they do not wish to break confidences. The guy is a Twit. Believe it. Don't believe it. That is your prerogative. :stern look

Thats just as poor I reckon. Refusal to elaborate to protect some fictitious ITK 'source'.... How convenient. I'll choose not to believe it. Thanks.

Which camp are you in?

"I don't like him"

Pretty much.
Yeah, that seems about right.

Piss & moan but don't offer any solutions or detail any facts.

IMO it's buuthurt from Boomer being given the arse.

Not that keeping him on would have moved us closer the refresh that's clearly been needed.

Although like magic as soon as Boomer was not offered a contract he apparently would have won us the close ones.

Pity that he didn't do that in 2013.

I don't even understand why some folks think the club has failed in the last 5 years.

Aside from narrowly missing out on Dustin Martin, 2017 was a success. 13 players debuted and 11 of them showed they belong at AFL level, and most were taken with speculative picks. All of them remain on the list.

I'd like anyone to provide a season where we performed better under these circumstances.

2016 - Injuries, otherwise very good.
2015 - very good
2014 - very good
2013 - good

IMO it's buuthurt from Boomer being given the arse.

Not that keeping him on would have moved us closer the refresh that's clearly been needed.

Although like magic as soon as Boomer was not offered a contract he apparently would have won us the close ones.

Pity that he didn't do that in 2013.
I can only talk for myself but it ain't just that mate. :stern look

I'd love to understand.

Pm if required.

From my cheap seats whilst we ain't pulling flags out of our arse we're not in dire straights either.

What else? That he wanted to pick up Mayne?

The most expensive and well resourced footy department in the country actually made that mistake, so I don't see how it points out Joyce for special mention.

My issues with Joyce resonate from his inability to draw players from opposing clubs despite through the roof offers. The Hartlett deal was a great example, and despite the fact we are lucky he didn't choose us, 1) it's a great example of Joyce's inability to close & 2) why were we offering that sort of money for him in the first place?... the same case could be made for Aish.

He isn't the charismatic face that we need to be the face of our football department.

A lot of moaning in here about him "not having done anything wrong"... well I'd argue he hasn't done a lot right either.

We still don't have a genuine star midfielder on our list, and that has been an issue through Joyce's tenure - the solution of throwing millions of dollars at other clubs stars isn't the answer. Should be able to make your own, and cam (and Brad) have shown that they cannot.

My issues with Joyce resonate from his inability to draw players from opposing clubs despite through the roof offers. The Hartlett deal was a great example, and despite the fact we are lucky he didn't choose us, 1) it's a great example of Joyce's inability to close & 2) why were we offering that sort of money for him in the first place?... the same case could be made for Aish.

He isn't the charismatic face that we need to be the face of our football department.

A lot of moaning in here about him "not having done anything wrong"... well I'd argue he hasn't done a lot right either.

We still don't have a genuine star midfielder on our list, and that has been an issue through Joyce's tenure - the solution of throwing millions of dollars at other clubs stars isn't the answer. Should be able to make your own, and cam (and Brad) have shown that they cannot.

Have you analysed the hit/miss ratio for other clubs in order to gauge the likelihood of good players leaving their clubs?

Here is a fact mate: Most. Players. Don't. Leave.

If the rumors about Carlton are correct, they have had more knock backs in the last two years than we have had in a decade, and they are a supposed "Big 4" club.

well I'd argue he hasn't done a lot right either.

What alternatives can you provide under the same circumstances?

I think you are underestimating the raw talent aspect and overestimating the development aspect. We haven't had the picks.