Training 2017/2018 Pre-season Thread

Who will be our most improved for 2018?

My god, the opinions you lot have on a players hair style or facial hair - something that has absolutely no bearing on the ability to play football.

I think its all part of the Movember! I think the bun and the mo will go before the season starts.
Forgot about Movember :p I’m in the minority, but I actually don’t mind the bun, then again as long as they can play football I don’t mind what hairstyles our players have

My god, the opinions you lot have on a players hair style or facial hair - something that has absolutely no bearing on the ability to play football.
4xME2Q9.jpg

Gibson will replace smith

Yuck.... a slow inside/outside midfielder with an extremely average kick on him, to replace a fast, rebounding defender. What makes you suggest this out of interest?

Smith was never the greatest of defenders, hence Id love to see Milera start at HBF for us and see what he can bring to the table. Make changes accordingly if it's not working. One of Seedsman or Gooch would be my next candidates. Drop Mackay full stop. Hampton needs to be forward of centre if he's playing.

Yuck.... a slow inside midfielder with a terrible kick on him, to replace a fast, rebounding defender. What makes you saw this out of interest?

Smith was never the greatest of defenders, hence Id love to see Milera start at HBF for us and see what he can bring to the table. Make changes accordingly if it's not working.

What the Colonel is saying is just what AFC said he was being recruited for at draft time.

Well then I can't say I agree and will be very worried heading into round one if we are going to be playing him back there. He's never played HBF for North, and he has 0 attributes that suggest he should be playing there.

IMO Gibson should really only be depth. Im going to be pretty honest come round 1 if he's in the side while we have talented and exciting youngsters hacking it out in the SANFL.

Gibson is a slow, average player that tries hard and runs lots. We have far more skilled and multi-dimensional players on our list.

Well then I can't say I agree and will be very worried heading into round one if we are going to be playing him back there. He's never played HBF for North, and he has 0 attributes that suggest he should be playing there.

IMO Gibson should really only be depth. Im going to be pretty honest come round 1 if he's in the side while we have talented and exciting youngsters hacking it out in the SANFL.

Gibson is a slow, average player that tries hard and runs lots. We have far more skilled and multi-dimensional players on our list.

I agree. Run with player in the midfield at best.

So after the rookie draft here is the list of all our draftees since 2005 (the last year we still have one of our draftees from)

So the list remaining is:
2005 - 1
2006 - 1
2007 - 2
2008 - 1
2009 - 1
2010 - 1
2011 - 2
2012 - 2
2013 - 3
2014 - 3
2015 - 5
2016 - 6
2017 - 5

From 2011 we now no longer have any national draftees on the main list with CEY going to rookie (but I've kept him in the 2011 column)

Draft icks.png

Was it Malcom Blight that said, if you actually look like a footballer, you may actually play like a footballer or something like that?

Watching the AFC Instagram story, he only just finished behind Knight. I've later found that this is a little irrelevant to the problem stated though, as he actually came 3rd last year (behind Kelly and Knight).

I do agree with your point, often this year Milera's been a first half player, before becoming invisible in the second half. I've always thought it was a fitness problem, but if his tank was seemingly okay this time last year too, then it might not be the problem? It confuses me a bit
Running a fast 2k time trial is different to runnning 16ks with big hits while being a smaller body

It's definitely a need to keep working on his endurance strength and power to play 120mins of AFL footy

He'll still be just 19 at round 1 next year, and showing as 198cm. Still some growth I'm guessing and could push to 200cm before he's done.

Def ruck potential when his body is developed, but so agile and strong in the air - imagine KPF will be the go.

Is a ripper imo.
I reckon he could end up a ruck but start a key forward/ 2nd ruck

His 4th season will be the one he really comes on . Hopefully he just improves a bit this year and next in meantime

Needs to building his body up

Gibson isn't an elite ball user but a good disposal accumulator.

We need someone more highly skilled to set up play from backline. I would like to see us use Milera, but we may use Douglas with Gibbs taking his midfield spot.
Correct - Gibson turns the ball over too much to play half back . He has amazing endurance but not a like breaker so more suited to midfield and wing

Your running half back needs an elite kick . Gibson is an average kick so he's not the type

Ah no they didn't

They said Gibson helps cover smith by being able to play wing and allowing others to shuffle back ( no doubt they are thinking Mackay Douglas and Seedsman)

Training 2017/2018 Pre-season Thread