• Sam Simpson

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Zach Guthrie

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Jackson Thurlow

Votes: 12 26.7%

This is not about me not respecting Hawkins- I love him, but I have seen Taylor be an adequate replacement. I am saying without Taylor, we would be as poorly off as without Hawk. Those mop up guys in defence you named are not fit to tie Harry's bootlaces. Without Mackie, Domsy Harry becomes the critical KB even moreso. Hendo is fine as BACKUP. The others are unproven.
Harry can play beautifully as a KF.
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/is-harry-taylor-now-geelongs-most-important-player.1120449/

Bobby asked that question a while back. Hawkins was deemed the most important hansomly. Wonder if catempire reset the poll would we see a different consensus reached. I don’t think we would

You're saying Taylor could replace Hawkins yet at the same time admitting we have Taylor's replacement down back.

It's a contradiction.
Totally the opposite; Taylor could and has replaced Hawkins like last year, but this year we have NO REPLACEMENT for Harry.

No he couldn't have mate.

You were both on the Mitch Brown bandwagon when he was obviously a spud,clueless the both of you.
if we are doing drive by's..:oops:

I need a few rounds for Eardley, Brown and Kersten.

GO Catters

No he couldn't have mate.
Short memory? Did you see Harry towel up Rance when Tigers LOST their last game for 2017?
One game, yes.
Did you see Harry nearly get us close to Adelaide with one Q of footy last year?

Did you see what Rance did to Taylor in the finals a few weeks later? He's still got the scars.
Strangely can't recall that one...
I liken you to BILL COLLINS- THE ACCURATE ONE. Hope that's a compliment- it is meant to be. I doubt there is ever a statement that you make or refute that is not 100% accurate.

Strangely can't recall that one...
I liken you to BILL COLLINS- THE ACCURATE ONE. Hope that's a compliment- it is meant to be. I doubt there is ever a statement that you make or refute that is not 100% accurate.

I don't dispute Taylor was able to do a job from time to time. I don't think he's capable of kicking 50 goals a year as a key forward though.

And I do think we have replacements for Taylor who could fill in. Henderson is the obvious one. I'm not sure we have anyone who can cover for Hawkins.

I don't really care what Champion Data says. Our most valuable players when healthy in order are:
1. Danger
2. Ablett
3. Selwood
4. Duncan
5. Hawkins
6. Taylor
7. Henderson

With the far gap to the rest. Menegola to me is in the rest category but in the upper end of it. Not even close to a drop candidate, similar level to Touhy IMO.

Sorry DanA, I should have made it more obvious. There were many layers of irony in my post. Despite my really liking Sam as a player. I too find it hilarious that he is considered an elite player of the competition. He is 100% in our best 22 though.

I don't dispute Taylor was able to do a job from time to time. I don't think he's capable of kicking 50 goals a year as a key forward though.

And I do think we have replacements for Taylor who could fill in. Henderson is the obvious one. I'm not sure we have anyone who can cover for Hawkins.
Let's hope we don't need to find out. Nice to have such potent bookends, with the MF doing ok as well when all assembled.

Your first mistake is the word "next". I haven't made any predictions of any champs. I'll leave that to others. I absolutely thought Horlin-Smith showed promise and could become a good player. Just as I have with others. If you wanted to make it funnier - and more accurate - my two most spectacular failures were Tenace and Gardiner. I would imagine there may be more. Right now I'm thinking Kelly shows a fair bit of promise. Could be right, could be wrong.

As you brought up it, if I wanted a real laugh, I'd read your finals predictions from last year. How much were we going to beat Richmond by again? That level of insight leaves one in awe.

Blah blah blah. Wht a windbag you really are. Let me know if you want Brian cooks email address. I’m sure he’d love to connect with someone who knows more than a premiership winning senior coach. You make me laugh little man.

Brian Cook’s email might be useful to someone who has actually said they know more than Scott. Which I haven’t.

Anyway, a pleasure as always. I’m going to enjoy a nice glass of red. You can return to whatever sad and pathetic habits you have.

FB: Scarlett - Lonergan - Enright
HB: Wojo - Taylor - Mackie

C: Bartel - J.Selwood - Duncan

HF: P.Chapman - C.Mooney - T.Kelly
FF: S.Johnson - T.Hawkins - D.Menzel

R: B.Ottens - P.Dangerfiled - G.Ablett

I: C.Ling - J.Corey - M.Rooke - T.Harley

Danger
Ablett
Selwood
Duncan
Menzel
Taylor
Tuohy
Hawkins
Hendo
Guthrie
S.Selwood
Parfitt
McCarthy
Blicavs
Menegola
Stewart
Gregson
Smith
Bews
Cockatoo
Kolo
Z. Guthrie
Murdoch
Stanley
Parsons

That's probably the order I'd rate our regular players. Actually looks a good list. But all the players from Taylor downward can have bad games, Menegola and onwards are probably our bottom players.

B: Joel Selwood - Harry Taylor - Jed Bews
HB: Tom Stewart - Lachie Henderson - Zach Tuohy
C: Patrick Dangerfield - Nakia Cockatoo - Scott Selwood
HF: Stewart Crameri - Tim Kelly - Brandan Parfitt
F: Mark 'kick at the sticks' Blicavs - Tom Hawkins - Lincoln McCarthy
Foll: Zac Smith - Mitch Duncan - Gary Ablett
I/C: Wylie Buzza, Cam Guthrie, Jackson Thurlow, Jake Kolodjashnij
Em: Sam Menegola, Zach Guthrie, James Parsons, Daniel Menzel

Need to have the disposal liabilities as far apart as possible ;)

Updated...

B: Mark Blicavs - Harry Taylor - Jed Bews
HB: Tom Stewart - Lachie Henderson - Zach Tuohy
C: Patrick Dangerfield - Joel Selwood - Scott Selwood
HF: Tim Kelly - Tom Hawkins - Brandan Parfitt
F: Daniel Menzel - Esava Ratugolea - Nakia Cockatoo
Foll: Zac Smith - Mitch Duncan - Gary Ablett
I/C: Stewart Crameri, Zach Guthrie, Lachie Fogarty, Jake Kolodjashnij
Em: Cam Guthrie, James Parsons, Jackson Thurlow, Lincoln McCarthy, Sam Menegola

So we've got injury problems but is anybody else really excited about our possible best team this year? With Kelly and Parfitt being revelations, Ablett coming in and Ratugolea being a real competitor it feels like some of our weaknesses are turning around. For the last couple of years we've struggled for real quality outside our top 10 or so players but it looks to me like we could bat way deeper this year once we get players back. Our best team is likely to be something like:

Defence - Kolo, Henderson, Taylor, Bews, Guthrie, Stewart and Thuoy. That looks really solid to me and a good mix of defensive and rebounding capabilities.
Midfield - Ablett, J Selwood, Dangerfield, Kelly, Duncan, S Selwood, Blicavs, 1x ruck.
Mid-Forward - Menegola, Parfitt, Cockatoo.
Forward - Hawkins, Menzel.

That's 20 players right there and I think everybody on that lists would be comfortably best 22 in any team in the league apart from whichever ruck we pick (our only obvious weakness). It might be a strange thing to say when we're sitting at 2-2 but I reckon we have the potential to be significantly better than the last few years. Chris Scott has said something along the lines of "our best is very good" a lot in the last few years but there were always question marks about the players 10-20 or so on our list and whether they could produce a month of quality football during finals. This year through improvement in mid-tier players (Parfitt, Stewart, Menzel, Kolo, etc) and a couple of good inclusions (Ablett and Kelly) I'm actually confident that our best actually could be good enough. That makes the next month essential to just get wins however we can while hopefully our list returns to fitness. If we can be in striking distance of top 4 by round 12 or so with players coming back I'll be quietly confident in this squad to do something special.

So we've got injury problems but is anybody else really excited about our possible best team this year? With Kelly and Parfitt being revelations, Ablett coming in and Ratugolea being a real competitor it feels like some of our weaknesses are turning around. For the last couple of years we've struggled for real quality outside our top 10 or so players but it looks to me like we could bat way deeper this year once we get players back. Our best team is likely to be something like:

Defence - Kolo, Henderson, Taylor, Bews, Guthrie, Stewart and Thuoy. That looks really solid to me and a good mix of defensive and rebounding capabilities.
Midfield - Ablett, J Selwood, Dangerfield, Kelly, Duncan, S Selwood, Blicavs, 1x ruck.

That's 20 players right there and I think everybody on that lists would be comfortably best 22 in any team in the league apart from whichever ruck we pick (our only obvious weakness). It might be a strange thing to say when we're sitting at 2-2 but I reckon we have the potential to be significantly better than the last few years. Chris Scott has said something along the lines of "our best is very good" a lot in the last few years but there were always question marks about the players 10-20 or so on our list and whether they could produce a month of quality football during finals. This year through improvement in mid-tier players (Parfitt, Stewart, Menzel, Kolo, etc) and a couple of good inclusions (Ablett and Kelly) I'm actually confident that our best actually could be good enough. That makes the next month essential to just get wins however we can while hopefully our list returns to fitness. If we can be in striking distance of top 4 by round 12 or so with players coming back I'll be quietly confident in this squad to do something special.

Excellent post and analysis, a man with the 'footy smarts'.

Our best team is likely to be something like:

That's 20 players right there

I have the same 20 players in my best 22, as well as Crameri and McCarthy. The team looks like this:

B: Bews Taylor Kolo
HB: Tuohy Henderson Stewart
C: Duncan Ablett SSelwood
HF: Menegola Menzel Cockatoo
F: Crameri** Hawkins McCarthy
R: Sminley* Dangerfield JSelwood
I: Blicavs CGuthrie Kelly Parfitt

* Smith and Stanley have not shined this year. At the time of writing I'd probably say Stanley can be the ruck, but if he plays a string of bad games then Smith is the obvious option.

** If someone from outside the above 22 players puts together a string of solid performances (eg. Kelly, Parfitt), then they could replace Crameri in the 22. Menzel and Hawkins can be the two key forwards, so no real need for Crameri.

*** Due to the good form of Kelly and Parfitt, I haven't been able to find a spot for Horlin-Smith. Sorry George.

I have the same 20 players in my best 22, as well as Crameri and McCarthy. The team looks like this:

B: Bews Taylor Kolo
HB: Tuohy Henderson Stewart
C: Duncan Ablett SSelwood
HF: Menegola Menzel Cockatoo
F: Crameri** Hawkins McCarthy
R: Sminley* Dangerfield JSelwood
I: Blicavs CGuthrie Kelly Parfitt

* Smith and Stanley have not shined this year. At the time of writing I'd probably say Stanley can be the ruck, but if he plays a string of bad games then Smith is the obvious option.

** If someone from outside the above 22 players puts together a string of solid performances (eg. Kelly, Parfitt), then they could replace Crameri in the 22. Menzel and Hawkins can be the two key forwards, so no real need for Crameri.

*** Due to the good form of Kelly and Parfitt, I haven't been able to find a spot for Horlin-Smith. Sorry George.
Good post, as much as I like McCarthy, I reckon Fogarty is ahead now... Bigger, get's more of the pill, and has the Joel Selwood like attack on the pill. Hungry.